We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta do this tour!”

Free Walking Tour of Santiago
Ranked #2 of 295 Tours in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: TourDesk is an online travel agency focused on promoting and selling great quality tour and activities. Our tours are organized in small groups so the tourists can enjoy a personalized service from their guides and drivers, who are also focused on providing memorable experiences. We work closely with small boutique operators whose sole goal is to always improve and create unique experiences
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You gotta do this tour!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I have been here in Santiago visiting the city for several days now and only due to a travel change, had time to do this tour. What a stroke of luck - because it was excellent!! Franco was our guide and over four hours, we saw and learned so much about Santiago, Chile, its history, its customs, food, etc etc. Important to note, he speaks articulately, clearly, with good projection. He guided us along a very manageable walking tour and pace, allowing time for breaks and Q&A. He gave us a great overview, food and drinks tips, insights into Santiago mindset, plus pointed out things to return to on our own time.

I was aware of the "operating on tips" basis, and agree with other reviewers: 1: There was no pressure here. 2. We WANTED to pay since it was that good. Don't miss it!.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SylviaF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,874
    286
    58
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“santiago free walking tour”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We took 15pm tour. Philipe the gide was full with passion, very knowlagble and very charming. I am suggesting this tour for every one

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inbal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding wealth of history & politics”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you get Carla (a/k/a Carlita) you will have hit the motherlode on an outstanding guide who
is a library of history and politics. Our 4 hour walking tour was 5 hours of information, laughs,
anecdotes and social and cultural issues of Chile. We took time for refreshments and occasional respites along the way. She pointed our shopping areas and good restaurants
where we returned after the tour. If there is one person, she will conduct the tour!! The entire tour is outside. She advised us of buildings that were closed so we did not waste our time returning at a later time. Several we had on our list to visit so we were grateful for the information. Some buildings are still under renovation from the earthquak.

Carla's English was perfect! She is a young lawyer just waiting to finish her thesis and internship. She loves what she is doing! Her interest in her tourists lent itself to each of
us learning much about each other which was fascinating as we were the only US citizens in the group but all spoke excellent English and were much younger than our senior status.

If time is limited, we recommend this for the most comprehensive background on Chile and
Santiago. Carlita even bought us the local drink as we had no small Chilean currency. She is very responsive to need for bathroom stops and photo ops.
Remember to tip them well as they are only compensated by your tips and Carlita is defnintely worth every penny!

Also, they say to meet in front of the Allende statue at the front of the government building -
the rear of the building is on the main boulevard while the front of the building is what one would imagine is the rear. We had to ask several people before we discovered this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank frequentsrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour is ok, but we had better”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Johnny the scottish guide lacked enthusiasm - the tour would probably be better with a local guide.
bafreetour (Buenos Aires) and tour4tips (Valparaiso) were much better than this tour.

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great overview of Santiago”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Franco was easy to spot at the Plaza de Armas -- since he had on a bright red shirt that said "Free Tours" on the front of it! (tours meet at 10 & 3 in front of the cathedral on the Plaza de Armas). Franco gave us a great introduction to the city of Santiago as well as the history of Chile. He was very knowledgeable, articulate and funny and I don't think we would have learned about "coffee with legs" if we hadn't gone on his tour. He gave us a great overview of the city, complete with restaurant tips and showed us various museums and cultural centers that we should return to on our own after the walking tour.

The company approach about payment is great - at the beginning and the end of the tour he mentioned that they operated on a tips only basis, but it didn't feel at all like a high pressure sales situation. In fact, his tour was so great that we wanted to pay him for showing us a wonderful four hours of exploring Santiago.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura_T_499092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Walking Tour of Santiago also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Free Walking Tour of Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing