We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option to stay in Santiago”
Review of Chileapart.com

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chileapart.com
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The apartments are located in the very centre of Santiago and are great alternative to hotels. Nice design, close to a supermarket, great views from the roof but the customer service could be better. We asked for the location in a specific building (to avoid noise of the traffic) and we got a confirmation but in the end we were given a completely different apartment. Not a big deal, but it was not very professional.

Room Tip: The higher the better! Less noise and better views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yotku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Mr Yotku
First, many thanks for writing your opinnion. About the choice of apartment, we explain to every passenger that we cannot assure locations previously because of some periods of high demand and we need to arrange checkin and checkout dates for every booking. Nevertheless, when we can offer what a customer has asked previously, for sure we do it.

We Hope to receive you in the near future....
Warmest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Chileapart.com
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 466 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days here when we were in Santiago. Chileapart was terrific in lots of ways. It's cheap, the apartments are spacious and reasonably well equipped (including a full kitchen), and it's in a pretty good central location, walkable to two metro lines. Our room was quiet for the most part, and there's a supermarket next door, which is awesome for saving money on meals. The staff were pretty friendly and answered all our questions about the rooms and the area, though their English was not perfect.

Cons: the apartment got pretty cool in the winter (as most buildings in the city do -- Santiaguinos don't seem to care much for insulation or central heat) and one of the two rooms we stayed in had no space heater; the Chileapart office is in a weird location that's a bit tricky to find, in just a regular apartment on the sixth floor, and you have to ring to get let in; and the office is not 24 hours as it would be in a proper hotel, which we found a bit inconvenient. Bring your reservation number with you when you arrive in case the apartment building doormen ask for it at the entrance.

On the whole, once you figure things out, it's really great, and we'd strongly recommend it to anyone staying a few days in Santiago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello Alex,
Many thanks for your nice review. About the issues you found, as you noticed after we are not a traditional hotel (but the whole experience in major cases is much better than a typical one). We are low cost oriented, and we focus in the important things to get a pleasant stay for our passengers. We could have 24 hour office, breakfast, free parking, free transfer from the aiport, etc.... but for sure the rate would be twice the current ones.

Have a very nice week
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Chileapart twice, for 2 days, 4 days in all. The first time when we reached Santiago to start our Round the World trip and the 2nd time during transition break between
Easter Island and Patagonia.

I do recommend staying at Chileapart for budget reasons and decent location.

Pros:
- The apartments are clean and well maintained.
- Kitchen is spacious and well equipped with essential utensils and plates, cups, spoons, etc.
- Building C Apartments are more modern and trendier as compared to Building A
- Local Grocery (Lider) is next door
- Close to many restaurants and Cafes.
- Close to most of the main attractions and the Metro and Bus Stops.
- At least one person at the office speaks decent English which is helpful to get information about directions, Bus and Metro.

Cons:
- The check in process was weird and long. We reached the Apartments and spoke to the Guard at the front entrance and he called in the Office in building A on the 6th floor. Asked us to wait on one of the Benches. We just hung out there for about 20 minutes or so, not sure about what was happening. When another couple showed up who spoke Spanish the guard let us go in the building, which was a bit weird. We had all the paper work and our passports, still he kept us waiting, still not sure why?
- Very sticky about the check in time. We got to the apartments early in the morning and were told the check in time is 2 PM. We went out to grab a bite and got back at 1:45 PM, when we asked if we can check in few (15 minutes) early, we were told it is not possible. There was no apparent reason to make us wait other than the guy just wanted to make us wait till it was 2 PM sharp, which was a bit unpleasant.
- Not very helpful information about the Touristic things to do from the Office staff.
- Building ‘A’ apartments are noisy during late night hours and early morning Garbage pickup trucks.
- We were to leave early in the morning from Santiago and needed a cab to go to the Airport. We called the Office to ask if they can help. The guy quoted us twice the money than a usual taxi, but we still wanted to consider it since it was late in the night and we didn’t want to take a chance. Asked him if we could call him in 5 minutes or so, he wasn’t too keen. When we called to confirm, he didn’t pick up. So, we finally ended up making alternative (and cheaper) taxi arrangements. The next morning we got a call from the Front door about the Chileapart taxi is here, which was very weird. The Office staff needs to be more Customer friendly and forthcoming to help out.

I took away one star for awkward Customer Service. Really need to improve on the Customer facing staff. Some in the office are extremely pleasant and helpful and some don't even want to talk to the Customer, needs some improving.

Room Tip: Try and request an apartment in Building C, less noisy at night and early morning. More modern and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello friends from Austin,
Many thanks for your complete review. It seems your overall experience was good. About the customer service orientation, maybe one person non-fluent in english spoke with you and the experience was not good. In general, we receive very good comments about our customer service.
About the checkin time at 14.00, yes we are very strict with that and the reason is very simple: we are also very strict with quality control of room cleaning. Between 13.00 and 14.00 our staff make quality control of every room which has checkin the same day. We cannot authorize a checkin without the quality control approved.

We hope to have been clear and looking forward to receive you in the near future.

Kindest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's very well located, right in the middle of Santiago with good accommodations, despite of kind of old. It needs a better trained person to attend the guests at the arrival.
I had paid for the parking in advance but when we reach the hotel, it was no reception and just a door's-man of the building who have our reservations and key to enter the room. He said very roughly that we doesn't had parking, despite of my booking reservation saying otherwise and we had to find a public parking in the middle of an unknown big city (for us) to park the car. It was very stressful, and we had to walk three blocks with all our luggage (there is not a single place to park in front of the building, even for a moment).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello Mr Fernando

We have read your valuable opinnion and we are really disappointed about that.
If you have not noticed before, the personnel at the first floor is security people from the building, they do not work for Chileapart. We know your experience was not good about parking, but please consider the purpose of this surveys is to evaluate your experience with the hotel, not with other providers or people.
Kindly let us know if is possible for you to reconsider your punctuation based on our services (our personnel, our attention in the office, our apartments, the cleaning, the location, etc.). That would be more fair and objective.
Please feel free to book with us in your next stay and to obtain a very good discount as a compensation.

Warmest regards.
Herman Quezada
Chileapart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great apartment n the centre of the city, perfect for all the sites. We walked everywhere from here. Fully equipped kitchen and a supermarket next door was great. You are in a block with residents which is fine. There is a laundry on site and great views from the roof terrace.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can and ask for street views rather than internal views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pau995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello friends of Plymouth !
We want to thank you also for your review. And we would be very pleased to receive you in ypur next visit to Santiago. Please feel free to tell your friends or family to booki with us and to get always a good promotion.

Kindest regards
Herman Quezada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff made our stay at the central and accessible Chileapart the ideal way to pass a few days in Santiago, We stayed twice, once when we arrived then for a few days in the middle of our trip.

The apartments we stayed in were pretty much perfect: a large double bed with an ensuite bathroom, a decent kitchen and living area with full length windows. One room had a wee balcony. You can't choose your neighbours but we didn't hear a peep on any of our six nights.

If you're lucky enough to deal with Luis on your stay, he's a treasure. Nothing was too much trouble and he's as friendly as anyone you'll meet.

breakfast and a decent coffee are just a 2 minute walk from the front door, and there's a supermarket right next door.

Apartments are in secured residential blocks. Make sure you have your passport ready to show security on arrival. They'll phone the office and someone will come down and collect you.

Room Tip: the higher the better for views and to reduce any traffic noise, which wasn't noticeable anyway
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diggums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chileapart, General Manager at Chileapart.com, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello friends,
We are very pleased with your comments. Yes our staff is pleasant and they enjoy their work, it is part of our idea of service !.

Have a very nice day

Warm regards
Herman Quezada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We found out about this place through word of mouth. I recommended it to my son who travelled to Santiago last December, and he liked it, thus, we booked it too on-line and by phone. Centrally located , we could walk everywhere, lots of cafés & restaurants in the Bellas Artes area.
The apt we got was very small, but, it had everything we needed.
Very efficient staff, we had booked a transfer from the airport with them & Marco was right there waiting for us.
We had to wait until 2 p.m. to check in, it was noon, so,we dropped off our luggage and went for a bite to eat.
The building is big & solid, with good security at the main entrance & wheelchair access.
They offer cleaning services, laundry & internet.
WI-FI is free, laundry service is reasonable priced & fast. Same day service.
They jump to serve you. I had a problem setting the safe & Luis came right away to help me.
The door to the apt. is keyless, it opens by pressing a code and it locks behind you.
A very good alternative to the more expensive hotels.
There is a big supermarket next door, where we bought supplies to cook mainly breakfast in the small kitchen.
Because we booked the place for two separate stays, they gave us a 10% discount as a repeat costumer.
Very clean place, they pride themselves offering you a spotless place.
Next time we visit Santiago, we'll definitely stay here again. Thank you Herman, Lya, Luis, Claudia, Marco & Gustavo. Til next time..

Room Tip: Away from main street (Merced), as the night traffic gets quite loud.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nonnita02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#115 of 202 in Santiago
611 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 202 in Santiago
485 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#15 of 202 in Santiago
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paris Londres
#146 of 202 in Santiago
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chileapart.com? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chileapart.com

Address: Merced 562, 819-A, Santiago 8320148, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $47 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chileapart.com 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Chileapart.com reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing