We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Bellavista”
Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #20 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem in Bellavista”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly oais, in Bellavista. Prime location to walk to many attractions of Santiago. I love the Bellavista neighborhood great restaurants and bars. Different cool places to hang out on all floors of hotel, especially roof top with views of Santiago. Great staff. Loved the Arabe restaurant a few doors down, am craving the Shawarmas from there. Would stay here in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Liked the Doble with balcony, ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and the Bellavista neighbourhood. We are definitely located in an excellent and unique area of Santiago and with so many options close by to explore.
We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again in Santiago, and will gladly pass you a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy on our rooftop.

regards,
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    281
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
189
332
53
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located - within walking distance of the museums in Bellas Artes, the nightlife in Bella Vista and a metro stop well connected to all the lines. But more than that, what earns them this rating is the extremely friendly and helpful staff.....from letting me check in well before the usual time to calling the airline to follow up on my lost luggage to making sure that the laundry delivered my clothes on the same day, they made my brief stay a very pleasant one. The rooms are small and rather sparsely furnished, but the common areas are very comfortable, with a cute and tasteful decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvenkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your short time with us despite the lost luggage. But thankfully we were able to assist with the luggage and your other requests. Our staff are here to help and it always pleases us to see our guests happy and relaxed. We understand that travelling can be tiring, and try to have our rooms ready as quick as possible to make your more comfortable. We are happy that in your case we were able to provide the room much earlier than our usual check-in of 15:00, and we hope that we can welcome you here again in the future.

Regards
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The most beautiful hotel and the nicest staff I have ever met. They went out of their way to help you every day of our 6 day trip even the day we left and had a broken suitcase helping us to repair it and they stored it until our late departure flight. They spoke great English.We had a late arrival flight and the girl ordered pizza and drinks for us! The location was excellent close to downtown very safe neighborhood close to fantastic place to eat even a corner restaurant was affordable and great. Our breakfast was HUGE and great and enough to last us through the day but make sure you take lots of water as we were not prepared for how hot and dry it was. Of course throughout the day you have to stop at a café for a drink and just to take in the city. We walked everywhere took a tour suggested by staff to Aconcagua with Andes Wind Tours. This was a highlight of our trip and was unforgettable. We did a 1 hour hike up a path for a breathtaking view and after were rewarded with the best "box lunch" we have ever had, tasted more like gourmet! This trip was from 7am-8pm and with only 5 people in a tour, the best so worth the price! Can't say enough good things about our guide!
We also did the Free tour which left from Plaza de Armas and the free tour in Valpariso and recommend both of them with tips of course but well worth all the info We took a local bus to Valpariso and it was very easy as we left from the main bus station.. The metro is a great way to get around just watch your wallet. We went to the Los Dominicus Village which is located on the last Metro stop on the red line and well worth it It is good to know your prices ahead of times as some of the local markets in Santiago are cheaper. The markets around the Santiago area are another good place to find authentic souvenirs and the people are really friendly and are open every day and later in the evening.. I took Canada pins with me and gave them out to people I met and they were so happy to get them and I enjoyed trying to talk to the people. We saw San Cristobal Hill and Santa Lucia our own walking tour up and the views were well worth it.
Our Hotel arranged airport transfers for us of 18,000 pesos about $36 and our driver was on time and more than helpful as we had a late arrival flight from Easter island.
Again the Loreto Hotel is the perfect location for a trip to Santiago!

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the third floor over the patio, it was great. We even hung a small rope for a cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHarryGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Chris
We love hearing such positive comments of Santiago and of course of our Hotel and staff. It is great that you enjoyed our recommendations for activities in and around Santiago. All our tour recommendations have been tried and tested, however we are always very attentive to our guest's experiences to ensure our recommendations continue to met our expectations for you, our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed the tranquil neighbourhood of Bellavista and trying many of our nearby restaurants, including late night pizza delievery. We are fortunate to have many good and affordable places to eat nearby, as well as the Patio Bellavista just 4 blocks away.
Again, thank you for such a positive review, it all helps us to continue striving to improve.

Regards
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel a few days apart and our experience was quite different. The first time we arrived late and we got rooms on the ground floor: small, noisy (from the corridor), with problems with the electricity. We receive no information about the hotel.

The second time, we stayed on the 2nd floor (rooms with 300), and the rooms are much bigger with a small balcony. We had a very different experience.

The wifi works well and the location is great. I found it a bit expensive compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on 1st and 2nd floor, they have balcony and are bigget
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastilla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate hearing about people's experience with us and are always learning new ways to improve ourselves.
We do have 4 rooms types at our hotel, from the Standard Rooms on the ground floor with open access to the patio, our larger Superior and Triple rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors with balconies and air conditioning, and finally our Junior Suite with a spa bath ensuite. We believe this range of options allows our guests to chose the best option for their own stay depending on their own hotel preferences.
We apologise for any electricity problems that you had during your first stay. We hope that you advised reception as soon as possible so we could fix the issues that you had. However, we are glad that you returned and had a better and more enjoyable experience, and if you return to Santiago, we wish that you choose to stay with us again so we can continue to improve your experience with us.
Regards
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is a few blocks from the best area of the city and easily walkable to most places you want to go. Rooms are a little snug as is typically found in Santiago but very clean and well appointed. I stayed in several hotels at a similar price point throughout Argentina and this hotel had by far the best breakfast of all. Delicious baked goods, tons of fresh fruit and even some American favorites like scrambled eggs which are a rare treat on a long trip through the region. Plan to return to the hotel next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NA740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Santiago. Always we appreciate to hear comments of our guest's experience and their opinions of our breakfast, rooms and staff. Our fresh fruit and fruit juice selection is always very popular at breakfast, and we continue to strive to deliever a quality breakfast for guests.
Please do not forget to contact us for your next stay in Santiago and we will pass to you a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy during your stay.
Regards
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel in the quirky Barrio Bella Vista and is within walking distance of some of the major museums/galleries as well as restaurants. The rooms were very clean and compact but are perhaps not great for business travellers as there is very little room to work. The rooftop terrace was lovely, as was the building itself. Options for breakfast were somewhat limited but perfectly satisfactory. The only gripe would be the somewhat idiosyncratic approach of the shower to providing hot water, which was a little frustrating. The bathroom was very tiny with no storage but for a couple of nights this wasn't a big difficulty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Katie
Thank you for your comments about your time here with us, all comments are appreciated and help us improve. We are glad you found our location to your liking for your time in Santiago and to enjoy the Bellavista neighbourhood. We hope that any problems you did have with the water during your stay, that you contacted our reception and we were able to send someone to resolve the problem for you. Since your stay our breakfast selection has grown to include a wide selection of buffet options. If you do return to Santiago and stay with us again, we would like to hear your comments on the improvements.
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, austria
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Loreto for three nights in November based on previous positive Tripadvisor comments and a comparatively attractive rate. It proved to be a very nice stay. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable, although rather compact in size. Our room (as most others) also had a balcony to a small interior courtyard.

Some of the best features of the hotel are a really nice rooftop terrace and its location in Bellavista (just a couple of blocks from an area with lots of nightlife, restaurants, pubs, etc.) and within easy walking distance to the city center and most sights. There is a lot of wood used in the interior of the hotel which makes for an attractive design.

Breakfast buffet consisted of the typical Chilean choices with some extras. It was good and of better quality than we experienced in some other hotels with a higher official rating. Coffee was quite good and selection of fresh juices was available.

Staff at the Loreto was extremely friendly and eager to help with tips for the city and English was well spoken. Thanks for a really nice stay. Should we return to Chile, we will happily choose the Loreto again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés O, Director de Recepción at Hotel Loreto, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Roland
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to your liking. Our balconies, patio and terrace are definitely great options for a glass of wine at the end of a day sightseeing.
We are glad you enjoyed our location in Bellavista with the museums, parks and many restaurants nearby. Hopefully you made the most of our staff recommendations for the area, our staff are always here to help you make the most of your time in Santiago.
Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you come to Santiago, and we will welcome you here with a complimentary bottle of wine.
Hotel Loreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#14 of 196 in Santiago
323 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 196 in Santiago
463 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#56 of 196 in Santiago
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 196 in Santiago
282 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 196 in Santiago
670 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#44 of 196 in Santiago
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Property: Hotel Loreto
Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing