We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not highly recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norus Apartments Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norus Apartments Bellavista
Ranked #109 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Weston CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not highly recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Bella Vista area of Santiago is a good location for tourists, however this residence is very, very basic. Parking provided. Staff disinterested and uninformative at best.
In the living room of our 2 bedroom/2 bath apt we had 1 couch to seat 2 persons and 2 hassocks, that’s it. All views are lousy.
Kitchen had only rudiments for cooking. 2 glasses, no coffee maker. Nothing is provided for cleaning, no kitchen soap, drying towels etc. No table, just 4 small counter chairs. That’s it. Apt was clean enough, but the general maintenance below standard. Laundry on premises and there is secure parking. Can’t recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kassie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
39
35
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Customer Service: Check in greeted by a smiley owner & receptionist. He spoke English (phew!) & made pleasant conversation. He offered to help; directions, local amenities, showed me to my room. LAN airlines lost my luggage, he offered to call them to chase my bag up once I was rested and refreshed. Slept soundly in a quiet room (314), comfortable double bed.

Approached reception much later, no owner but two lovely receptionists who immediately looked up, said hello when I walked in. One spoke no english, the other the same although she had more of an idea of what I was talking about - they remembered luggage dilemma, simply picked up the phone to LAN on my behalf! VERY grateful. Thanks to them my bag appeared at the hotel in just under three hours! While my bag was on it’s way from the airport, the girls voluntarily gave me a business card, highlighted the address of the hotel. They voluntarily showed me on a map where to go to get a decent bite to eat. I had been travelling for over 24hours and hadn't eaten anything, their concern was such a lovely touch. I curiously ventured out, glad I did as their reccommendation was superb! After a few hours I returned to the hotel, when my bag arrived the night receptionist (who spoke english) called my room immediately, by the time I got downstairs he was signing for it on my behalf. The girls had told him about it! I also couldn’t work the TV/DVD & he came immediatley right up to help. Excellent customer service.

Room: Free wifi. TV/DVD in the bedroom (english speaking channels). Yes, it is a small 1bed apartment. Equivalent to a junior suite in any major hotel except this has kitchen facilites. It lacks the basic necessary items to cook with though; no knives to cut with, no chop board, no utensils, no detergent, sponges etc. The only items in the kitchen are; fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, 3 different sized pots, 2 dinner & side plates, 2 small cups, 2 espresso cups, 2 glasses, cutlery. To be honest, the hotel is so very close to restaurants/cafes which suit all budgets and I can guarantee after you have had a taste of the Chilean food & atmosphere of area Bellavista you will not be bothered cooking! A very large walk in wardrobe; 5 hangers. Shower above bath with hot running water (at all times). Towels supplied. Minimal toiletries (def bring your own). No hairdryer. Double bed; linen clean. Phone on the kitchen wall only gives access to reception & to open the gate outside. Reverse cycle aircon/heating unit; it was cold and it worked-within minutes the rooms were toasty warm. Small balcony (big windows) with fabulous views of the Andes Mountains.

Location: To get here from the airport, pay USD11 for a shared minibus taxi service. Pay at the transportation desk which is located just after you collect your bag at the airport & exit security. OR at the same desk pay USD38 for a direct service. A local airport coach goes to the city centre but it also waits to fill up before departing (like the taxi shuttle). The hotel is only 5mins walk from metro stop ‘Salvador’ & also the main street where bars, clubs, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and theatres are. I was travelling solo, single white female and no hassles walking back to hotel after dark (be discreet with your belongings. People don't tend to carry handbags here, small backpacks seem to be the norm). Also, the whole way to/from hotel to the main part of town has bright street lights. The street the hotel is located on is quiet, narrow and one way, it is off one of the main artery roads. The hotel is next to a secure car park. Hotel surrounded by big concrete wall and metal gates. The security gate means you buzz in/out, it’s manned 24/7, this is a definite plus and travelling alone I liked this factor because inside the hotel I knew I was safe (There were two very peaceful but big demonstrations on when I was there, far removed from the hotel) Excellent Location.

Noise: Almost everyone in Santiago owns a dog! There are also many stray wild dogs around the city, they are not thin - everyone seems to love them, and feeds them! The front of the hotel overlooks the Andes Mountains and some private residences. Walking to the main street from the hotel you do see a dog behind most of the gates of each of the private residences. They don’t bark when you pass by though so you don’t hear anything from these! However, at the back of the hotel you’ll see there is a green (like a park) and then the Santiago zoo. There is no noise from the zoo, however you can see/hear from the central walkway of the hotel the dogs barking (only early evening) on the green. From my room (314) I could faintly hear them in the distance, with conversation and the television on low I couldn’t hear them at all. They didn’t bark at night or early morning. I am a light sleeper, I slept, this was not a problem.

After spending two nights/three days here I can tell you not to have very high expectations, afterall you get what you pay for. This place is certainly ‘budget’, it is a little better than a ‘motel’. If you come here with that in mind you won’t be disappointed. If long term travellers (4nights or more) then be prepared to invest in a few necessary items. On saying this though if you ask reception they may be able to assist, I was too tired to ask! No real supermarkets but many local mini marts nearby with different specialty items. For Short term stays I would also recommend it, although keep in mind it is basic compared to a 'hotel'.

Overall excellent customer service, great location, comfortable bed, spacious room and independent compared to a hotel. Not worth spending more than GBP45/USD85per night though! Happy Travels!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 314 (front of the hotel) if you'd like a sunny, quiet room with a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adventure1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Santiago is not an inexpensive city -- Bellavista Travel Suites is a great option for economical lodging....clean, located close to bars & restaurants, super friendly staff and free parking. Beds are new and very comfortable. Washer and dryer available in the building for a small fee. We stayed on the front of the building and had a great view of the Andes. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Madison_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good honest accommodation. As always things are never quite as flash as the photos but still comfortable and what we needed.
The highlight for us was the location for walking to great restaurants and bars. On the border of Bellavista and Providencia - the heartland of nice streets and good local dining. If you have been to BA it is very much like Palermo.
Dogs barking at night drove me mad but that may have been an isolated event. That could be lessened by asking for a roo that does not face the hills behind, that seemed to be where the dogs were.
Overall, I would definitely recommend as a good affordable base to visit Santiago. Taxis are cheap and plentiful.
Side note, Santiago was a great city. I think it is grossly underrated. It was a beautiful city. Like BA but less hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheriff1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at Norus Apartments Bellavista, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest:


Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate it.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at the Bellevista Travel suites for 4 nights.
PROS: Great location to lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. Fantastic large balcony over looking the mountain and city. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms cleaned, towels changed, dishes washed for you every day whether you want it or not.

CONS: Forget about sleeping, dogs howl and bark all night right beside the hotel, I counted 7 in the pack. Unfortunately you cant leave the doors or windows open for fresh air because of the noise. The air conditioner, which we had to leave on, also makes noise. Very annoying!

Our room had a kitchenette. There was no dish detergent for you to clean your own dishes, which I would prefer. No dish towel, no dish cloth. You only get one towel each, a hand towel and a bath mat. Speaking of the bath, I would call it a foot soak tub...it's very small.

If you ask for more towels, they ask for a towel in return...no extras for anyone.

There are no bathroom amenities like hair dryer or toiletries except a couple small sample packs of Head & Shoulders and a couple Ivory soap sample bars. The shower curtain was very moldy.

There was one hanger in the closet, we asked for more and got one more.

Forget about the free breakfast. It's a basket of nondescript 'food'. A couple of prepackaged extremely stale sandwiches, fruit cups, 'energy bars'. No ingredients or expiration dates on any of the food, so if you don't mind not knowing what you're eating, go for it!

The internet is not that great. We had to find alternate wireless.

If you take into account all the cons, and are prepared for them, it is a great location!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
La Fayette Suites Providencia
La Fayette Suites Providencia
#179 of 197 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
#94 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Time Suite
#58 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Sebastiana Suites
#53 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Norus Apartments Las Condes
#23 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Bellavista Apartments
#12 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norus Apartments Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norus Apartments Bellavista

Property: Norus Apartments Bellavista
Address: Capellan Abarzua 240, Providencia | Providencia, Santiago 7580645, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norus Apartments Bellavista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are located a 15-minute metro ride from Costanera Shopping Centre in Providencia. The city centre of Santiago is a 10-minute metro ride away. Arturo Merino Benitez Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Located in the cultural and commercial centre of the Bellavista area, only 320m from Salvador Metro Station, Norus Bellavista offers self-catering modern apartments with free WiFi access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Norus Apartments Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing