We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and homely hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Surfista Hostel
Ranked #22 of 467 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A friendly and homely hostel”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay there thanks to Jonathan and the other guests. It is a big house that you instantly feel at home in. Jonathan and Valentina were very helpful and friendly and Jonathan gave us great tips and recommendations for where we should go next in Chile. We had a double room which was huge and the bed was comfortable, and not just two singles pushed together. The breakfast was basic but sufficient, the pancakes on Sunday morning wee great! The Friday night BBQ was great to get to know the other guests. The wifi was fast and occasionally reached our room but it was fine to just use it downstairs. The location was great, a quiet area within walking distance to the main tourist attractions as well as the metro and a supermarket. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean. The only negatives were waiting having to wait a while for the bathrooms to be available and the floors were very creaky but these are minor and I would definitely recommend this small and friendly hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    38
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
52
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed at the Castillo Surfista Hostel in Santiago, Chile for 4days/3nights. It was a great experience. Beautiful huge house in a great location. Minutes from a park, and 5 minute walking distance from the metro train. Had access to the kitchen, and computer. Johnathan, the owner, was very helpful with directions and advice on places to go and see. Had a BBQ friday night for the whole house. Great Times! cant wait to go back!! Dont forget to play with Duke, the skateboarding dog!!

Room Tip: the 3 Bed room has a nice balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasheedmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at Castillo Surfista two times during my trip in Chile. There was always a fun mix of travellers staying there, often in the middle of epic world tours, with great stories to tell. They were all friendly and outgoing; most (but not all) from English speaking countries; a pretty even mix of males and females, and ages spanning 20s to 50s. The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable; the rooms are spacious enough to set your bags out and still move around. The hostel is in a safe residential neighborhood only a few blocks from a metro station and within walking distance of Bella Vista / Cerro San Cristobal. The friday barbecue was a lot of fun--there's a supermarket only a couple of blocks away where you can get everything you need, including of course excellent Chilean wine. Like another reviewer said, not a party place but there's a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a really really lovey place, in a good location for the key sights and bars in Santiago. It's not a party place but there's a lovely atmosphere and the owners even invited us to bring our own food and join their Friday night barbecue.

It is just a lovely big house with tons of space and it's nice and clean. There's a lounge, dining room, breakfast area and back yard which can all be used, as well as a great kitchen so you can cook your own meals. There's wifi downstairs and a computer to use.

I loved staying here, a true home from home, and none of us there would have left when we did if the owners hadn't been heading off on a trip.

So why a four rating not five - I'd booked a return reservation for the end of my time in Chile which they unfortunately couldn't honour as expected. They were great on emails explaining it, and an offer to return my deposit (I've asked it to go in a charity collection pot - I hope it does!) but in my book, this is slightly unprofessional unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan J, Owner at Castillo Surfista Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thanks for the review Helen. I would have loved to keep the hostel open for the several days I was away for the planned marketing trip, but I unfortunately could not find suitable staff in time. Your reservation was the first we ever had to cancel. The dog (Duke) fell out of the truck, injured his head and became little carsick while we were on the coast and we decided to give him a little time to recover before coming straight back to Santiago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was hands down one of the best places I've stayed in. Jonathan and Valentina were so lovely and helpful, and definitely made us feel at home. It was in a nice area that was quiet and easy to get to, with lots of places to go just a short walk away. The rooms were nice, the place was clean, and they have a puppy named Duke that can ride a skateboard! What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

While in Santiago, Tony and I booked one night at Castillo Surfista but ended up loving it so much that we stayed for the entire week. John and Valentina have an excellent business. The hostel is in a great neighborhood that is quiet & safe and close to the metro, the supermarket, and the park. The house is HUGE and feels like home. All the bedrooms (we stayed in all but one!) are very nice and the bathrooms are clean. The kitchen is very large and well equipped to cook meals. They also have a lovely patio area outside where you can enjoy food and drinks with other hostel guests.

Castillo Surfista is ideal for socializing with others. The common areas are cozy and large and John has a large variety of movies to watch on his flatscreen TV in the living room. They also occasionally host BBQ nights and Free Beer Fridays, which was such a fun experience.

Breakfast is also pretty good. They always do something a little different each day (one day we got pancakes!) and Valentina (an superb chef!) will sometimes whip up some homemade breads for breakfast.

Most importantly, John and Valentina are extremely accommodating and helpful to all of their guests, Whenever we had questions about Santiago, the hostel, or anything else, they were very attentive and went above and beyond to make our stay at their home an excellent one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've stayed at a number of hostels in Santiago and Castillo Surfista is easily the best. It's centrally located, very close to the metro and has a full grocery store and laundromat around the corner.

The building is an old house that has been completely renovated. Everything is brand new and as of this review it's only been open for 3 weeks! Last night, a Friday, the owner threw a big BBQ for everyone and he and his partner make breakfast every morning, which is included with your room.

We've already made our next booking for later in the month.

This place is clean, quiet, safe, and fun. You can't go wrong by booking here.

Room Tip: There's a three-bed room which has HUGE closets and is still really well priced per bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricWarnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#21 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#28 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Don Santiago Hostel
#12 of 467 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 467 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#8 of 467 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Surfista Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Surfista Hostel

Property: Castillo Surfista Hostel
Address: Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago 011291, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 467 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER OF THE HOSTELBOOKERS 2013 EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR CLEANEST HOSTEL IN SOUTH AMERICA. Come experience a boutique-style fusion of CALIFORNIA SURFER and KNIGHTS OF THE ROUND TABLE, nestled within a large 100 year old house in one of Santiago's most unique and safest neighborhoods. My name is Jonathan, a lifelong traveler and California surfer. This hostel is new, a place I created for backpackers, students, ocean lovers, and gonzo spirit soul surfers. I decided not to cram the rooms with beds so you and intimate groups of new friends can stretch out and have the entire house to yourselves, complete with a large kitchen, patio with BBQ, garden, LED TV room, dining room and computer room. Party all night long or take a moment to relax alone. It's all possible here. We are strategically located in the heart of Santiago, in an area of great historical, cultural and natural value. This exclusive area is very close to the typical places of the city: Parque Bustamante, Plaza Italia, San Cristóbal Hill, Barrio Bellavista, Rio Mapocho, Parque Forestal, a large supermarket, laundromats, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castillo Surfista Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing