We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Insolente Hostel
Ranked #16 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hostel is better rated than what it had to offer. We took a private room with my boyfriend, it was very expensive (same price as any other 3 stars hotel in Santiago) the first room had a private bathroom but in the corridor just next to the reception and lounge area, not very good for privacy. And the second room we got was in an other building, it was like a small studio flat but it was dirty, the toilet wasnt clean nor was the kitchenette. We therefore left the next morning, as it is one thing to stay in a hostel and pay hostel prices, but when you are paying the same as any other hotel you expect a bit more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

excuse me but we are a 3 stars hostel in santiago, sorry to correct you, in the other hand just to let you know, the private rooms have a private bathroom next door only, there is another option of private ensuite to book if you want the bathroom inside. and the building in front you are talking about is our brand new apartments even better than our privates, mmm too bad you had a bad experience with us is not something usual, i guess you just had a bad day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

A really great hostel - care has been taken to create space to meet other travellers, with a TV and lounge area, outside courtyard with bar and a big kitchen by hostel standards. The staff are very friendly, the beds comfy with individual reading lights and two plug sockets for each bed. Lockers are big enough to fit your backpack and the breakfast is above average. Funky decor and on cold evenings the heaters are on to keep things warm (not something I've exprienced elsewhere in Chile).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellepasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

yeah I like funky and fab
thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice, nice people, good prices and good breakfest! I will recomend it to all my friends for shure! They have their own lan house so you dont need to bring your notebook, there is a good wifi connection for free and they got a bar full of good beer! Princesa Insolente is awsome Chile is great! Great time!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

yeah lucas! violeta´s bar got the best beers! lucas is awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my last stop in South America and I definitely saved one of the best until last. Beautiful hostel that had all your home comforts and an awesome free breakfast. In a nice area, the subway is just a 5 minute walk and there are lots of quirky theme bars and restaurants nearby. The moving el museo de la memoria y derechos humanos is just a 10/15 minute walk away too. The staff were really helpful in outlining the numerous ways and cheapest options to get to the airport. Will definitely stay again if I'm ever in that neck of the woods again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

woououuuouou!! we like your review!! you just make us the day!!! :) saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hostel was awesome , the staff were so helpful explaining the public transport Etc . The beds were massive and comfy and away from the social areas so nice and quiet . They have big lockers your entire bag fits into.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly434434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

You got the spirit! Thank you for your good vibes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Extended my stay nearly every other day and finally left after nearly two weeks. I felt really welcome and home - also when I woke up the night receptionist at 3.00 a.m. coming home from dancing. In every sense it is a very convenient place for exploring Santiago.

Room Tip: Experienced the 6 bed mixed dorm which was quiet. I was only missing a bid of fresh air - the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The reason I am giving an "average" score is because the details on the Princesa Insolente website are seriously misleading.

My boyfriend and I decided to book private apartment as a bit of a treat, knowing that we would be camping during the next part of our travels. We had been recommended this hostel by friends who had stayed here and loved it, so decided to check it out online. The website clearly listed that the apartment buildings contained all sorts of great facilities like a gym, swimming pool and pool table. We thought this sounded fantastic and were looking forward to doing some exercise during our stay.

I emailed the hostel to confirm that the apartment was available and that we would be able to use the gym and pool, but didn't get a reply for over 24 hours so we had to book anyway. After we had secured the booking online, we got an email from the hostel saying that no, the apartment did not iclude these facilities.

When we arrived we mentioned that we were disappointed as the website made the apartment soind much better than it actually was. The guy working on reception was dismissive at first but after I showed him the website, he admitted that it was misleading and he could see my point. I wasn't very impressed by the way he handled the situation; we weren't kicking up a fuss or demanding a discount, just providing feedback on the website. However the receptionist immediately said that if we weren't happy, we would have to leave immediately - very unwelcoming considering we had just landed in Santiago after a 4am start and a long flight and just wanted a bed. His attitude led to us apologising for bringing it up so that he would show us to the apartment.

Despite lacking the advertised gym, pool, pool table etc, the apartment was quite nice with am awesome view, balcony, big cable tv, en suite bathroom and kitchenette. It could have been cleaner - we found several items belonging to someone else which had been left in drawers, and the cupboards, shelves and kitchen utensils were grubby.

The apartment is across the street from the main hostel, which actually has a lot going for it. Pretty, quirky decoration, clean, computer access and strong wifi, cosy communal areas and good breakfast - many positives which deserve a higher ratimg, but sadly let down by being blatantly misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesaInsolente, General Manager at Princesa Insolente Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

i´ve heard about your misunderstanding, the info at the moment of your arrival was old, our web site is new and the apartments are even more new so it wasn´t finished completely and the recepcionist in charge asked you if you wanted to stay or not because it was a diferent option of what you had in mind and sometimes people reacts diferently and choose to stay in a diferent room, anyway your trouble was about the extra facilities anyway sorry about that point but it is no misleading at all just web site in construction i would say

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 507 in Santiago
1,051 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 507 in Santiago
762 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 507 in Santiago
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#31 of 507 in Santiago
284 reviews
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#354 of 507 in Santiago
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Insolente Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Insolente Hostel

Address: Moneda 2350 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $11 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Princesa Insolente Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Spring! Come and relax in Santiago with the colorful Princesa Insolente Hostel! Our essence breaks out in a perfect atmosphere to chill out, to energize yourself, to meet different cultures and to make you comfortable as for touring, sleeping, reading, eating and even dancing! We do not charge extra tax for payments in pesos if you are not a chilean. Fresh and tasty breakfast included in private rooms, 10 cheap breakfast options for dorms. Quick laundry service. A great kitchen full equipped that you can use at any time. Free Wifi in common areas. Security cameras, 24 hours reception. Supermarket 3 blocks away. Subway 4 blocks away. Gay friendly! Real spring mattresses, all of them twin size. Our proper style together with the vibes of the crazy characters that have come along impregnating us, will make out of Chile and the hostel one of those great friends you met by chance, if it`s not the best experience of your life I would definitely say that you will remember us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princesa Insolente Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing