We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Intiwasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Intiwasi Hotel
Ranked #129 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

1.- My travel was in winter and the room has no heating at all, when I asked for a heater the answer was "It`s not that cold".
2.- They offer free Wi-fi internet connection but when I asked for it, it wasn´t working. (only the first day)
3.- It was hard to open/close the bathroom door and the free space available inside was lowered by a big boiler.
4.- There was a tv-cable connection but not a TV.
5.- Inside the closet I found garbage (plastic bags) and a used spoon.
6.- One night, during my stay, I arrived about 4 o`clock in the morning, and there was nobody to open the door, and when I tried to call the phone number published in the web page, it didn´t work. I have to wait about 10 minutes with my fiancee in the cold.

Considering the rate (U$ 58,00.- per night), not cheap at all, I feel I paid too much for a very poor service. I have stayed in better places, cheaper than this one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felipeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntiWasiSantiago, Propietario at Intiwasi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
We do our best to deliver a complete and pleasant service at our hostel, but if guests don't tell us if something is wrong and they leave saying all was perfect (like now), what can i expect from this? Almost all our passengers leave delighted and I understand that somebody doesn't, but these critics are fully exaggerated, unreal and drastic and it doesn't deserve so bad calification. Defaming like this isn't understandable because you seemed very good here, without problems during your stay. And we do care about how guests feel at the Hostel. A calification like this is serious and I'll take the time to answer and clarify it.

1. It wasn't actually cold, but if you would have asked for a heater I'd have given it to you. I asked you right in the next morning if you were cold but you said no, in a very nice mood. So, I don't understand the problem.

2. We did have an issue with VTR provider that night but it was solved straight away. Why to blame the Hostel for that?

3. Due to the earthquake many doors and frames went bad, we are sorry about it but it's now absolutely solved. I don't see it like a reason to complain about, was it really drastic?.

Yes, we have a boiler but what you say is untrue, there's still good space to move and the boiler doesn't even bother. Sorry about it, but the Hostels are like this, perhaps if you look for a really big Bathroom without boilers, the Hotels have high and better options that may suit you.

4. If you check my emails I never offered a room with TV cable, so under my discretion there's no valid reason to complain for a not given service. Even though we have now TV cable in rooms, we always offer it on our emails.

5. We're sorry about the plastic bags in the closet, first and last time it happens, our maid does a great work but she can mistake sometimes. Feels bad that you never told us about it until this critic, that would has been the best, so we clean inmediately. But under any circumstance it was gargage/rubbish, only some shopping bags and a spoon left hidden.

6. Just one day ago (back then) we changed our telephone number, unfortunately our web page remained with the old number only for the night you saw it, was bad luck, we are sorry about it anyway. I wonder why you phoned instead of ringing the bell, as it rang, I opened the door for you, It's untrue that there was nobody to open the door, you draw a very drastic and exaggerated situation.

Our rates are really affordable for our location, in the best neighborhood of Providencia, not expensive at all if you compare with Aparts and Hotels around, we offer a great value rate / quality, even for a Hostel standard. Santiago Downtown or Brazil neighborhood offer lower prices, you might try over there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
18
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Maria Angola
#118 of 200 in Santiago
71 reviews
WE Hotel
#97 of 200 in Santiago
91 reviews
Presidente Hotel Santiago
#98 of 200 in Santiago
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nippon Hotel
#108 of 200 in Santiago
169 reviews
Oporto Boutique Hotel
#128 of 200 in Santiago
203 reviews
Providencia
Los Espanoles Hotel
Los Espanoles Hotel
#89 of 200 in Santiago
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intiwasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intiwasi Hotel

Property: Intiwasi Hotel
Address: Josue Smith Solar 380, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Intiwasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old house from the forties transformed into a cozy and homey hotel, central location in Providencia one step away from the Metro system and a wide range of services. We offer a design Boutique Hotel inspired by native and natural elements, modern spaces and premises, equipped rooms with good standard to satisfy your rest and stay. Enjoy of an exquisite coffee in our terraces and garden or take a delight in the elaborated and special menu by the restaurant, where you will taste the best regional ingredients accompanied by an original presentation. We award you the most essential and dedicated services along with a personalized attention. We look forward to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Intiwasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing