We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
Ranked #10 of 4,491 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We transport back each one to north India with great positive energies, customs , culture , Music , Bollywood dances to authentic Indian cusine keeping Indian traditions in mind. A dignified, cultured and mystical place to enjoy with business groups to families to friends to the most loving person to a perfect romantic place where one can enjoy quietly in Kamasutra room to a private room for 8 heads to a open kitchen to a dance room to a room of god to a room of Krishna for babies. Beautifully decorated terrace
Temuco, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The reviews of the place are correct. Delicious food, excellent attention by owner, a nice location. A bit expensive, but it serves the aimed target. Went for lunch so the place was a bit empty (around noon), they were just openning. The chicken w/ mango sauce is a must. Next time in Santiago it requires another visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarquezTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    381
    132
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent alternative for seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

When you need a break from seafood in Santiago, Try Jewel of India and be ready to be received to a friend's house! Rakesh will greet you as soon approach the front door. He will take care of you and make sure you feel great. The food is good, not the best I had had, and it may be that it had been customized to Chilean taste, so, I missed some of the spiciness of Indian dishes. Anyways, it was a great experience. The ambiance is great, with lots of authentic decor. A little pricey, maybe, but no much higher than other nice restaurants in Santiago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OArias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Indian restaurant in Chile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Best Indian restaurant in Chile ever!! Food is really awesome and breath taking! Really best choice of indian food. Best of all is Rakesh its owner; is very kind, warm and always worried and concern of you; personally taking care of yourself and everything. Moreover he gave us (to my wife) a present since we were celebrating our anniversary!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jigaldamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The ambiance was amazing, and we were surprised to see the authentic Indian ambiance. Very warm and welcoming staff, especially the host. The owner runs this business with a passion.
Now about the food, to be frank, it was delicious. The taste was just perfect. I wanted to meet the chef, but didn't get time. The only thing i noted a bit negative was that food was too brighter than natural. But it doesn't matter.
Of course it was expensive, but is worth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jineesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good .. but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Like many, I was surprised to see that an Indian restaurant ranked #1 in Santiago (at the time of visiting). As we were ready for a change after lost of seafood and love to eat Indian, we decided to try.

It was a great experience. We were welcomed by the personable owner, Rakesh, who regaled us with some of his stories. We sat in the nice patio (with Bollywood clips playing on a screen), service was good and quick. The food was very good, but not the best Indian I have ever eaten. I also thought it was a little too brightly coloured (food colouring, perhaps?). It is also quite expensive (but Santiago is an expensive town).

Anyway, I would certainly recommend it, if you are not on a budget. However, on looking through the reviews .. i noted a lot of 1 review reviewers giving 5 stars, which probably boost the rankings. On the other hand, there are some negative reviews that are also off (for instance it is not in a bad neighbourhood .. it is in Providencia and we walked there from the hotel).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing