We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review”
Review of Madam Tusan

Madam Tusan
Ranked #161 of 4,573 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Peruvian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been to Madame Tusan´s three times, twice at Parque Arauco, once at Costanera Center. The two times at Parque Arauco, food was excellent, so was service and I was a very satisfied overall, it is not cheap, but was well worth it.

On the other hand, the visit to the Costanera Center Madam Tusan was extremely disappointing, food was bland, service was not and but not good, all in all, not worth the money. I have not gone back since, so I don´t know if this is generalized or simply a one off. But my last experience was not good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    241
    97
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I loved to eat there, very exotic food and excellent service and decoration.

Try the food that look like more different because you will be surprised... enjoy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Almost Always Excellent”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Every time I travel to Lima or Santiago I look forward to dining at Madam Tusan. On this trip we went twice and everything was excellent.............. except for their special Wonton Soup!!!!!

I was like to try different things of their menu and always I'm delighted and leave with a smile on my face, unfortunately not the case with the soup. I swear it was nothing more than a bag of Lipton Chicken soup with some wonton, pork and a few green onions for color.

Typically great wonton soup broth is clear and flavorful, load with pork filled wonton, shrimp and veggies.

The rest of the meals were fantastic, so if they can up their game in the soup department I could rate them as excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Garbage - Greazy, bland and just awful”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I tried 4 dishes at lunch and every single dish was truly awful. The noodles were oily and grease covered while lacking in pictured ingredients. The steak tenderloin dish had a mystery brown sauce like airplane food and was goo. It was nasty. The other dishes were flavorless and of low quality. Everything was nausea inducing in terms of texture, taste and appearance.

I travel the world for work and must say this has been my worst restaurant meal in 2013.

FYI lunch for 2 with 2 soft drinks was $80 USD and you can eat better quality Chinese food in a cheap takeout Chinese place anywhere in the USA or Canada (and to anyone who knows how average takeout Chinese can be knows that is not saying much but it will cost $15 not $80)

Stay away from this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyOneWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Generous portions of OK food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped by to look at the menu & were intrigued by the concept of Peruvian/Chinese fusion... We ordered lettuce wraps (not their name for it) and pollo Bruce Lee (kung pao chicken with red & green bell peppers). Both portions were substantial, but the lethettuce wrap size was 2-2.5 times bigger than PF Changs in the US. Served with slightly wilted lettuce and no accompanying sauces or chili oil. Some of the lettuce leaves were nice & crunchy, but no special attention had been paid to the overall lettuce quality.

It was mid day so we had soft drinks, and my wife says it was the best limeade she'd ever tasted - I agree it was excellent & should have asked for a glass with ice to chill with. Espresso was mediocre.

Outstanding service complete with a digital IPad interactive menu in English made ordering easy and accurate, but somehow took the adventure out of the experience as I'm only half-fluent in Spanish.

The excellent service began outside & continued throughout the meal, ending with 6-7 different staff members thanking us on the way out.

It's an interesting change, but I'd opt for straight Peruvian or Chinese in the future...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madam Tusan also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Madam Tusan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing