We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and central”
Review of Chileapart.com

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chileapart.com
Ranked #81 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for my needs. The apartment is clean, quiet, well equipped. The seevice is excellent. WiFi working perfectly. Supermarket and laundry service available at ground floor and just in front of the building. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierPico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Mr Pierpico
Many thanks for your valuable comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Chileapart.com
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The reviews don't lie. Overall, Chileapart is central, clean and has friendly service. Over email I had asked for an apartment on a high floor that had a view and was happy to have my request accommodated. It is an affordable place to stay if you are going to be in Santiago for an extended period of time (more than 5 days).

Despite my overall positive review, as a business traveler, Chileapart in retrospect, was not the best choice. There is no restaurant or bar in the building. No room service. No laundry service. No business center. This is not necessarily a criticism of Chileapart, because the website is clear about what they offer, but I thought it was important to make this clear to fellow business travelers.

The one thing I was disappointed about was the quality of the gym, which should really not qualify as such with it's 3 antiquated bikes, 3 recumbent stair climbers, and one old weight machine. There is no treadmill, no elliptical machine, no free weights, no stretching mats. If you are hoping to exercise during your trip, this is not the place to do it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy Higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigAppleTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello friends from New York
Many thanks for your nice and complete review.
Yes we know some aspects of our service are basic. We think we are clear abou that: Basic service, but very good quality in what we do and the best price/quality relation.

Have a nice week.
Herman Quezada
Chileapart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What's most extraordinary about Chileapart is its convenient location: 10 minutes by walk from the Plaza de Armas within an easy walking distance of the main tourist attractions. The offer lodging in small, functional condo-type apartments with a small living room and fairly well-stocked kitchen. There is a supermarket next door, convenient for those wishing to buy the fixings for breakfast or dinner, or for topping-off a day of touring with a good bottle of Chilean Carmenere or Sauvignon Blanc. Email communications with the staff were fluid. However, my reservation for a parking space was NOT honored. We arrived late Saturday night, picked up a car at the airport, drove to the hotel, but the concierge did not have a record of the reservation. We left the car in the public lot around the corner only to find, Sunday morning, that the lot is closed on Sunday. Fortunately a guard was around and able to open the lot for us, but otherwise, the hotel staff's snafu may have caused us serious problems.
If you are looking for a more conventional hotel-like environment, this is not the place. But, the administrative glitch aside, we loved Chileapart and recommend it enthusiastically.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Mr Gonzo
Many thanks for your words and time and hope to see you soon !

Kindest regards
Herman Quezada
Chileapart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Chile Apart Hotel is at Merced 562, Santiago. Normally, it's not the sort of place I'd choose, but this was a business trip for nearly a fortnight on a tight budget, and I'd never sampled an Apart Hotel, so...

I was very pleasantly surprised. Effectively, what you get is a small studio about the size, and with about the facilities you'd expect, of a studio flat in a European ski resort. So a double bedroom with a sliding door to a small kitchen/breakfast area and a small lounge space, plus a bathroom off the bedroom.

Gas cooker, fridge-freezer, kettle, toaster, TV, the standard of cleanliness was high, the bed was comfy, the hot water copious, and the fridge positively Arctic, and what more do you need?

Be warned that (like many buildings in Chile) there's no central heating, and I was there in July, so the Chilean winter. The sole heating was a plug-in electric radiator in the bedroom, and the early mornings were decidedly chilly (no pun intended). But the duvet was warm and the place is really just intended as a cell for the night, so who cares?

There's a Lider supermarket next door, which keeps good opening hours, so you don't run short of provisions, and as it's in the Bellas Artes area of downtown, there are many small restaurants, cafes, eateries, take-aways and the like within five minutes' walk. Oh, and there's a laundry/dry cleaner opposite.

Would I go there again? If I was on a budget, yes, I would, I absolutely would. In fact, I'm sure I will. Bang in the centre of Santiago with everything you need, for about 500 dollars a week? Bargain.

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room well away from the lifts, which see constant use and attract a lot of c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiameseDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hello Mr SiameseDuke
Many, many thanks for such a complete review. You have condensed the key things of our service in your words. Our main objective is a nice place, out of luxuries but with the fundamental things and with a fair rate.

We look forward to receive you in the near future...

Kindest regards
Herman Quezada
Chileapart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The apartments are located in the very centre of Santiago and are great alternative to hotels. Nice design, close to a supermarket, great views from the roof but the customer service could be better. We asked for the location in a specific building (to avoid noise of the traffic) and we got a confirmation but in the end we were given a completely different apartment. Not a big deal, but it was not very professional.

Room Tip: The higher the better! Less noise and better views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yotku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Mr Yotku
First, many thanks for writing your opinnion. About the choice of apartment, we explain to every passenger that we cannot assure locations previously because of some periods of high demand and we need to arrange checkin and checkout dates for every booking. Nevertheless, when we can offer what a customer has asked previously, for sure we do it.

We Hope to receive you in the near future....
Warmest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days here when we were in Santiago. Chileapart was terrific in lots of ways. It's cheap, the apartments are spacious and reasonably well equipped (including a full kitchen), and it's in a pretty good central location, walkable to two metro lines. Our room was quiet for the most part, and there's a supermarket next door, which is awesome for saving money on meals. The staff were pretty friendly and answered all our questions about the rooms and the area, though their English was not perfect.

Cons: the apartment got pretty cool in the winter (as most buildings in the city do -- Santiaguinos don't seem to care much for insulation or central heat) and one of the two rooms we stayed in had no space heater; the Chileapart office is in a weird location that's a bit tricky to find, in just a regular apartment on the sixth floor, and you have to ring to get let in; and the office is not 24 hours as it would be in a proper hotel, which we found a bit inconvenient. Bring your reservation number with you when you arrive in case the apartment building doormen ask for it at the entrance.

On the whole, once you figure things out, it's really great, and we'd strongly recommend it to anyone staying a few days in Santiago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello Alex,
Many thanks for your nice review. About the issues you found, as you noticed after we are not a traditional hotel (but the whole experience in major cases is much better than a typical one). We are low cost oriented, and we focus in the important things to get a pleasant stay for our passengers. We could have 24 hour office, breakfast, free parking, free transfer from the aiport, etc.... but for sure the rate would be twice the current ones.

Have a very nice week
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Chileapart twice, for 2 days, 4 days in all. The first time when we reached Santiago to start our Round the World trip and the 2nd time during transition break between
Easter Island and Patagonia.

I do recommend staying at Chileapart for budget reasons and decent location.

Pros:
- The apartments are clean and well maintained.
- Kitchen is spacious and well equipped with essential utensils and plates, cups, spoons, etc.
- Building C Apartments are more modern and trendier as compared to Building A
- Local Grocery (Lider) is next door
- Close to many restaurants and Cafes.
- Close to most of the main attractions and the Metro and Bus Stops.
- At least one person at the office speaks decent English which is helpful to get information about directions, Bus and Metro.

Cons:
- The check in process was weird and long. We reached the Apartments and spoke to the Guard at the front entrance and he called in the Office in building A on the 6th floor. Asked us to wait on one of the Benches. We just hung out there for about 20 minutes or so, not sure about what was happening. When another couple showed up who spoke Spanish the guard let us go in the building, which was a bit weird. We had all the paper work and our passports, still he kept us waiting, still not sure why?
- Very sticky about the check in time. We got to the apartments early in the morning and were told the check in time is 2 PM. We went out to grab a bite and got back at 1:45 PM, when we asked if we can check in few (15 minutes) early, we were told it is not possible. There was no apparent reason to make us wait other than the guy just wanted to make us wait till it was 2 PM sharp, which was a bit unpleasant.
- Not very helpful information about the Touristic things to do from the Office staff.
- Building ‘A’ apartments are noisy during late night hours and early morning Garbage pickup trucks.
- We were to leave early in the morning from Santiago and needed a cab to go to the Airport. We called the Office to ask if they can help. The guy quoted us twice the money than a usual taxi, but we still wanted to consider it since it was late in the night and we didn’t want to take a chance. Asked him if we could call him in 5 minutes or so, he wasn’t too keen. When we called to confirm, he didn’t pick up. So, we finally ended up making alternative (and cheaper) taxi arrangements. The next morning we got a call from the Front door about the Chileapart taxi is here, which was very weird. The Office staff needs to be more Customer friendly and forthcoming to help out.

I took away one star for awkward Customer Service. Really need to improve on the Customer facing staff. Some in the office are extremely pleasant and helpful and some don't even want to talk to the Customer, needs some improving.

Room Tip: Try and request an apartment in Building C, less noisy at night and early morning. More modern and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello friends from Austin,
Many thanks for your complete review. It seems your overall experience was good. About the customer service orientation, maybe one person non-fluent in english spoke with you and the experience was not good. In general, we receive very good comments about our customer service.
About the checkin time at 14.00, yes we are very strict with that and the reason is very simple: we are also very strict with quality control of room cleaning. Between 13.00 and 14.00 our staff make quality control of every room which has checkin the same day. We cannot authorize a checkin without the quality control approved.

We hope to have been clear and looking forward to receive you in the near future.

Kindest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#113 of 202 in Santiago
611 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 202 in Santiago
485 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#15 of 202 in Santiago
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paris Londres
#145 of 202 in Santiago
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chileapart.com? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chileapart.com

Address: Merced 562, 819-A, Santiago 8320148, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $47 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chileapart.com 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Chileapart.com reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing