We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel of Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
Ranked #10 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Transport each one to north India with great energies, customs , culture , Music , Bollywood dances to enjoy authentic Indian cusine keeping Indian traditions in mind. A dignified, cultured and mystical place to enjoy with business groups to families to friends to the most loving person for a perfect romantic place where one can drink quietly in Kamasutra room to a private room for 8 heads to a open kitchen to a dance room to a room of god to room of Krishna for babies. A true Indian home where respect, service, humane values are the top priority for each cliente visiting mi casa. Namaste.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jewel of Santiago”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Santiago and chose this restaurant based on the great Trip Advisor reviews. The owner, Rakesh, really made us feel at home and was more than happy to give us suggestions on what to order. Although the experience of eating Indian food in Chile was great, the specific dishes we ordered (Vindaloo and Chicken Tikka Masala) did not meet our relatively high expectations. We would visit this restaurant again, however, in the future we would tell them what we wanted specifically as they were very accommodating and willing to please.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FancyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    381
    133
    54
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great host”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After a long time travelling it was awesome to have a good Indian meal. Rakesh is warm and welcoming host who understands his guests and offers brilliant service. Possibly the best authentic Indian food in South America.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hybinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent indian food, I always choose this place.The food is great, full of smells and taste, the environment is charming and Rakesh, the owner, is so friendly and lovely person. I recommend this Restaurant, absolutely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's all about Mr. Rakesh and it is a great restaurant!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Jewel of India is a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Santiago restaurant and be welcomed into an intimate setting with excellent food and great service. Mr. Rakesh proudly welcomes you into his home and will provide suggestions from appetizers through desert and bring you complimentary tastings of some of the best dishes in the house, one of which is the home made cheese appetizer which kicks off along with an excellent house aperitif a great evening. I visit Jewel of India every time I visit Santiago and the staff has taken great care to make me feel welcome, remember my likes, and receive my coworkers and friends with equal enthusiasm all while providing an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmylo1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully authentic Indian dining”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived I knew we had chosen well. The decor, the staff and the charismatic owner left us with high expectations and we were not disappointed. The owner knew how to keep us happy with his recommendations and personality. I am so glad to have found this place in my neighbourhood!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessimaca85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing