We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High value for our money”
Review of Landay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landay Hostel
Ranked #78 of 511 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Friendly, cozy and comfortable. We will definitely come back.They have also a good deal viwh taxis to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank gabriel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found ourselves in the neighbourhood during the Independence holiday, looking for a hostel that had been closed down. A friendly local pointed us to this hostel, which we were unsure about as there was no sign above the door. Turned out to be a great decision. Nice private room and the setting in an old mansion is unusual. Kitchen and bathrooms were spotless. Staff were friendly, and on hand when needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_and_Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I spent a week in this hostel, and the place is really cool! The staff is very helpful, the place is very clean, the kitchen is fine for making some food and it's a secure place. If I ever go to Santiago again, I'll stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_alvesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a three month trip around South America Landay Barcelo Hostel was an amazing breath of fresh air. It is a gorgeous little hostel that has been beautifully decorated. It's is very clean and well looked after and the beds are extremely comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and spotless. It's well located between two underground stations and only a couple of stops away from the central bus station. The staff were great, always accommodating and very helpful. I would recommend this hostel to everyone. It really was an amazing place to end our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I am a single woman (let's just say over 45). I always stay at hostels because I like the safety aspect of this type of accomodation. The location, just around the corner from Ave Brassil was perfect. I felt safe walking to the many eateries not 5 minutes away. The walk into Santiago central was 10 minutes. I booked a single room and it was perfect. So clean. Nice sheets and pillow, soft towels. The staff were friendly, informed, helpful and the 24 hour on site staff was terrific. Airport bus 5 minutes walk away. Great place.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Found this hostel by accident (there is no sign but a helpful shopkeeper pointed us in the right direction) and its a hidden gem. Set in an amazing old building with lovely stained glass windows, wooden floors and interesting features it feel more like an upmarket hotel than a hostel. We stayed in a dorm which had an en suite bathroom which was newly finished. The beds are huge and very comfortable and each bed has an individual locker for storage. There are plenty of comfy common areas including a lounge with an extensive DVD collection if you fancy a quiet night in and the kitchen, whilst a little on the small side, is the best equipped we have seen in South America.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoLuMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here for over a week at the end of a 8 month south american adventure.

The rooms were nice, we got a free upgrade to empty rooms from a dorm which was amazing.

The kitchen and common areas are good. The bathrooms were really nice and there were lots of them.

Its pretty well located to the tube and the airport bus, if you feel like a walk its not long in to central Santiago.

It was very hot when we were there and there was no AC and no fans so a little hot at night.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was best place away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#39 of 511 in Santiago
204 reviews
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#350 of 511 in Santiago
31 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#35 of 511 in Santiago
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 511 in Santiago
263 reviews
Chile Hostales
#68 of 511 in Santiago
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landay Hostel

Address: Erasmo Escala 2012 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340584, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 511 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landay Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landay Barcelo Hostel is in one of the best neighborhood of Santiago, its called Barrio Brasil "The historic district" The Hostel it just two blocks from Los Heroes metro station (the main metro line of the city).It also has the NEW Coffee Bar where you can enjoy the really good Marley Coffee, delicious Muffins and healty sandwich in the best place.Come in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Landay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing