We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad. But somewhat overrated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Jardin de Epicuro

El Jardin de Epicuro
Ranked #302 of 4,132 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tigre, Argentina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not bad. But somewhat overrated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

After some tapas across the street, we went there to have dinner with a friend. We found easily a good table and got good service. The food was not extremely good, but overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    107
    29
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent choice for any night out. The food is excellent matched only by te friendly service and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave-NZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Terrific dinner; charming facility and staff. We did not have reservations for dinner on the night we arrived in Santiago. We noticed this place, found it was high on the TripAdviser list and it was recommended by our hotel.

My wife and I shared a tasting menu. Excellent food, great wine and pleasant staff. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallas-Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely place with lovely and honest food. Sweet atmosphere and good service. Different from most of chilean restaurants. I like it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank malubraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Eating at this restaurant was a huge disappointment. I came here with some friends almost a year ago and had a great experience and was looking forward to coming back. We were shocked at how bad the food was. The shrimp appetizer was greasy and overdone and the shrimp/corvina carpaccio was underwhelming. No one in our party finished their entrees. The salmon was also overdone and paired with an overpowering fava bean mash with such a strong flavor you couldn't eat more than one bite. The little nubs of alleged foie gras in the ravioli couldn't stand up to the heavy cream sauce and the possibly canned mushrooms. The mote risotto had some sand in the dish and had no real taste otherwise. Sure the location is great, the atmosphere is nice and the drinks were good, but the food is so bad that those things just don't matter. There are plenty of other options in this neighborhood, Stay Away!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin de Epicuro also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Jardin de Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing