We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not open in winter months”
Review of The Dining Room - CLOSED

The Dining Room
Cuisines: Chilean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The dining room is closed during low season, however, our piano lounge ¨The Aubrey Piano Lounge¨ serving tapas, cocktails, wines with live pianist every thursdays and friday evenings is open Monday through Saturday, 6.30pm to 11.30pm
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After making reservation for dinner at (what we thought was) the dining room, my husband and i were surprised to find that the restaurant is not open in the winter. I suppose when we called, they assumed we were making a reservation at their piano lounge, although I believe they answered the phone with "the dining room". We were quite disappointed as it was our anniversary and we had to wait for a table elsewhere without reservations. As it isn't clear from what I saw on their website, I thought I would let others know.

1  Thank laltin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markcigana2, Owner at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Sorry that you were not informed our restaurant is closed during low season ,I apologise for that however, we do open all year round our piano lounge serving tapas, cocktails and wines with live pianist every Thursday and Fridays is open Monday to Saturday 6.30pm to 11.30pm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked dinner for Saturday night with 5 of our friends to celebrate my husband´s birthday and for our group of friends to reunite after our summer holidays. One of the group had recently stayed there and mentioned that they really don´t recommend the place, based on their terrible breakfast experience.

I decided to go ahead with the booking despite this warning, as the reviews here on Tripadvisor are so good and it seemed that they might have just had bad luck that time.

I really regret that now.

On arrival, the waitress was indifferent and quite rude and the drinks took close to 40 minutes to arrive.

The waitress continued to be short with us all night, hardly speaking to us, just arriving looking at us with an arched eyebrow and if we didn´t order something quick enough, she would just walk away without a word and come back later.

Once seated, we ordered a selection of entrees to share, then for mains, 3 of the Patagonian lamb chops, 1 rainbow trout, 1 grouper, 1 sirloin and 1 wildboar stew. The entrees and the lamb chops were quite good.

The sirloin (ordered medium rare) at first did not turn up. When it did turn up, it was blue and obviously only sealed very quickly in order to get it out, so we assume it was forgotten.

The wild board stew had a very strong burnt smell, it was sent back and replaced with the Wagyu stew, which also arrived smelling burnt. Turns out they used the same burnt sauce on both dishes. It smelt awful, so our friend ordered the grouper, which was good.

The rainbow trout was dry as a bone and tasteless.

We ordered a bottle of red wine at some point (after having a bottle of French Champagne to celebrate a birthday and two bottles of Sauv Blanc to go with the entrees and fish dish) and the bottle was placed on the table along with the glasses, but left unopened. We had to go and find the waitress to come and open the bottle for us.

There were issues with the bill and we were charged more expensive wine than what we ordered.

We were very disappointed in this experience. There didn´t seem to be a manager or owner around. One would assume with so much food being sent back, someone in a senior position would want to find out a bit more, but we were never approached by anyone other than our waitress.

We received no apology and it just seemed as if nobody cared that 7 people left unhappy on Saturday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Tombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAubreySantiago, Owner at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer
I am sorry and surprised to hear about your mixed bag review and deeply apologise for what seems a very unusual experience, we have taken remedial steps putting in place a new manager of gazons and reviewing the training

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel-restaurant located between Cerro San Cristobal and La Chascona (Pablo Neruda's house). We just happened by it by accident. We heard about it on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a go. The place is beautiful with fountains, patio, spa music, flower, etc... White linen tablecloths and napkins, etc....
We ordered the pulpo, tapenade, salmon tartar starter and the deep fried congrio, shrimp, mashed peas & mushrooms meal. Everything was delicious except the mashed peas. There was a lot of them and they kind of took over the plate. The price was reasonable. The service perfect. I recommend this place even just to sit there, listen to the music and take in the scenic view.

1  Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAubreySantiago, Owner at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that by accident you found us, and that you enjoyed your experience with us, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After being in Santiago for a couple of days we’ve had enough of completos, empanadas and shellfish at the Central Market to last us for the whole year. So we decided to change things up and go to the Dining Room.
We sat outside, very refreshing. (and romantic) As the sun started to set the waiters came out with candle and the setting got even more romantic.
Our waiter was very kind (spoke both Spanish and English) and had some good advice regarding wine. We enjoyed our three course meal. The meat was cooked perfectly. The deserts were the best! Do not miss the cola de mono icecream!
All in all we are very satisfied with our visit. Nice environment, friendly staff, good food, delicious desert - at a very good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lax1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAubreySantiago, Owner at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and it made a nice change for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

In the hart of Bellavista, a traditional neighborhood in Santiago, just beside the San Cristobal hill, this restaurant offers a great atmosphere and an excellent food. Decoration is adequate, music in a good volume for a romantic dinner or a conversation. The menu is creative, the presentation of meals is great, and of course the most important, it taste excellent. Complete wine menu, with the best of Chile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Felipe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAubreySantiago, Owner at The Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, We are glad that you found the food creative and liked the presentation and as you say most importantly, your meal for you, tasted good. Our Chef is from Patagonia and I shall pass on your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing