We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodation”
Review of H Rado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H Rado Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Me and my friends visited Santiago in November 2012 and we chose this hostel. The building is in a good neighborhood, in front of an university and very close to Patio Bellavista. There are also some restaurants besides, such as Mexican food, Mc Donald's and others options. There is one subway station very close.

The accommodations is very clean and many famous singers pictures on the walls. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We went in four people and we stayed alone in a room. It's safer place.

There is a nice view on the last floor and it's possible to prepare barbecue to your friends. I recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Alle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 833 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Positives About Hostel:
+ Incredibly clean and well presented rooms with wardrobe, safe and cable TV.
+ Very good and regularly cleaned communal bathroom.
+ Relaxed common area with a huge kitchen (Including an oven!) with a great roof terrace too.
+ The area. Next to a range of fast food places for cheap food or Patio Bellavista is metres away and full of top-notch reasonably priced restaurants.
+ The whole finish of the place with pop-art touches. It is high quality and could be described as hotel with communal bathrooms.

Negatives About Hostel:
- No air-con in the rooms which can get warm (Fan provided though)
- Slightly officious lady serving breakfast had us waiting 20mins for a small plate of fruit while serving everyone else around us who came later.
- Wifi only available in common room.

Would I recommend to friends: I'd urge them to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a very nice hostel. It has a very modern style and is super clean and well maintained.
The location can't be beat really, excellent night life right at your door step! The downside of
this is some street noise but in a city this size, that's difficult to avoid. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The building is clean, modern, well decorated and in a great location. The staff is helpful and nice. The kitchen is well-apportioned and the rooms have large lockers and private bathrooms in addition to more public ones in the hall. The lounge is large and the rooftop is nice. What's not to love? My only complaint is that the bunks are a little rickety (although safe) and transfer any movement from the other person through the bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent the first night of our trip at this hostel, and it could not have been a better start. We got there too early so the room was not ready, but waiting for it on the roof top terrace was a pleasant experience in itself.

The room and bathroom we had was extremely clean and with a Marylin theme. There is pop art everywhere in the hostel, which gives it a special touch.

Breakfast was nice with fresh fruits, and the shared fridge was an added bonus.

The location in the Barrio Bellavista is perfect to go out, close to the metro and also handy to start a sightseeing tour. But as mentioned before, it can get really loud, especially from traffic, in the rooms facing the street.

All in all it was a great stay, would absolutely stay there again if I were to return to Santiago.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottery257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights from Dec 27th to Jan 1st. The hostal, as per its website, was renovated last year. It has a music and pop culture theme, with paintings of Kurt Kobain, the Beatles' iconic Abbey Road, etc. The rooms are clean and chic and the cleaning staff does a great job of keeping them that way. The rooms remain spotless with hospital corners on the bed.

The breakfasts are nice as well. Bread, jam, fruit, coffee. And there may have been yogurt(?) and the staff collects and cleans your dishes.

The top deck of the hotel looks out onto downtown on one wall, Bellavista on another, and San Cristobal on the last. Santiago is hot during the day, but a lovely breeze crosses the deck at night. Fellow travelers hang out with their Escudo bottles before going out in Bellavista. There is a pool table, nice furniture in the chill out room, ample fridge space and a beautiful kitchen for cooking. Saturdays they have a BBQ where someone comes in and makes magic with what I thought was a tenderloin along with a chilean tomato salad.

It is conveniently located near Bloqueado Metro stop, so you can be everywhere quickly. There is full service lavanderia on the next block and a bodega/grocery next to the metro stop called Los Alpes. And should you choose, you could easily take a nice stroll past the Fuente Alemana through the park to the Belles Artes Museum.

The owner popped in new years eve and was great to talk to. He is committed to his brand. This is perhaps the greatest hostal I have stayed in.

The only drawback is there is no aircon in any of the rooms, but then again, I found that to be the case throughout Chile. And a good news/bad news item: Hey! You are right on the cusp of the vibrant bar and restaurant scene of Bellavista!!!! But at 2AM and later, you are still on the cusp of the vibrant bar and restaurant scene of Bellavista. Some nights a 6 piece student chamber music group will gently carry you to sleep to the tune of Eine Kleine Glockspiel. And some nights a brazillian drum team will rock the house til the wee hours. Stay up and party or bring ear plugs. ; )

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElCaballoAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a really cool new hostel in a great location offering private rooms with bathrooms. Our room was really modern and clean. Could have done with air con but they gave us a fan, which was needed.

The public areas were really nice,especially the roof terrace which we used on relax and eat a few times. The view is beautiful. Receptionists were very helpful. Breakfast was fine.

Only downside is th noise, as you are right in the centre of the drinking/eating district it can get a bit noisy at night. Apart from that we loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#117 of 202 in Santiago
613 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 507 in Santiago
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 507 in Santiago
1,049 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 507 in Santiago
762 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 507 in Santiago
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H Rado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Rado Hostel

Address: Pio Nono 5 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 7530279, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $21 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — H Rado Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to provide our guests with Hotel quality design and infrastructure, and the relaxed environment and liberty to interact with other people that a Hostel encourages.We differentiate ourselves through quality service, infrastructure and professionalism.Our boutique hostel was fully built during 2011 to provide better design, spaces and infrastructure to satisfy the expectations of travellers looking for more. We're in the heart of Barrio Bellavista, just steps from some of the best restaurants, cultural centres and nightclubs in the country. Our private rooms are designed to feel like hotel rooms, while our common areas provide a comfortable space to interact with your friends or meet your fellow guests. The common areas include a 30m² kitchen, computer room, living room and great terraces. There's over 200m² of common space available!! We carefully selected the best furniture, decoration, safety equipment and lighting for this four-story building to provide comfort for our guests. Come discover Santiago from the finest boutique hostel around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your H Rado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing