We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great staff, nice design,”
Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #21 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

First of all the location is perfect with lots of good places to go for food and drinks, the breakfast is awesome (no plastic packed food as in the US), friendly and helpful staff, good sleep quality, good mattress, nice roof top to chill. However, the room I booked was the standard room on the ground floor, which was all clean and nice, but just a bit too small if you try to work in there.

Room Tip: upper levels with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_011270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 842 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed there yesterday for one night. Our flight arrived at 6.30am and they wouldn't check us in even though I offerred to pay for an extra night as we were exhausted. Apparently they were full. However there were lots of nice loungey areas for us to mill away a couple of hours before the shops opened.
When we came back in the afternoon to check in, I nearly died when they showed us to a room that did not have an ensuite!!! The "ensuite" was down a corridor about 5-6 steps away. it was private (as in just for our room) but I definitely did not like the idea of walking down a common corridor in my towel everytime I needed a shower and having to use 2 keys if I needed to use the toilet in the middle of the night.
I requested they put us in a room with an ensuite which they had (I'm still not sure why they didn't give this to us as the first option!!!).
The good news:
The room and hotel itself is really clean and quite comfortable all in all. The bed was HUGE!!! The day-shift receptionist was really lovely and helpful (the night shift one was quite crabby). The wifi worked really well. Airconditioning was great too.They had nice loungey areas around but as one of the other reviewers said, it's not really utilised space. they should have sacrificed it for larger rooms. The location was fine. Close to the subway and the main sights.
The bad news:
No stairs, so beware of heavy luggage. The room is quite small but nothing compared to the tiny tiny bathroom. I had to leave my make-up and toiletry bags on the bed coz there was no where for them in the bathroom and we could not dry 2 towels at once! Also the pillow was very high and hard.
Overall:
Its like this place started out as a hostel and then decided to be a hotel? A really nice hostel maybe but an average hotel. Maybe see what else you can get for your price range.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with an ensuite!!! not a separate private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaxiCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This small hotel had the perfect location. After wandering around Santiago, there's no neighborhood we would have preferred to stay in. The staff were also extremely helpful and tried really hard to track down advice for anything you asked about. The breakfast was quite generous and yummy.

The rooms were tiny, which wouldn't normally bother me at all, except after travelling for 2 weeks we did have a few bags, and there was literally nowhere to put them. There are several really nicely done common areas in the hotel, but I wondered why they made the choice to have so much common area at the expense of room space. Sound also carries really well through the corridors of the hotel, so it's a bit noisy.

But we really liked the warm and helpful staff, the yummy breakfast, the awesome location, and the great spaces to hang out...so we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoCardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in Santiago for a few days before going on a crouse the Loreto was a very clean and comfey hotel the staff were very helpfull and spoke good English its in a poor but safe area but close eniogth to walk down town and to the zoo area where there's good resturant's,
has a nice roof top terrace and small but modern bar and reaturant. This hotel is well worth the money if you dont mind a poor area setting

Room Tip: our room small but adequate balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skootboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived in Satiago on the last leg of a fabulous holiday touring Chile. We were not disappointed by our 2 day HL stay. The hotel has a minimalist swank vibe with great stylish decor and Chilean artwork and antiques. Its location in the bohemian Barrio Bella Vista was great for us as we could amble to some of the best restaurants and party areas in Santiago while the hotel was private, secure and noise free. Our spacious rooms were on the 1st floor and there is no lift but the great female bell hops are very helpful. We did get a shock at first when we realised there were no bathrooms in our rooms but we sooon found them across the hall - very clean and spacious - not too big a deal. Our rooms opened up through distressed wooden French doors onto a lovely big balcony wih a view out over the black and white checked courtyard.The staff are all very friendly and helpful with good English. Well done Loretto we will recomend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: If you need more space then book the triple room/s however the only minimal downside is the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The clean modern yet warm decor added to the sense of calm and relaxation. Great location with the added bonus of a mountain and territorial view. Our room had a wonderful deck and large windows that reminded me of Paris. While the room was not large, it covered all the bases. Great to have air in the hot Santiago summer, and the huge King-size bed was a treat to sprawl on. The front desk was great and everyone spoke English. They were kind enough to store our bags so we could wander before our late flight. Great way to finish our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard on highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Apart from our first inquiry... is there a lift? this Hotel met & exceeded every expectation. We travelled with another couple & stayed in rooms 208 & 209,very spacious & spotlessly clean. Great balcony for savouring one (or two) bottles of Chilean vino... Yum!! Individual bathrooms across the hall for each of these rooms works well, also spotlessly clean. The whole Hotel is funky & vibey just like Bellavista where it is so conveniently located. We did the two hour Hop on Hop off bus tour & all came to a resounding conclusion that we were not only in the best Barrio in Santiago but staying in the best accommodation. (Thanks to fellow Trip Advisors' info). The staff at this Hotel are friendly & very capable & made us feel very welcome. Always greeted with a smile & inquiries met with immediate responses. Congratulations Hotel Loreto. Definitely recommend this Hotel. Five out of five on every score!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandrnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#11 of 202 in Santiago
361 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 202 in Santiago
353 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 202 in Santiago
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
426 reviews
Hotel Orly
#25 of 202 in Santiago
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $98 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing