We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dining experience in Bella Vista”
Review of Vietnam Discovery

Vietnam Discovery
Ranked #98 of 4,617 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent dining experience in Bella Vista”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I went to this place for dinner yesterday night. Had no expectations at all, and left the place really impressed. The service was very good, and the food not only was very tasty, it was also abundant. I had a chicken curry that was to die for. The atmosphere is a bit tacky, and the live music not so great. Taking that aside, an excellent dining experience in a beautiful side of Santiago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fetchmeafatcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vietnam Discovery, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest;
Thank you for the comment given to our restaurant through this platform.

We deeply appreciate the time and effort you have put on your review, and we are proud of having been able to please you on your time with us.

Kind regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    245
    127
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing food, rather expensive”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was looking forward to having some nice Vietnamese food in Santiago, and chose the Vietnam Discovery based on tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately, the food wasn't as good as expected.

We called in advance to reserve a table and had to chose between 2 time slots. We were reminded twice that we had to leave at a certain time to clear the table, so assumed that the place was crowded. It was rather 75% empty when we arrived.

The waiter (who was very nice and knowledgeable) recommended us some mixed starters, which were nice. The disappontment came with the main course: The taste of my pho had nothing to do with the original, it was lukewarm & yellow, and the meat raw (the man on the neighbouring table called it 'the worst pho ever' - I would tend to agree). My boyfriend's noodles tasted ok, but again were more or less cold. When we inquired, the waiter told us that recently the Vietrnamese owner had stopped working in the kitchen - maybe that is why? As dessert, we ordered chocolate fondant, which turned out to be a mousse instead.

Overall, the place was a disappointment, with poor, rather pricey food. Hope they can turn it around to give Santiago a real Vietnamese option!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller136_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vietnam Discovery, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for your comment here at the TripAdvisor community. the advice and criticism you have given us will sure be taken into account, and informed to the highest authorities here at our restaurant.

Rest assure we will deal with any and all matters needed, and the quality of our service and food will continue to improve.

Warm regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“El mejor Vietnamita de Santiago / The Best Vietnamese Restorant in Santiago”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had the best experience in @ Vietnam Discovery, not only the food is awesome specially the Mi nam Giang (30). The bar exelent, I strongly recommend the Peer mojito.

About the experience and the service is I can`t complain, is one in the best in Santiago


Go To Vientam Discovery, you will Love It

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vietnam Discovery, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Ignacio;

Thank you for your comment and review here at TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time taken to write about our restaurant, since the feedback received is the best way to continue improving on a daily basis.
We're also glad you enjoyed so much our service and dishes, as we strive to be the best.

Warm Regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and different”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The place is not difficult to find and one should not shy away from the entrance, as you would not guess to find a larger place behind. Reservations to be recommended, on weekends they work in 2 shifts, 8-10pm and 10pm onwards. Terrace is nice, good decoration, food choice is large, service quick, but one critic: food was more or less lukewarm when it arrived at the table, could be hotter. Taste was good though, happy to repeat and come back. For the ones, who come with their cars: on the website there are several parking spots indicated, alternatively Patio Bellavista.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickrobffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vietnam Discovery, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Nick:

Thank you for your comment and review here at TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time taken to write about our restaurant, since the feedback received is the best way to continue improving on a daily basis.
We're also glad you enjoyed so much our service and dishes, as we strive to be the best.

Warm Regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“Very slow service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The food is good, the service is extremely slow, the waiter polite and helpful, the temperature control terrible . . . it was unpleasanty hot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Vietnam Discovery, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Phillipe:

Thank you for your comment here at the TripAdvisor community. the advice and criticism you have given us will sure be taken into account, and informed to the highest authorities here at our restaurant.

Rest assure we will deal with any and all matters needed, and the quality of our service and food will continue to improve.

Warm regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Discovery also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Vietnam Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing