We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Day Out”
Review of Horse Riding Chile

Horse Riding Chile
Ranked #25 of 190 Outdoor Activities in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Horse Riding Chile takes individuals or groups on rides into the Andes mountains in the Cajon del Maipo near Santiago. We offer 1 day rides with lunch, longer rides camping in the mountains and also family rides. We can also take experienced riders who want to ride hard and go as far as possible into the mountains. We have excellent well-fed and cared for horses, sure-footed and easy to ride. We can take advanced, experienced riders and first time riders. Our guides have lived and worked in the Cajon del Maipo all their lives. We can arrange for pickup and drop-off in Santiago.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took this day out last month with our 4 year old daughter, she had never been on a horse before but Rigo made her feel so relaxed straight away that she took it all in her stride and had a very enjoyable day out, she is still talking about how she rode a horse with a real cowboy, I think it was her highlight of our 11 days in Santiago, We also enjoyed it very much the views were great, and the packed lunch was also very Yummy. I would highly recommend this day to any one wanting to do something slightly different to the usual tours and days out Santiago has to offer,

1  Thank StanleyBennies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Public Relations Manager at Horse Riding Chile, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review. We passed your words on to Rigo and he was delighted. He adores children and was very taken with your daughter - who did so well and bravely riding in the mountains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Horse Riding Chile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

After spending 4 months in South America, this was my last chance to go horse riding. I was always reluctant to ride any of the other horses we came across whilst travelling, as their condition wasn`t to a standard that i would feel comfortable riding.
But these were beautiful horses. They were strong sturdy horse in the best condition that i`d seen in South America. They were running loose in the fields, and there was also a feisty little foal on site as well when we arrived.
There was only 2 of us riding today, and we chose the length of our ride out, so you can customise to your needs. The owner is English, so all correspondences and bookings were done via email in English. But the riders are locals with limited English, but amazingly warm and friendly.
Both of us have been frequent riders beforehand, but you must specify your competence before just turning up and going for a ride.
The horses are very sure footed, especially as the trail we went on runs along the mountain edge, with a steep drop. I`m a relatively confident rider, but the height is enough to put you off your balance if you`re the slightest bit nervous.
The ride and the views were amazing. We stopped for lunch at a pool, had a chance for a swim or a mini siesta, whatever your preference :) lunch is provided as part of the cost.
You can ride as fast or as slow as you`re able to.
There was even a beer waiting for us when we got back.
We opted for the pick up/ drop off as it was quite a drive out, but worth every penny.
I would definitely use them again, and next time i would make time to do a few days overnight trek into the mountains.

Thank vljames82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Manager at Horse Riding Chile, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. I am particularly glad that you felt the horses were well looked after as we really try at that. The steepness and height mentioned is true, and we have the option of easier rides but they are less dramatic and don't give such a good feel of the mountains, so we usually recommend the more picturesque ones. Because the horses were born and bred in the mountains they are so footsure, and the saddles so well made for mountains, that we find everyone can manage the steep bits, with the possible exception of people who suffer from vertigo. We once had a rider who suffers from vertigo but wanted to do it just the same, and when she got home to Exmoor in England, generally regarded as fairly steep, she found it almost flat and her vertigo cured. But it's a case of 'horses for courses' and we try to tailor the ride to your requirements. Thank you again for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a fun adventure that felt a little more authentic than most tours. The location was beautiful, the guide and horses were great. We enjoyed the opportunity to spend some quiet time alone by the stream, cooling off on a sunny day. Really appreciated the hats offered to us by the staff - they were essential and fun. Best to wear a light, long-sleeved shirt and something to swim in at the stream. If you have children (or feel young at heart), ask the guide about fishing. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful day!

1  Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Public Relations Manager at Horse Riding Chile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Everyone here - Rigo your guide, Tito your driver and Camila your hostess for the nights you spent here, and Ellen, Harry and I nyour organisers - all enjoyed your visit and your great energy and gusto. Have a good time for the rest of you holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A birthday treat for me. Tito the driver was warm and welcoming doing his best to tell us about Chile on our way to the ranch. Harry was there to met us and explain the ride. My husband prefers motorbikes and has a fear of heights however he had no problem tackling this ride. The horses were so well trained you could leave them to find the best route and take photographs while riding along. Harry made a superb salad for my coeliac husband and I enjoyed a delicious filled roll and a beer. How wonderful to see real rodeo riders able to pursue their passion. The new black stallion was beautiful! This was a wonderfully relaxing enjoyable day in the countryside with superb views to match. Yes it was a little expensive for us but well worth it especially to think we may be helping to improve the ranch and keep this wonderful tradition going.

Thank Kevin11457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thanks for a memorable day on some sure footed horses among the Andes. Everyone was lovely and extremely friendly. The pick up from Santiago is well orth the cost as it is quite a drive but great to see the real Santiago. We would recommend this to anyone with a little bit of riding experience.

Thank Shannon-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Public Relations Manager at Horse Riding Chile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you Shannon for a nice review. I wanted to add that we do have a gentle ride along a wide track which feels less challenging both in terms of possible vertigo and amount of riding experience. It goes to the same place, but we usually do the one with 'a few thrills' as that is what alot of people want in an Andes adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Riding Chile also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Horse Riding Chile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing