We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The area is deceptive on arrival but not the Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Loreto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Loreto
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The area is deceptive on arrival but not the Hotel!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

As we approached the Hotel. the graffiti and fairly ordinary appearance of the area made us nervous as to our choice but we had no cause for alarm. The hotel was attractive and well maintained externally. Inside was an efficient reception and comfortable lobby area. The rooms are accessed by wide wooden stairs to the floors above both front and back. Long, light corridors lead to small though comfortable rooms in assorted configurations, (single, twin, double, king). The pillows were a little large and hard for me but my husband loved them and he said it was the best sleep in tree weeks trip! The 1st floor rooms have large opening doors to the internal and very attractive courtyard, 2nd floor have balconies. Each floor also has a large lounge area. A computer area, bar, gym and breakfast room. We loved sitting out in the courtyard in the evening, noise was not an issue and we were early to bed. The roof has a lovely patio with lounges and a parrilla grill, solar panels and a 360 degree rooftops view. Bathrooms are small but efficient with shampoo and liquid soap. The university is close by and there are many restaurants and bars with walking distance. Also city sights are a short walk across the bridge. We found the Management extremely helpful when we decided to take two rooms instead of one triple. The breakfast was served in a room which opens onto the courtyard, juices, breads, ham, cheese, yoghurt, Banana cake(yum), scrambled and boiled eggs. Spreads, coffee and tea. Very nice. This was a great find, just a shame we only had one night.

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of other guests walking past your room take one on the upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    274
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
181
323
53
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived quite late into Santiago so unfortunately did not get to enjoy the hotel very much, but it was in a great location and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast had a decent selection as well. The staff was really helpful in guiding us to park our car and in getting to Valparaiso.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kameko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here 1 night. It was comfortable and clean, the room we stayed in was well lit and modern. Good buffet breakfast selection. The area is great for restaurants and bars in the evening, though fairly dead during the day. City center is not too far, 20 minute walk maybe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Loreto for 7 nights in all, leaving to visit Patagonia, returning to Santiago and then leaving again to visit Valparaiso. On both occasions we were able to leave some of our luggage at the hotel, free of charge, and it was stored safely and securely.

We found the reception staff to be extremely helpful throughout our stay and we met many different members of staff.

The location of the Hotel is ideal and very close to the centre of Santiago but with nice restaurants and bars within walking distance of the Hotel.

A good breafast was provided with plenty of fresh fruit. The bathrooms are on the small size but we had three different rooms during our stay and all were of a good size with wonderful beds and crisp, clean bedlinen.

We discovered, like many others, that not all taxi drivers are honest, even the ones called by the Hotel. Agree a price before the trip or ask the driver to use the meter.

Room Tip: Third floor is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel because it showed as number #6 on Trip Advisor! Well ... what a mistake it was! I was given a room on the first floor. The room was so tight that I couldn't even have my suitcase open on the floor. Absolutely no noise insulation as I could hear every thing from the reception area to the kitchen. Guests were sitting in the courtyard just a meter from my window. No A/C. Only 1 English Channel. The front desk staff not the friendliest. They answer your question but were not happy to talk.
Neighbourhood is old and didn't really feel safe to walk solo at night.

All factors considered, I highly regretted my stay at this hotel considering the price. There are so many better options to stay at this rate in Santiago. This place is really a hostel and not a hotel .

And don't be fooled by the photos. In the 2 nights I was there, there was no one on the roof top patio.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikcheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
483 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I really would have liked to have given this Hotel an Excellent rating in line with many other reviewers, but I have to compare it with the many other hotels I have rated, and for me there were a few too many buts. So, starting with the negatives, the rooms are quite small, with a shower/toilet combination being not much greater than a wardrobe. For a tall person like myself, real issues developed between myself and the shower, resulting on one occasion, a flooding of the floor. Neither was water pressure or temperature consistent. Doors and windows were in a sad state of disrepair, and the food served in their restaurant of poor quality and expensive.
On the mediocre side was the receptionist, who appeared to be only as willing to provide information, as he was prompted by one asking the questions. One also had the distinct impression, that he had collusion with another company who suddenly became taxi drivers with wildly different rates to the same location.
All this aside, there were many positives. The hotel is very secure, and well located. Most sights of interest being no more than twenty minutes’ walk (even if the receptionist had said I should take a taxi everywhere). Most rooms have small balconies, which are most welcome on the hot balmy evenings, should you not wish to avail yourself of the inner courtyard at ground level or rooftop court.
They also provide a great free internet service, either from the privacy of your own room, or from a number of computer stations set up for guests. Has an amazingly comfortable bed (in my room anyway), and inadvertently discovered that the cleaning staff are obviously honest. I had evidently dropped some money on the floor without realizing it, and discovered it placed next to the safe upon my return. Perhaps they may have been suggesting something.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel Loreto one night on our way back from trekking in Patagonia. The hotel lobby is really nice, they have a pleasant courtyard and rooftop patio. The breakfast room is also decent, very spacious with a fairly nice breakfast compared to other places we stayed in Chile. The room was very small, though the amenities were there (hair drier, safe, etc.). The main problem we had was the front desk service. None of their help was actually very helpful. They gave us a coupon for free drinks at a nearby restaurant, but when we got there it was kind of strange - totally empty and the server just danced at us (not kidding). When we asked where we could buy local crafts, they directed us to a few places in the neighborhood, but neglected to mention that everything would be closed because it was Sunday. None of that really mattered, but we had asked them to call us a taxi to take us to the airport. When we arrived back at the hotel to take our taxi, they told us that they had made a mistake and that the taxi would be 30 min late. We said that was alright, and we waited... and waited... 45 min later still no taxi, and they didn't apologize or try to fix it. We had to ask them to call the taxi company back to find out what was going on. They were just kind of ignoring us and I went outside to try to hail a cab (no luck), because I didn't trust that they had actually arranged for a taxi at all - they just really didn't seem to care that we were getting close to missing our flight. Finally 1 hour later the taxi came and we barely made it to the airport on time. It's too bad the service was like that, because otherwise the hotel is quite nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - they will be brighter and the view will be better. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#15 of 198 in Santiago
306 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 198 in Santiago
267 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#13 of 198 in Santiago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#44 of 198 in Santiago
1,126 reviews
Hotel Orly
#24 of 198 in Santiago
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loreto

Property: Hotel Loreto
Address: Loreto 170 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Loreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Loreto aims to be warm and welcoming, a place that is shared and accessible to all, yet intimate. Like a big family house, Loreto offers a living room, a dining room, terraces, a reading area and a garden where each guest will find a place to relax in a warm and homey atmosphere.The terraces are one of the main features of the Hotel. They integrate the outside with the inside and are like footbridges. There are balconies on each floor, and the roof has a large terrace overlooking the Cerro San Cristóbal and the center of Santiago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing