We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #28 of 475 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights, and had some good points and bad points

Good

Staff are very helpful, booking taxis, enquiries about the city etc, and are fluent English speakers, which was key for us not speaking any Spanish.

Free breakfast every day was a nice bonus.

Free internet which is very high speed.

Location can't be beat, being a few blocks from the centre of the shopping area and the main attractions.

Bad

Very noisy which makes it hard to sleep.we were in a double room off the upstairs central area, which has sofas in it. On our first night, people were playing games on their phones and talking till 5am which the staff did nothing about. This regularly happened til 2-3am, and due to the design of the building even the downstairs conversations are easily heard.

Balcony door didnt lock. This was a shared balcony with the larger dorm next door, and while the guys in there may have been ok, they could have be anyone. I felt uncomfortable leaving my room unlocked all day and all night. Staff tried to find the key to no avail.

Bathrooms cleaned mid morning everyday, and the bins for toilet paper were tiny and uncovered (upstairs at least). This results in overflow every night of dirty toilet paper on the cubicle floors, which is filthy.

In summation the hostel was reasonable, but I don't think I could go there again for fear of lack of sleep (I appreciate that I didn't complain to reception about this, but it is really something they should be proactive about, as they can hear it from downstairs)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Greg, thanks a lot for your review. Certainly the negative comments you mention aren't the standard. I (the owner) personally took care of each point and solved them. Unfortunately not for your stay, but for the stay of our next guests.
Thanks also for the good comments.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    66
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
10
38
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Highly recommended! Amazing beds, hot showers, everything clean, awesome environment, very good location (close to subway, Mercado Central, walking tours and nice clubs!) and awesome staff (they always plan cool stuff to do, like nights out and dine's for the hostel people). Best place to be in Santiago!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed five days in this hostel and felt very welcome there. Everything was working well, the staff is friendly and helpful and the hostel is well situated close to Plaza de Armas. Santiago Backpackers it's simply a good place to stay...! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are going to Santiago I highly recomend staying here. I started my 5 month trip in south america here, and returned here again for another week in santiago before I left. The staff are amazing especially the kitchen staff and cleaner Lita, always preparing a beautiful breakfast and has great energy, full of bubles, always had me smiling, also catalina and mi, on reception were always helpful with anything we needed, you will even see the owner Ari around everyday who is always very friendly. The rooms are large and clean and the beds are cosey. Its in a great location and plus there is a free dinner every tues night and always activities every night of the week. In my five months travel this is one of the best hostels i stayed in.!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Unfortunately I haven´t been very satisfied with this hostal.... Previous to my stay I have done an online reservation via their homepage (prices in USD). After having paid the first night in chilean pesos I realized (too late) that it is more than it would have been if I had paid in USD. It was quite difficult to change this yet paid night and pay my whole stay in USD which costs me a few USD less. What made me so unhappy was that there was no sympathy coming from the owner and it seemed the hardly anyone noticed this difference in paying (not even the lady at the reception has known it before!). So be aware of your means of payment!
breakfast was included, but not really recommendable. fruit was just green apple, once we were happy to find oranges, BUT...... already moulded!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 993SarahT993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. The owner wasn't who dealt with this situation. That being said, what happened is that there are prices published in dollars and in chilean pesos, for obvious reasons. We do have a normal (not abusive) exchange rate that doesn't change every day. For this reason, this guests had a difference from the official exchange rate that was LESS than a dollar per guest per night. Since they asked to pay in pesos the first night, they wanted a refund and to pay in dollars for the whole stay, which takes 5 working days. They didn't have that time, and so were dissapointed at us. Booking sites sometimes offer automatic currency translation and that is made at different exchange rates than the accommodation has, which can lead to this misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location

Reception staff foreign and mot very knowledgeable about the city

Breakfast nice food but messy organisation and only 3 tables for the whole hostel = stressful

Don't expect to sleep on Saturday night. There were people partying till 3am in patio and some more talking in the hallway till 5am: staff does nothing to enforce quietness= awful night for those who want to sleep

Great atmosphere if you just turned 18 and are looking for friends

Not so great if you had planned to sleep

No paper in toilet, other one blocked

One out of two showers out of service

Virtually no decoration in room,
Very basic

No curtain and rooftop window= woken up at 6am

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGallerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are not happy that you couldn't have the rest you expected, we are a hostel focused on good rest and quality of sleep, not a party hostel. For this we have quiet rules after midnight in all our sleeping areas. We had a new receptionist that night who didn't enforce this, it has been corrected.
We care about our guests stay and we encourage them to let us know when they have a problem as soon as it happens, so we have a chance to fix it. Our showers are all working properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good staff, friendly atmosphere, and nice kitchen, overall a good experience, I apperciate staff, AARon, Lisa, Sara, it is worth of money spend, they have good large recretional area in room and outside, with very good kitchen facility, breakfast was good, Staff help me out with all the necessary stuff. I would higly recommandate this hostel for the people who wants to visit the santiago de Chile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agravat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#10 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#23 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Property: Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 475 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing