We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, new and clean”
Review of H Rado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H Rado Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here twice, once in a triple room, once in a queen private bathroom. Both stays were good, the queen room was nicer but also on the street side. If noise is an issue possibly go for a room facing away from the street. Was fairly noisy until around midnight but you get that when staying so close to a bar and restaurant district.

The rooms were very clean and quite plush compared to other places we stayed. The only complaint would be that when someone was playing fusbal at 2am and jumping up and down while screaming at the top of his lungs, the staff on duty didn't tell him to be quiet.

Other than that the staff were very helpful in pointing out free guided walk tours and places to eat/drink. Also let us use their phone in an emergency. Wifi has faint signal in the rooms below upstairs common room.

Room Tip: If bothered by noise select a room facing away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 827 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well located, this hostel has all services and infrastructure a regular hotel could offer. Outstands by its location, at Bellavista, sorrounded by pubs and exciting nightlife. Near Cerro San Cristobal and just a few meters from Baquedano subway station. Good breakfast. Rates not so fair, though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armandoneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Extremelly well kept and perfectily designed. The rooms are good and at good price. Nice atmosphere and in the heart of everything in the famous Barrio Bellavista. Definately, this is the place to stay in the lovely Santiago!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was very surprised in a positive way with this hostel.
I booked it after reading the reviews here, in Trip Advisor, and couldn't be happier.
The room was very spacious, with a big single bed, very comfy, it had a very clean e illuminated bathroom (very rare in hostels) and a window to the street. Everyday the cleaning ladies would leave the room spotless.
The breakfast, was basic but pretty good. They have a lady serving it, which I found pretty impressive.
From the rooftop you can see the Cordilheira dos Andes, beautiful!
The location was perfect, just a few minutes away, close to Cerro San Cristobal and to loads of restaurants and bars.
I'd definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After trekking through Peru and Bolivia, H Rado was like the Ritz Carlton! Super cute boutique hostel in the heart of the Bohemian neighborhood in Santiago. It's super close to all the best restaurants, subway line, Neruda's house, and the funicular. The rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable (amazing bathrooms) and the community area on the fourth floor is awesome. It's a little expensive (compared w/ other parts of S. America), but Chile is just an expensive city. This definitely felt more like a hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandasNotRobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As other reviews state, this hostel is more like a hotel. You can book private rooms with private bathrooms and the entire facility is very clean and well-maintained. The roof has a wonderful terrace with both indoor and outdoor spaces. Additionally, there is a kitchen and breakfast (toast, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee) is provided each morning. Located very close to the main streets with bars and restaurants in Bellavista.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a really nice and clean hostel. We had a private room with private bathroom and were facing the street. Had no problems with noise and the room and bathroom were very clean! It was our first stop of our trip so was nice to have a really nice place for the first night but it was a bit more expensive than we would have wanted. It has a big kitchen and a really nice breakfast in the morning. It is more like a hotel though than a hostel and didnt really have the hostel backpacker vibe. When we were in the common area there was never really anyone there so maybe if your traveling alone and wanting to meet people this is probably not the place to stay. But all in all great place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anyaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#13 of 202 in Santiago
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
996 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 499 in Santiago
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H Rado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Rado Hostel

Address: Pio Nono 5 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 7530279, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $20 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — H Rado Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to provide our guests with Hotel quality design and infrastructure, and the relaxed environment and liberty to interact with other people that a Hostel encourages.We differentiate ourselves through quality service, infrastructure and professionalism.Our boutique hostel was fully built during 2011 to provide better design, spaces and infrastructure to satisfy the expectations of travellers looking for more. We're in the heart of Barrio Bellavista, just steps from some of the best restaurants, cultural centres and nightclubs in the country. Our private rooms are designed to feel like hotel rooms, while our common areas provide a comfortable space to interact with your friends or meet your fellow guests. The common areas include a 30m² kitchen, computer room, living room and great terraces. There's over 200m² of common space available!! We carefully selected the best furniture, decoration, safety equipment and lighting for this four-story building to provide comfort for our guests. Come discover Santiago from the finest boutique hostel around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your H Rado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing