We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Santiago Estacion Central
Ranked #71 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean, centrally located”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was a single traveler visiting Santiago just to tour the city. The Ibis Santiago Estacion Central is about as convenient as it gets. It's next to the central bus station, which connects to the airport and other cities, right at the Universidad de Santiago subway stop, and about 1 block away from a huge, modern American-looking shopping mall with a gigantic food court and supermarket. There are many internet cafes in the area, although the hotel has a couple of internet terminals in its lobby, also.

The hotel and room (number 716) themselves were very clean and sparse, similar to Scandinavian design. This is the way I like my hotel rooms, almost sterile, so I can see that it's clean. I only had one minor issue with my room in that it was winter, and even though I turned the heater up, it didn't make the room much warmer. I could have asked for help, but it really wasn't cold, just not warm.

Unlike other reviews, I found an English speaking person at the check-in desk, Jose, who hlped me with holding my bag before I checked in, and helping me schedule some tours. It is true that they don't all speak English, though. The hotels employ a mean, non-English speaking security person at the front door to deter people who don't have business with the hotel - probably necessary because of its location next to the bus station, but once you get past that, it's a good experience.

The only downside to this hotel is that the area next to bus stations is never beautiful in any city, and this is no exception. However, I never felt unsafe in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkaboutjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear
Thank you very much for your time and comments about your stay at Ibis Santiago Estación Central. Our guests’ opinions are very important in order to continue working on giving you the quality service you deserve. We are eager to have you as guests in the future.

Please feel free to contact me any time. We are at your disposal.
Juan Manuel Messina
General Manager
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    889
    554
    106
    56
See reviews for
419
827
225
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good hotel except for wifi which must be activated by code every 24 hrs. Close to fast food restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy, shopping mall, souvenir shops and it's very convenient to get a cab given that there's a taxi station behind the hotel. Staff is friendly. No fridge in the room :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear
We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your comments about your stay in our hotel. Every opinion is a great help to our daily work. It is also very useful to give the best service to our guests.

We wish to have the opportunity to receive you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Juan Manuel Messina
General Manager
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracatuba, SP
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hotel is very good, but the neighborhood is ugly and dirty.
The meals of the hotel is not so good too.
The subway is in the same block of the hotel, excellent!
The room was clean, nice, good mattress, nice air conditioner, but no fridge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Yagome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear:
Thank you very much for taking the time to express your pleasant experience in our hotel. It is always an incentive for the Ibis team Santiago Estacion Central to know our guests’ opinions. We wish to have the opportunity to receive you again in our hotel and make your stay a joyful experience.

We are at your disposal.

Kind regards
Juan Manuel Messina
General Manager
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After a long period of time being a loyal customer with Accor Hotels it seems to be that this might be the end of it.
The situation that pushes me to my decision will be described below;
During my stay in Chile to visit my children, I booked a room over the Internet at www.accorhotels.co.uk with my Silver membership Card No 3081032161810XXX. So far so good, but when we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that further evidence that my children are truly my kids, was demanded. Reason being under some kind of children’s welfare act, not a problem to comply with this new demand, which was not mentioned previously on your site. The main issue appears to be the lack of respect shown to your frequent customers, this being said mainly as a security staff was mumbling about my discomfort, I was able to realize and asked him about his thoughts, and his reply was unexpected, as it seems to be that he took it personal and replied back with abusive language and strong words back to me in Spanish.

Two images will remain with me each time that I see a IBIS Hotel;
The first one that relates to the poor quality of keeping your customers informed over policies that are imposed at last minute, that should be mentioned on your site and the second one that reflects a clear poor quality in your personnel selection, based on my own experience. Furthermore, please take into account that this situation was seen by my children.

I hope this letter reaches competent hands to be dealt with and resolve so that no further customers have to live this kind of discomfort.

Truly yours

Rodrigo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChileUK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear
Thank you for using our services and by collaborating with your comments, we will improve service - infrastructure.
First to all, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the situation experenced in our hotel. According to Chilean law, it is imperative to request documentation for all the people staying at the hotel. Because that, it is requested that documentation of your children at time of check-in. This is not only the execution of the request in the country, but it also is a measure for the safety of our passengers. I understand and apologize for the situation experienced in the hotel, as well as the ways in which the subject was treated by our security personnel. We will take appropriate action in the case, and we will continue with the training of our staff, so that situations how are you do not happen again.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Manuel Messina
Gerente general
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

WE liked that IBIS, due it good Location - close to the centrally Trainstation -and also other Publich Transport. Pretty new IBIS Hotel in Santiago and - although - pretty basic, it is good for few Days! Friendly Service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyerDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave here some details of your experience with us. I am really pleased to see that you have enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon then.

Kind regards,

Juan Manuel Messina
Gerente general
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

it is a clean and friendly hotel, just near the train station and thatwas very convenient, due we did made some tripsby train. all was very clean and staff was very friendly. staff also speak good english. nice andfresh breakfast service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDANDSUN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel M, Gerente at Ibis Santiago Estacion Central, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear
We would like to thank you very much for this positive comment following your stay in our hotel. Thank you for having highlighted the quality of our breakfast and our friendly staff. We would be delighted to have a chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Juan Manuel Messina
Gerente general
Ibis Santiago Estación Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#64 of 196 in Santiago
3,936 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#97 of 196 in Santiago
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RQ Santiago
#46 of 196 in Santiago
454 reviews
Hotel Dacarlo
#158 of 196 in Santiago
76 reviews
Hotel Paris Londres
#142 of 196 in Santiago
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Santiago Estacion Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Santiago Estacion Central

Property: Ibis Santiago Estacion Central
Address: Avenida Lib Bernardo O'Higgins 3780, Santiago 9160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Santiago Estacion Central 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ibis Santiago Estacion Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Santiago Estacion Central Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing