We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Surfista Hostel
Ranked #20 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Castillo Surfista has to be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. It really feels like home from home and Jonathan & Valentina are great hosts.

We did a 2 week Spanish course and were at the hostel for about 17 days. It is the perfect place to chill out, it's in a great location, close to shops, BBQ outside, heaps of movies to watch & feather duvets!

If you're thinking of staying for a couple of weeks, they do weekly rates too. We had a twin room for CLP 120,000 a week which is loads cheaper than most of the other hostels.

Can't recommend the place more!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan J, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thanks guys! You were great guests. I totally forgot you were leaving so early and wish I could have given a proper goodbye. Safe travels! -Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was genuinely one of the best hostels I've stayed in, on a 10 month RTW trip. The house is spotless, in a safe quiet neighbourhood, but only 10 mins walk to Bellavista. Great homely feel, John & Valentina are brilliant; really helpful. Duke the skateboarding dog very friendly also! Great film collection. Rooms spacious. Great supermarket & grocers nearby. Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay there thanks to Jonathan and the other guests. It is a big house that you instantly feel at home in. Jonathan and Valentina were very helpful and friendly and Jonathan gave us great tips and recommendations for where we should go next in Chile. We had a double room which was huge and the bed was comfortable, and not just two singles pushed together. The breakfast was basic but sufficient, the pancakes on Sunday morning wee great! The Friday night BBQ was great to get to know the other guests. The wifi was fast and occasionally reached our room but it was fine to just use it downstairs. The location was great, a quiet area within walking distance to the main tourist attractions as well as the metro and a supermarket. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean. The only negatives were waiting having to wait a while for the bathrooms to be available and the floors were very creaky but these are minor and I would definitely recommend this small and friendly hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at the Castillo Surfista Hostel in Santiago, Chile for 4days/3nights. It was a great experience. Beautiful huge house in a great location. Minutes from a park, and 5 minute walking distance from the metro train. Had access to the kitchen, and computer. Johnathan, the owner, was very helpful with directions and advice on places to go and see. Had a BBQ friday night for the whole house. Great Times! cant wait to go back!! Dont forget to play with Duke, the skateboarding dog!!

Room Tip: the 3 Bed room has a nice balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasheedmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at Castillo Surfista two times during my trip in Chile. There was always a fun mix of travellers staying there, often in the middle of epic world tours, with great stories to tell. They were all friendly and outgoing; most (but not all) from English speaking countries; a pretty even mix of males and females, and ages spanning 20s to 50s. The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable; the rooms are spacious enough to set your bags out and still move around. The hostel is in a safe residential neighborhood only a few blocks from a metro station and within walking distance of Bella Vista / Cerro San Cristobal. The friday barbecue was a lot of fun--there's a supermarket only a couple of blocks away where you can get everything you need, including of course excellent Chilean wine. Like another reviewer said, not a party place but there's a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a really really lovey place, in a good location for the key sights and bars in Santiago. It's not a party place but there's a lovely atmosphere and the owners even invited us to bring our own food and join their Friday night barbecue.

It is just a lovely big house with tons of space and it's nice and clean. There's a lounge, dining room, breakfast area and back yard which can all be used, as well as a great kitchen so you can cook your own meals. There's wifi downstairs and a computer to use.

I loved staying here, a true home from home, and none of us there would have left when we did if the owners hadn't been heading off on a trip.

So why a four rating not five - I'd booked a return reservation for the end of my time in Chile which they unfortunately couldn't honour as expected. They were great on emails explaining it, and an offer to return my deposit (I've asked it to go in a charity collection pot - I hope it does!) but in my book, this is slightly unprofessional unfortunately.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan J, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thanks for the review Helen. I would have loved to keep the hostel open for the several days I was away for the planned marketing trip, but I unfortunately could not find suitable staff in time. Your reservation was the first we ever had to cancel. The dog (Duke) fell out of the truck, injured his head and became little carsick while we were on the coast and we decided to give him a little time to recover before coming straight back to Santiago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was hands down one of the best places I've stayed in. Jonathan and Valentina were so lovely and helpful, and definitely made us feel at home. It was in a nice area that was quiet and easy to get to, with lots of places to go just a short walk away. The rooms were nice, the place was clean, and they have a puppy named Duke that can ride a skateboard! What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Carmenere Eco Hotel
Carmenere Eco Hotel
#2 of 202 in Santiago
277 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#55 of 202 in Santiago
1,479 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 498 in Santiago
1,030 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 498 in Santiago
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Surfista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Surfista Hostel

Address: Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago 011291, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 498 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $15 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER OF THE HOSTELBOOKERS 2013 EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR CLEANEST HOSTEL IN SOUTH AMERICA. Come experience a boutique-style fusion of CALIFORNIA SURFER and KNIGHTS OF THE ROUND TABLE, nestled within a large 100 year old house in one of Santiago's most unique and safest neighborhoods. My name is Jonathan, a lifelong traveler and California surfer. This hostel is new, a place I created for backpackers, students, ocean lovers, and gonzo spirit soul surfers. I decided not to cram the rooms with beds so you and intimate groups of new friends can stretch out and have the entire house to yourselves, complete with a large kitchen, patio with BBQ, garden, LED TV room, dining room and computer room. Party all night long or take a moment to relax alone. It's all possible here. We are strategically located in the heart of Santiago, in an area of great historical, cultural and natural value. This exclusive area is very close to the typical places of the city: Parque Bustamante, Plaza Italia, San Cristóbal Hill, Barrio Bellavista, Rio Mapocho, Parque Forestal, a large supermarket, laundromats, restaurants and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing