We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the the best in SA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #26 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the the best in SA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I spent a whole lot of time at Santiago Backpackers on a recent trip to South America. The hostel is conveniently located near EVERYTHING.. walking distance to supermarkets, metro, shopping, the central market, parque forestal, etc etc. If you are venturing out in Santiago and area, the owner/manager Ari is awesome - he will help you plan your day, week, month.. anything! He knows not only Santiago, he is extremely well travelled himself and can help you with basically any of your next backpacking destinations and beyond.

The hostel is one of the cleanest I saw in my travels - always clean bathrooms, clean kitchen (which never seems to happen anywhere!), comfortable beds with a reading light, shelf and also importantly, lockers that are big enough to hold all your stuff! Also, free breakfast, free WIFI, a computer for guests, TV, free activities in the evening.

Totally would recommend this to any backpacker coming through Santiago.. it was one of the best hostels out of all my travel experiences!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middleofthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    66
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
10
38
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

It is such a cool place. It is located in nice neighborhood with the possibility to walk everywhere.!! People who work there are friendly, nice and helpful. I had fun meeting people and party with the manager and travelers. I am looking forward to stay and have good time in Santiago. If you do not stay in this place you will regret it!! Good trip and enjoy Chile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Santiago Backpackers was such a great stay the first time (before I went to the Atacama desert), that when I returned from the Atacama I stayed there again.

The staff is so amazingly friendly and helpful!! The location is stellar! It is about a 5 minute walk from the underground station and 5 mins from the center of town. There is a decent sized grocery store just a couple of blocks from S.B. (take a right out of the front door and in a few blocks go left).

The cooking facilities are excellent. There is enough pots and pans and cooking utensils for several people to cook at the same time.

Also, I believe every night they have activities. So, if you are a solo traveler, like so many are, there are always ways to meet people.

They have a large TV room with a large tv. Lots of big sofas for everyone to lounge.

Since I was a single girl traveling I decided to stay in the girls only dorm, which usually only had 3 girls. I never heard any loud noises at night or kept up by anyone's noise. It was a really chill place to hang and sleep.

I will for sure stay here next year when I return to Santiago with my small tour group.

Kerri, Seattle, WA, USA

Room Tip: There are girls only dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri_Kirshner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks Kerri for your review! We are happy to be an important stop in your travels and we look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The first night we arrived at 3 in the morning and the reception lady told us that we would pay 12.500 till the next day, because the good rooms were not available (so 1 1/2 nights). The next day the manager wanted to speak to us and told us that a night is 25.000. So we sorted this (and paid 100.000 for 5 nights), we wrote it on a paper and everything seemed find and then 5!!! nights later the manager asked us to pay for the first half night. We told him that his staff told us that we only pay 1 night for the first 1 1/2 nights but he said, that it doesnt matter and he doesnt care. Not only was he not helpful, he was very arrogant towards us. I am staying at another hostel near Brasil area now. Its cheaper, cleaner and warmer.

On the upside, the rest of the staff was nice and the room was okay (though worse than others and it was very cold).

I would not go there again, even if we did not have the problem with the manager. There are better options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
This is the first and only time something like this happened to us. These guests arrived late in the night and then asked to pay the next day because of being tired. Normally we ask for payment in advance but considering how late it was our staff agreed. The next day they told the staff they were told the room was a certain price, which actually was the price per person. The price they wanted to pay was even less than the cheaper dorm we have. Considering there could have been a misunderstanding (even though the prices are listed big in the reception), we offered them a one night discount for immediate payment, which they took even though they didn't pay immediately (just a partial payment). Since then they were asked every day to pay their remaining bill and they were constantly delaying it. After those 5 nights the guests mentions, I talked to them and they asked for a new delay, which I rejected. Then, there was a new problem. They arrived on a thursday night and demanded that night not to be considered in the bill since they 'only' came at 3 am, so that night didn't count, according to them. When I mentioned that this is not acceptable and showed, again, our big sign saying check in is at 2 pm, they made a scene which included threatening us with the worst online review we can imagine. Our answer was that we don't work with threats. Then, these couple decided they would leave immediately, of course without paying the remaining balance. They left not before leaving garbage all around the room, including the bed they slept at. After this, they were reported to other hostels in town for not paying their whole bill and for getting other guests uncomfortable.
We are lucky to have already a very good reputation in Trip Advisor, which we hope will make understand other users that this review is being made by someone who is angry for not getting the deals they expected, even though they finally got them by not paying. We are always recognized by the good value of our hostel and we will never try to take advantage of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a large room that was great, but the bathroom was in poor condition - small, weathered, and the shower head had to be held by hand. Free wifi, free breakfast and great location. Definitely consider.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPSSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The location is good and central, but a little noisy in the night.
The room was ok, not very big, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bath was so-so, it smelled a little bit, but for one night no problem. Breakfast simple as usual. The price was really fair, so I would recommend it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Balloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hostel is the best. Hot showers, very cool kitchen ( with everything you need ), nice dorms and an awesome staff!! This hostel knows exactly what you need as a backpacker and prices are fair!! They have free dinner nights on Tuesday and go to a bar on Wednesdays. Great location as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaux K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 469 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#14 of 469 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kombi Hostel
#40 of 469 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 469 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Property: Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing