We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the Facilities”
Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #22 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions in January 2013. The first stay was for 2 nights in early January and although the hotel was nice enough, the rooms and the bathrooms were quite small. We knew from previous reviews that there was no air-conditioning but were surprised that the hotel did not / could not provide any fans - it was very hot in Santiago and the rooms were therefore quite uncomfortable during the night.

After travelling through Peru and Ecuador we returned (with another couple) to the Hotel Loreto - the experience was not a very pleasant one. We arrived early on 26th January (at about 9.30am) and asked if we could have an early check in - we were advised that we could only check in at 3pm or alternatively pay 50% of the hotel's daily rate - even though reception stated that the hotel was not full. After some discussion with reception staff we conceded that we would pay the 50% but that it should be 50% of the rate we got through the booking agency and not the rate the hotel was quoting (there was a significant difference). The manager was called in and after some further discussion he agreed that we could check in (it was well after 10am by this time) for NO additional cost - or so we thought. We were given 2 rooms on the top floor with no hanging space and no internal bathroom - the facilities were across the hallway and had separate key access. We were not happy with this arrangement but were very tired from an overnight flight and assumed that these inadequate rooms were the "price" we paid for an early check in. However this was not the case - when we checked out early next morning the reception had our accounts prepared with the 50% charge for early check in included - this was contrary to our (4 people) understanding of what the manager had agreed to the previous day and had we known we would not have accepted the inferior room arrangements. It was not the fault of reception and we did not argue further as the manager was nowhere in sight. We have stayed at many hotels that will allow free early check in when rooms are available but acknowledge that some hotels don't share this policy. The issue with this hotel is not that they have an early check in charging policy but in this instance, after agreeing to an early check in at no cost, the manager did not stick to the agreement with us - even worse he left it to the reception staff to give us the inflated bill. The hotel management service (not the reception staff who were all friendly) left a lot to be desired and moreover the advice they provided was misleading at best.

Room Tip: insist on a fan for stays during summer and don't accept the rooms at the back top floor (no int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 838 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights. Clean, tho small rooms. Great location - metro is 5 blocks away, good food within walking distance and Bellavista charm close by. Staff very friendly. Had 11 pm flight and let us check out, store the luggage in locked closet, then return in the late afternoon, shower and leave for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Loreto on a whim, not knowing much during our planning about Santiago's layout but just wanting one night at a less expensive hotel before splurging for a couple of nights. We were pleasantly surprised by much of our experience here. The hotel is located in a great part of Barrio Bellavista, walking distance from tourist sites, night life, and some good restaurants. At the same time, it is not as touristy as spots closer to Patio Bellavista. The staff greeted us with a warm "chicos" upon our arrival and were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We were pleased about the large king sized bed and the free wireless, and the common area decor was low-key but adorable. Our room had a beautiful walk-out balcony. Our only quibble with the room was the tiny bathroom, but it served its purpose.

The highlight was a complimentary wine-tasting they offered guests on their beauitful rooftop to celebrate their Trip Advisor award. We had a chance to meet a few other guests, some of whom were fun and friendly locals celebrating Valentine's day. It seems the hotel has good buzz in the city. The one major complaint that holds me back from giving an "excellent" rating is the fact that our air conditioning was broken. We complained and asked that it be fixed; while we were sympathetically told that the manager would look into it, nothing was done before we left This wasn't overly disappointing, as the night ended up being relatively cool, and the hotel didn't have much notice to do anything about it. Overall, though, this hotel's a great value, and the staff seem to care a lot about running a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davesee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loreto is a small boutique Hotel in an excellent location for looking around Santiago. Restaurants, art galleries, clubs, tourist sights at your door step or short working distance.
Carlos and his staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very small. The courtyard has a refreshing breeze and relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was adequate, the scrambled eggs were particularly good, not overcooked. It has clean contemporary design. The down side is that there is no air-conditioning, shelving and the bathroom and one of the rooms we staid had not hanging space.

Room Tip: On our first stay we had a room with French door that opened onto the court yard which I preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denari-1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel. We wanted to stay for 2 nights during the week. The hotel is very clean and designed, with interior places for gathering. Rooms are ok, bathroom a bit small but ok. Breakfast sufficient. Located near patio bellavista (some walking) and to bellas artes. The service was polite. Not many guests during our time there. Fruit vender at the corner was nice to have some fruit in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarquezTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a cruise, based on reviews on this site. The room, on the ground floor, was small but adequate. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and the bed was comfortable. The room opened onto a shared enclosed patio at the back, which had comfortable chairs, so we didn't explore the rooftop area. The only downside of this was that we didn't like leaving the door open at night, but by opening the bathroom window and using the large fan (provided) we could achieve a comfortable temperature in the room. We were not troubled by noise, as others have reported, maybe we were lucky. The WiFi worked well and the included breakfast was plentiful and had a variety of fruit, pastries and cold meats.

The location was fine for exploring the city on foot, and we found good eating places within easy walking distance.

The staff, particularly Carlos and Julio, were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. We didn't have an adaptor for the power plugs, and they lent us one, and also provided us with an iPad plug. Our luggage was stored until our late night flight, and they arranged a taxi to the airport for us.

We would recommend Hotel Loreto to friends and will stay there again when we return to Santiago, as we hope to before long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smtcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The two couples in our party stayed for one night in this great hotel. We found the regular rooms (204 and 205) to be of ample size even though we had two large and four small bags in each room. We found the rooms to be clean, well supplied, and quiet (after the street music ceased at 10:00 P.M.) but without air conditioning (not a large issue as the night air is cool). The beds were comfortable. Only a shower was available and it worked well. The small veranda and French doors were a bonus. There are a few minor scrapes on the walls and the hallway needs more lighting. This facility is a totally renovated old home. There is no elevator.

Our flight was in the evening and the hotel stored our luggage and granted us use of the courtyard for the afternoon without a fee. The courtyard is a pleasant place to spend time. Sun or shade as one desires. Need more sun – try the roof lounge.

The staff (Carlos and a several other males) was very anxious to accommodate one’s needs. They carried our luggage, suggested city tours both walking and riding as well as public transportation for site seeing. They suggested shopping areas and provided direction with a map. They arranged taxis to the airport at a fee less than we were able to acquire ourselves.

The breakfast had an ample selection of fruit, juices, coffees, cereals, breads, sliced meats, eggs and preserves. The staff kept the area tidy and well stocked.

We found the barred business entrances and graffiti of this area disconcerting. However, we experienced no difficulty in walking around this area during the day or evening. There is a market, various retail shops, numerous restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard have a wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeLDee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
351 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#19 of 202 in Santiago
351 reviews
RQ Santiago
#42 of 202 in Santiago
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 202 in Santiago
310 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
1,015 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#56 of 202 in Santiago
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing