We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A positive experience”
Review of Gen Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gen Rooms
Ranked #93 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A positive experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I read all comments however, I gave the hotel a chance to show me the real thing. Please, understand this is a very typical medium class hotel in a Hispanic country (being Hispanic myself, I know these things well). Usually north Americans / Canadians / Europeans have higher expectations.
but I have to say it, my experience was very positive. yes, location is a bit noisy, particularly at night. You are located in downtown, this is not ocean view Bahamas style, ok? You are very, very close to all the historical places without being right inside of it. Keep in mind the hotel isnt surrounded by magical landscape, it is a latin american capital city, where hospitals and universities, and hotels and markets all are mixed in a typical disorganized hispanic city. safety? of course is safe with caution. It is a capital, not your small north American town ( and I live in Canada, I can tell).
Room was very clean, room service never was a problem, I left money on the table, never lost a penny. Internet was quite awesome, in fact I was able to Skype with video with family and friends.
I am sure, there are some things that need improvements. Maybe kitchenette should be better equipped, and breakfast, although nice, could be improved.
But I have no complaints. The hotel was really full, and Chilean employees worked their best.
yes, I would recommend it. Plus, is someone had a particularly negative experience (it happens EVERYWHERE), he/she should contact the hotel instead of ranting right here.
Daniel from Canada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    245
    144
    62
    37
See reviews for
115
247
31
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I reviewed all of the bad reviews for Gen Suites. Everything said is true. Kitchenettes they say. Sure, but you have no cups, no plates, no silverware. That's right, not even a cup for water. The condition of this very small unit and the hotel, the food, the neighborhood... All of those comments were true. One thing to add, I was unable to arrive on the first day of my trip from Mendoza due to weather over the Andes. The hotel would not budge on their policy of no refund. I was told a Miss Catalina Nieto would talk to me about it when I arrived. I was treated with indifference by the desk. I asked to speak to Miss Nieto who was there, and furthermore told the staff she would be right down to talk to me. I waited an hour for her in the lobby. She never showed up. Stay Away!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bogotá
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I previously had stayed in the La Sebastiana Suites (not in the center) and the Crowne Hotel which is just a few minutes away from the Gen Suites.

Although I saw different ratings of the GEN - from a very poor up to a excellent - I decided to stay here and see what´s going on.
I boked the hotel through expedia and payed aprox. USD 86/night including breakfast and wifi.

Here are my experiences:
Check-in was not very quick - as I had made my reservations just 3 hours ago, it took them some time to find it.
Normal check in is at 3pm; I arrived at 2pm but was given a room "for courtesy" which was on the 12th floor.
The hotel was clean and nice - the room large and functional: a nice LED TV; a large doublebed, a kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave and utilty sink; plus a water-boiler for preparing some coffee.

I was very surprised - also about the nice and clean decoration.

Internet had some connectivity problems - which were solved after they finally updated the router´s firmware in my appartment.

The appartment also had a small balcony - the view was "regular and normal for downtown santiago". Don´t expect to see too much green when looking out of your window.

The hotel is located a 10 minute walk away from a metro station; and 5-8 minutes from a santa isabel and a Unimarc Supermarket where you find a good variety of "what´s needed".

On the 25th floor, you find an exercise room - and an outdoor pool. Unfortunately it´s autumn there and a bit to cold for the pool.
The exercise room is basic - not really inviting - but OK if you like to work out.
A point which is making the difference, if you compare it e.g. to the IBIS.

Breakfast is also included: the breakfast room was very small and the food very limited (selection of 2 fruits; some breads; yoghurt, milk, coffed and some artificially tasting juice).

There has been some building work going on - in June the hotel will open a new area.
Besides the workers using the lift, the construction work has not affected my stay there any way.

Comments about a "not so safe area" can´t be supported:
Keep in mind that Santiago is a capital - and as in every capital you should be a bit careful.
I walked out at night - no problem at all.

The only "problem" I had, was to find a restaurant at Sunday night at 10 pm, because everything in Santiago seemed to be closed!
I finally ended up at a McD which was about a 20 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Resuming: centrally located; nice; clean; with some nice features like exercise room, kitchen - and good value for your $$$.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was arranging lodging for 20+ people in this hotel so I was in permanent contact with the management staff. For doing business they were OK. Not too much of a hassle, but not proactive either. Once we got there, many people from my party encountered problems with their rooms ranging from already occupied rooms, to non-functioning TVs or ACs, to sharing a balcony with another room, to rooms without security safes, to restrooms with no fresh towels. Front desk staff (except for 2 guys) was not helpful at all or well prepared to handle a fully booked hotel. Also experienced problems with booking spa appointments, and during the two weeks we stayed there, the breakfast buffet never changed and it was basic and so-so.
Personally, I had to change rooms 3 times in 2 weeks. At some point, one of the rooms I stayed at had no security safe and guess what... yes, I was robbed. Granted I could have taken more precautions but I didn't leave my money on top of the nightstand either! When I found out I had been robbed $600 USD and some Chilean pesos, I reported it to the staff. They seemed very concerned and said it had never happened before and that they were going to investigate. They immediately offered to reimburse the money, but I suspect this was some sort of preferential treatment because I was bringing them business for more than USD $15K. After this ordeal and getting my money back, I changed rooms again and refrained from using maid and cleaning service until I checked out. Once I came back to the US I asked for the final bill and surprise! They were overcharging us for almost 5k. It took tens of emails back and forth until I announced that my organization's lawyer was going to start dealing with them because I could no longer handle such a technical issue (not my specialty). Apparently that was an effective deterrent because they immediately dropped the subject. Once I was sure the wire with the money was out, I notified them but never got a reply. In short, if you are going to stay at the hotel, make sure that your room has a safe and don't expect anything fancy. I am sure you can get better lodging for the same money in nearby areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great experience and highly recommended. The staff starting form the Reservation Center , The front desk, Housekeeping and the people who are charge of the food are extremely friendly, professional and helpful.We booked only for four days but we decide to stay there for 1 week and a half . A special thanks To Silvana, one of the ladies who is charge in the reservation department.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We paid 150 euros for a junior suite. When we arrived they gave a us a key, a metal key...that was suspicious, no new hotel works with metal keys. Well, when we entered to our room there were shoes, sandals and wet towels...yes, it was already occupied. We told this in the reception where the girl -very confident- says, your room is not occupied. ha! well, then we got another room. This room got stains all over, no toilet paper, no shampoo, one wine glass, one cup... the view...well, I got the pictures. This is not a good area...you´ ll see it on the pics.
Do not ever go to this hotel. I´m from Santiago, you can do much better. Listen to the guy who already wrote about the safety things.
The swimming pool was nice, but the glass separating it from the outside was really dirty so you can´t really see the city through it.
After all this we decided to leave the hotel and get our money back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaViajera2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

One of the cheapest apart-hotel we could find in Santiago, and the best one we could find.
Great staff. Beautifull room. And Beautiful view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Novapark
Novapark
#115 of 196 in Santiago
24 reviews
RQ Santiago
#46 of 196 in Santiago
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hotel Sommelier Express
Hotel Sommelier Express
#86 of 196 in Santiago
141 reviews
Providencia
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
Hotel Majestic
#102 of 196 in Santiago
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gen Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gen Rooms

Property: Gen Rooms
Address: Av Portugal 415, Santiago, Chile (Formerly Hotel Gen)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gen Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gen Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing