We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #21 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent one night at Hotel Loreto after arriving in Chile and had one day to spend exploring Santiago. This hotel provided a perfect base for wandering around the city. It's walking distance to the downtown shopping area, the Bellavista neighborhood and San Cristobal Hill, but was still very quiet. We weren't disturbed by any city noise. The staff was accommodating to an early arrival and everyone we spoke with was quite friendly.

The rooms were on the small side but perfectly comfortable for our short stay and each floor had a nice, spacious common seating area at the end of the hall. We booked the hotel through Expedia due to a cheaper price, but I did notice that most rooms had balconies (ours did not), so if a balcony is important to you, I'd recommend booking directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you book your room through Expedia (cheaper price) it may not include a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keely K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location here in Santiago. It is true that we have so many restaurants, shopping areas and tourist sites located in our popular neighbourhood, and that we are fortunate to be located on a quiet street surrounded by all.
Most of our Standard Rooms located on the first floor have access to a sheltered patio area, and our Superior, Triple Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor have their balcony access. We do recommend to request a balcony if it is preferred and we always do our best to provide this.
We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future at our Hotel.

Hotel Loreto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 852 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is mystifying how people seem to have such different experiences at this hotel. I can understand the complaint of not having an en suite bathroom and would hope that the hotel are addressing this. Unless the rooms are different sizes though, I really don't get the issues that some people seem to have had.
I stayed at the Hotel Loreto for 4 nights at the end of a six week tour through South America and found it to be one of the best of my travels. Some others that had purported to be three stars were little more than hostels by comparison.
Yes, the neighbourhood is a little rough but this edginess exists in lots of areas of the city and adds to the character of the place.
I found the decor to be simple and effective, the staff were excellent and whilst not the best, the breakfast was perfectly adequate.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone that knows what to expect from its star rating.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you for you words about Hotel Loreto, we are very glad you enjoyed your 4 nights here with us and found us well appointed to our rating. We do have a range of room sizes, from Standard to Junior Suite, and now all our rooms have their own private internal bathroom. Our location in Bellavista is well known for it's "edginess" as you say, for in which the neighbourhood has become a tourist site in itself and is filled with a variety of hidden gems in terms of restaurants, bars and it is easy to just pass day wandering and exploring the neighbourhood.
Again, thank you for your comments, which we appreciate and listen to, to help us continuely improve.

Regards,
Hotel Loreto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in hotel Loreto for 2 nights in November. The location was really central and the price was very reasonable. The stay also included breakfast, which was very nice.

I also want to say that I left my glasses at the hotel and the staff (I communicated with Helard) were so helpful and organised for my glasses to be sent back to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanya_withers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Tanya
It was a pleasure to help you to get your glasses back to you. Good to know they arrived safely! Helard sends his regards, he remembers you well.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the hotel to be well located in Santiago. We hope we can welcome you here again.
Regards
Hotel Loreto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is nestled into a neighborhood within a short walking distance of the main Bellavista restaurant and bar venues. It's just steps from a number of bars and restaurants that are less-known by the regular Bellavista-goer. It's location keeps it sheltered from the night club music boom and crowds in the party part of Bellavista. The charming and airy interior features the most beautiful locations of Chile pictured on the walls. The hotel staff is very helpful. The rooms are well-lit, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast has anything any traveler could want before a day of exploring Santiago or the surrounding areas!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAtraveler124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our location and made the most of your time seeking out the less common, but quality bars and restaurants nearby. It is a great bonus that we are so closely located to the night life district, but remain on a quiet street away from the noise.
We try to make the most of the building's original residencial design and features, while providing quailty and comfort to the modern traveller. We are very pleased to know you found us accommodating, and we hope we can welcome you at our Hotel again soon.

Hotel Loreto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel Loreto is a small hotel with around 20 rooms. We stayed there during the last week of 2013 for five nights (including the evening of New Years Eve). Overall we had a decent stay.

Location (mixed): The location of the hotel is very convenient (a few blocks from restaurant and bars around Pio Nono street, short walk from various subway stations/lines), though I should note the hotel is in a somewhat rundown area of Bellavista. The hotel is the only fresh/modern looking building on the block. While the busy bar area was just three or four blocks away, we were attacked (literally tackled to the ground) by some amateur muggers jumping out of a car while walking home late at night/early in the morning literally 20 metres from the hotel entrance. Thankfully the encounter was short and we did not lose anything but the experience was unnerving nonetheless.

Room (mixed): We were given a room on the second floor. I think the best part of this hotel is how bright and airy the rooms are, as it makes the stay feel comfortable. The furniture and the décor inside the room were pretty basic and dated. The room itself was fairly spacious but the bathroom was very small.

Staff and Services (very good): The front desk folks were very friendly and helpful, and they almost always have at least one staff member who speaks fluent English on duty. Wifi worked well and was consistent. The air-con however was not. During out stay they appears to have some electricity problems, as the breakers for air-con jumped a few times a day (it happened to other rooms as well), but it was always fixed very quickly when we called. Breakfast was good, fresh and decent variety, typical of South American hotels.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have courtyard access, but upper floor rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us and in Santiago. We are sorry for what happened to you so close to the hotel. This is a very tranquil part of the Bellavista neighbourhood, and it is rare that such things happen. Such occurances can happen in any other city, but of course, we do not like hearing such experiences occuring to our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, that you found our hotel comfortable and bright, and our staff helpful. We always try to have staff that can communcate with our guests in their native language, Spanish, English, Portuguese and French.
We hope that if you return to Santiago we can have the pleasure to welcome you here again and deliever an even better experiene.

Hotel Loreto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is in the Bellavista district, ideal for walking to the city centre. The rooms are small but comfortable, and ours opened on to a delightful courtyard. The hotel is a clever and elegant conversion of an old house, and the décor and amenities are first rate.
The best thing about this excellent hotel is the staff. they are all charming, speak excellent English, and will put themselves out to ensure your stay is the best it can be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmurdock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased that your enjoyed your time at our hotel and found our staff welcoming and helpful. It is always our objective to ensure our guests are comfortable and that their needs are met. Our patio and rooftop are excellent places to relax in comfort with a glass of wine after exploring Santiago city
We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again here in Santiago.

Regards,
Hotel Loreto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel got great ratings based on its 'charm' and character. I arrived off a long haul flight, was shown to my room, unpacked, looked around. No bathroom. Tried to call reception. Phone didn't work. Walked the three flights of stairs to reception to be told my room doesn't have a bathroom. Its 10ft down the hall. But it's private. No they don't offer robes so I dont have to parade in public in my underwear. For the price and the statement on their website that each room has a private bathroom, I am appalled.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom. Who knew?
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Gerente at Hotel Loreto, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada huésped, ante todo le agradecemos el tiempo dispensado para hacernos llegar sus comentarios acerca de su estadía en el Hotel. Le solicitamos disculpas por los inconvenientes suscitados con su habitación, la cual no tenía baño dentro de la misma. Apenas Ud. nos informó sobre su incomodidad procedimos a cambiarla a otra habitación de superior categoría, a fin de lograr que su estadía fuese muy confortable.
Asimismo deseamos compartir con Ud. que nos encontramos realizando algunas reformas en el hotel con el objeto de que todas nuestras habitaciones cuenten con baño privado, dichas modificaciones ya están en su etapa de finalización.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#13 of 204 in Santiago
373 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 204 in Santiago
369 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#58 of 204 in Santiago
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RQ Santiago
#51 of 204 in Santiago
565 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#20 of 204 in Santiago
1,745 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 204 in Santiago
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $99 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing