We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be careful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #27 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“be careful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Unfortunately I haven´t been very satisfied with this hostal.... Previous to my stay I have done an online reservation via their homepage (prices in USD). After having paid the first night in chilean pesos I realized (too late) that it is more than it would have been if I had paid in USD. It was quite difficult to change this yet paid night and pay my whole stay in USD which costs me a few USD less. What made me so unhappy was that there was no sympathy coming from the owner and it seemed the hardly anyone noticed this difference in paying (not even the lady at the reception has known it before!). So be aware of your means of payment!
breakfast was included, but not really recommendable. fruit was just green apple, once we were happy to find oranges, BUT...... already moulded!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 993SarahT993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. The owner wasn't who dealt with this situation. That being said, what happened is that there are prices published in dollars and in chilean pesos, for obvious reasons. We do have a normal (not abusive) exchange rate that doesn't change every day. For this reason, this guests had a difference from the official exchange rate that was LESS than a dollar per guest per night. Since they asked to pay in pesos the first night, they wanted a refund and to pay in dollars for the whole stay, which takes 5 working days. They didn't have that time, and so were dissapointed at us. Booking sites sometimes offer automatic currency translation and that is made at different exchange rates than the accommodation has, which can lead to this misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    66
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
10
38
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location

Reception staff foreign and mot very knowledgeable about the city

Breakfast nice food but messy organisation and only 3 tables for the whole hostel = stressful

Don't expect to sleep on Saturday night. There were people partying till 3am in patio and some more talking in the hallway till 5am: staff does nothing to enforce quietness= awful night for those who want to sleep

Great atmosphere if you just turned 18 and are looking for friends

Not so great if you had planned to sleep

No paper in toilet, other one blocked

One out of two showers out of service

Virtually no decoration in room,
Very basic

No curtain and rooftop window= woken up at 6am

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGallerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are not happy that you couldn't have the rest you expected, we are a hostel focused on good rest and quality of sleep, not a party hostel. For this we have quiet rules after midnight in all our sleeping areas. We had a new receptionist that night who didn't enforce this, it has been corrected.
We care about our guests stay and we encourage them to let us know when they have a problem as soon as it happens, so we have a chance to fix it. Our showers are all working properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good staff, friendly atmosphere, and nice kitchen, overall a good experience, I apperciate staff, AARon, Lisa, Sara, it is worth of money spend, they have good large recretional area in room and outside, with very good kitchen facility, breakfast was good, Staff help me out with all the necessary stuff. I would higly recommandate this hostel for the people who wants to visit the santiago de Chile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agravat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinley Park, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was the last hostel that we went to before we heading back to the States. Their website was great, and gave good directions (and a map!) about how to get there! We arrived early (10am), but they still let us store our stuff in a locked luggage closet. We had planned on staying in a mixed dorm with 10 people, but they gave us a FREE updgrade, and we got our own PRIVATE ROOM!! It was nice to have the extra space and privacy for the last night of our trip. Our room had a small bacalony, which was great for looking out over busy Santiago! We also arrived on Tuesday, so we got a free dinner and a free breakfast the next morning! FREE!!!

A great place to end our trip on! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Chaltén
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I only intended to stay in Santiago for a few days but ended up staying a fortnight. Once you've stayed in this hostel for a week it really begins to feel like home. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, namely Ari the owner who went out of his way to help me organise my onward travel to Patagonia, even after I'd left the hostel. Great atmosphere, super easy to meet people, and there's always something to do. Make sure you're there on a Wednesday for Wine & Cheese night :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkworman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The general areas were good. Very big kitchen with plenty of everything. The room (double no ensuite) was large with clean linen but had no window with a sky light instead that woke you at 5am. The place in general was a bit dirty. There was one staff member who was really helpful and gave great tips. Probably great place for solo travellers but for the price I wouldn't recommend to couples.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pipp a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here for my first two weeks in Santiago before moving into a rented room in a house. I had a great time here and there was always someone who wanted to go out for the night. Great social atmosphere, but everyone goes out to the bars so its not too loud at night. Good breakfast, and great large kitchen if you want to cook for yourself. Good location with easy access to metro. Love the outlets for the top bunks...good thinking. No complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#14 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kombi Hostel
#40 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Property: Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing