We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hostel, funny and helpful staff and cosy atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Insolente Hostel
Ranked #13 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Princesa Insolente Hostel in Santiago, Chile was probably the best hostel we've stayed at on our whole South America-trip! Already when you enter, you notice that this is not one of the common hostels one gets to know during one's trip. The whole building is very creatively furnished, decorated and in every corner you find bits and pieces that add to the hostel's character. The beds in the dorms are very big, each equipped with an own lamp, electric socket and a shelf, which you come to really appreciate after weeks off bumping your head on the bed above you when waking up. The internet there is super-fast and the kitchen is very well equipped. Also the breakfast is quite a feast, consisting of bread, jam, coffee, cereals and when you're fast, even fresh eggs (and fresh milk- which is not so common in hostels around there). There is also the option of participating in hostel-organised events like BBQs and stuff like that. What concerns the satff, it couldn't be better: a bunch of freindly, funny guys, never hesitating to help with any problem whatsoever. So generally it can be said that you're really missing out on a part of Santiago if you choose another place to stay than the Princesa Insolente Hostel! =)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 570 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

everything is just perfect for backpackers, who like a comfortable stay. Beds are very comfortable, everything is clean. They even thought about little details like installing "electrical sockets" near each bed. The Hostel has a nice and charming appearance, and the staff is also great!! very friendly. Mostly young people who do a great job to make you feel comfortable in Santiago.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaSuiza2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay!
The staff is very welcoming!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anderson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

P. insolente is a great hostel. The building is beautifull and the staff is very friendly. In fact the staff is the best! The locations is good and everything went well when in my stay. The only minor problem is that my room was a little hot... But ok.

Room Tip: Sirena is hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I choose this Hostel by good references that I found. All expectations confirmed and more.
Cool furniture, Top crew...It´s dificult to make check out!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helveciocunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I (now 60) are in some ways backpackers at heart though we aren't Party People and like a good night's sleep. This was our first port of call after a long, long flight from England, and we were very grateful for our quiet, comfortable double room on the front with a large separate bathroom that we had to ourselves. We stayed for three nights in late November, 2011.

The whole place is as neat and clean as can be, and generally peaceful. The common area that is out-of-doors (there is another, indoors) might create very unwelcome noise for those sleeping in the rooms off the balcony above, but we were not troubled from where we were.

The location of the hostel is very good: in an increasingly gentrified old part of town that's reasonably near to the centre for walking, and to various shops and restaurants.

The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans, etc., if you want to cook for yourself; and the things supplied for breakfast were ample (including fresh eggs you can cook to your own liking).

They have (as I recall) three computers, which is great, because fewer and fewer places nowadays have computers you can use--only WiFi. In future I suppose I'll have to get myself an iPad, like the rest of humanity (?).

Santiago is definitely worth two or three days. I heartily recommend:

(1) the free walking tours, about which you can get a brochure in the hostel lobby; and this tour (1A) winds up at the base of the funicular that is definitely worth taking to the top of the hill for the views over the city.

(2) the pre-Columbian museum, in the city centre, which has one of the most varied and staggeringly beautiful collections of pre-Columbian artifacts anywhere in the world.

(3) the hop-on/hop-off tour bus that makes a reasonably good way of seeing many parts of the city. One section of the city we didn't think we would enjoy seeing but did was the financial district (!?), which has some lovely buildings and good restaurants for lunch. A surprisingly good place to walk around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

When booking a hostel, the big things for me are cleanliness, secure lockers, a friendly staff, and ways to meet other travelers. I think they do a great job on all fronts. This was without a doubt the cleanest out of the 6 hostels I've stayed at in South America. They had large secure lockers in the room for each traveler, and additional secure personal lockers for when you're checked out, but haven't caught your flight yet. The staff is super friendly and made sure to answer any questions and be available. The hostel hosted a bbq, and it was a great way for everyone to meet each other. The only downside was Santiago doesn't have a lot to do, and I'd love to see the hostel develop a strong travel/events service to help people learn what to do/see and where to go.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 4 person room, which was a good size and also had a spare couch to relax on. It shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsams14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 538 in Santiago
1,095 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#14 of 538 in Santiago
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 538 in Santiago
277 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#6 of 538 in Santiago
784 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 538 in Santiago
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Insolente Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Insolente Hostel

Address: Moneda 2350 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $12 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Princesa Insolente Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Spring! Come and relax in Santiago with the colorful Princesa Insolente Hostel! Our essence breaks out in a perfect atmosphere to chill out, to energize yourself, to meet different cultures and to make you comfortable as for touring, sleeping, reading, eating and even dancing! We do not charge extra tax for payments in pesos if you are not a chilean. Fresh and tasty breakfast included in private rooms, 10 cheap breakfast options for dorms. Quick laundry service. A great kitchen full equipped that you can use at any time. Free Wifi in common areas. Security cameras, 24 hours reception. Supermarket 3 blocks away. Subway 4 blocks away. Gay friendly! Real spring mattresses, all of them twin size. Our proper style together with the vibes of the crazy characters that have come along impregnating us, will make out of Chile and the hostel one of those great friends you met by chance, if it`s not the best experience of your life I would definitely say that you will remember us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princesa Insolente Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing