We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we went on our 1 year anniversary!”
Review of Barandiaran

Barandiaran
Ranked #162 of 4,616 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Providencia
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Glad we went on our 1 year anniversary!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been married one year, and to celebrate we decided to spring for something outside our normal realm of cheap eats and daily menús. Normally I don't get too excited about Peruvian food (french fries and rice overload!) but this restaurant was very good! My lamb was tender enough to eat with only a fork and very flavorful. Everyone else had fish and praised the freshness and taste. Our server really wowed us by putting our champagne in an ice bucket. So all-in-all very happy with the food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    267
    146
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience. Great Piscos. Wonderful Art. Delicious Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is theater meets dining at its best. I am here for 5 nights and have had some pretty spectacular meals, but this one has been the best fun and dining experience to date.

I was with a group of friends and we had the waiter bring us a mix of fish, meats, veggie dishes and everything else in beween.

Allow time to walk around and discover the artwork, the pool in the back, and if you have a chance, meet the owner who is indeed bigger than life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, indifferent service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was a bit of a challenge to find this restaurant in the Patio Bellavista, but the food was excellent. The staff recommended the seafood paella (with one with peas and other veggies) and it was both delicious - the seafood excellently cooked - and generous in the portion size. Service was indifferent - perhaps because I was a bit early in the evening, inside - in the no-smoking section - and don't speak Spanish. But that shouldn't matter. Still, the food is worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good local establishment”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After visiting the park, we walked over to Patio Bellavista for lunch. This restaurant was recommended in our guidebook and we can see why. Lunch began with delicious warm rolls. The Chilean corn appetizer in goat cheese was delicious. And the corvina in a spicy sauce was spectacular. Try the Austral beer, it's a patagonian brew.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever I May Roam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VERY good food!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a terrific lunch here with excellent food and service.
Sat on the outdoor patio on a glorious Saturday afternnon and watched the people go by while we enjoyed Peruvian food.
Best ceviche I had in Chile.

Would def recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barandiaran also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Barandiaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing