We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty average”
Review of California Cantina

California Cantina
Ranked #230 of 4,573 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: CALIFORNIA CANTINA * Happy Hour 7 Days a Week * Seasonally Changing Menu: Appetizer, Flatbread Pizzas, Salads, Mexican Burritos, Tacos & Quesadillas, Best Burgers's South of The Equator * Open For Lunch (Saturday - Sunday) * Most Beers on Tap in Santiago, Unique Cocktails, Mocktails & Mojitos, Chilean Wines * Broadcasting All Sports - NAT'L & INTL * Different Ambiences, OutdorrSeating on The 1st & 2nd Floor Patios* Live Music & Dj's * Our Goal is To Consistently Offer a Comfortably Familiar Dining Experience, Combined with excellent Food and Service.
LagosdelSol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“pretty average”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was excited to get a taste of home, and eat a big juicy burger with bacon, chow some fries, maybe even dunk that shiz in some ranch dressing...but I was let down.

My burger was dry and our fries were cold. I really wouldn't have minded just because I was feeding the need, but the prices were just too high. Sure, this is Providencia, so a premium willl be paid, but the quality needs to match.

Lots of gringos, mostly english being spoken. Take that as you will.....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LagosdelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    126
    73
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub-grub”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The best burger in chile with a fun and lively atmosphere. Nice selection of beers on tap and international sports on TV. A nice place to check out when a beer and a burger is the only way to ease the gringo homesick blues

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trole_Bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good portions, good drinks, good prices”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I hung out here a bit while I stayed in Santiago and found it to be a great place for very good portions of food and very tasty drinks at reasonable prices. The bar staff are a mix of very friendly and not so friendly, but you can make friends here easily.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Taste of Home in the Southern Cone”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Fun bar, much like an American chain restaurant. Interesting mix of expats, travelers, and business people pack the bar every night, and great place to watch American sports!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank estudiantensantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finally - American food!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We really enjoyed ourselves here. After several months of eating Chilean food, we were craving hamburgers and burritos. This place is kind of an upscale chain restaurant, but it was exactly what we were looking for at the time.

Environment is loud and within visible sight at all times there is a television. I didn't realize how busy this place was until we came there with friends on a Sat. night and the place was so packed we went somewhere else. Not to mention, after 11 (? maybe 10?), they stop serving full menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShololoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Cantina also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to California Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing