We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel
Ranked #47 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
601 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had read many reviews about this hotel, so I think our expectations were well-established by the time we arrived. This included knowing that our room would most likely be small, which it was. It was up against the kitchen downstairs, and we managed to cram both of our 3 weeks’ worth of luggage at the foot of the bed. To get to the other side, all we had to do was bounce over it, no biggie. The wardrobe did come with a small safe. Our bathroom received natural lighting, and everything was just very clean with little details taken care of.

Our arrival was early in the morning, so we weren’t allowed to check-in just yet. However, the front desk guy welcomed us to store our luggage in the closet by his desk and use the guest bathroom before showing us where to walk around the city via a small map. The location is great- just a short walk from the mainstreet of Providencia, and the hotel is surrounded by some great eats (hit up Aqui Esta Coco for some great seafood!).

Loved the dining area and the patio – very cute! Two mornings of breakfast here were decent with lots of fruit and carb options (toasts, muffins, crepes, pastries), and it certainly kept us fueled on our long walks through Santiago (10 miles the first day, 13 miles the second) before lunch.

The staff was overall very friendly. The daytime employees had very good English. However, we had to checkout at 4AM and have a driver bring us to the airport, and the girl that morning didn’t speak or understand a bit of English. My Spanish that early in the morning wasn’t working very well, but she was very sympathetic and helpful, and somehow we managed to communicate.

The only surprise negative was the weak/spotty WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    158
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
289
101
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A little refuge from the heat, hustle and bustle of the city. We found the room downstairs near the kitchen/courtyard to be very comfortable. Best of all was the reception that assisted us with special needs eg needed to phone our hotel in Mendoza re arrival which was done in perfect Spanish at reception. Also needed to print reciprocity fee receipts for Argentina which they did for us. The courtyard is a lovely area to sit and read. Excellent breakfast & great place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien53606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent one night here in transit to Patagonia. The staff were very helpful and friendly, answer our many questions about packing a full day of sight-seeing around town. The room was clean. The street was fairly quiet, at least in the evening. Breakfast was standard (meats, cheeses, yoghert, cereal, fruit), but with better-than-average items. The room was clean, and the shared areas were also very clean. Metro is less than five minutes away, making access to downtown Santiago easy. Two good restaurant less than two blocks away. Trip from airport a bit pricey (about $40). Would recommend, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Meridiano Sur is a very pretty, very clean and very friendly hotel. The breakfast is also excellent, it should be noted. There is a buffet selection of all the basics, plus decent brewed coffee (quite a rarity in Chile!) and the cooks also seem to cook waffles and/or pancakes on request, though this isn't advertised.
The rooms (we were in two, one each per night, due to availability) were very nice - light, clean and perfect for a quiet stay. The two main hotel staff that we had the pleasure of helping us were named Mario and Angelo, both of whom were fantastic, keen to help in any way and their English was very good. Their help was exemplified by their repeated (and often proactive) calls to the LAN airline lost bag helpline, to try and trace my girlfriend's lost luggage. They were also very helpful in suggesting day trips and places to go eat etc.
The hotel isn't in the centre of Santiago, it is a 20 or 30 minute walk out of the main part of town. It is however very near a Metro stop and taxis are also cheap and reliable so this shouldn't put you off. In fact, it is near a different part of town which is nice and has its own restaurants etc and is also a bit calmer and less like the way that city centres can sometimes be. All in all, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I truly enjoy this hotel. Despite the small size of the room (which I did not mind), a very clean, safe and quiet hotel with a home feeling to it. Staff is very reliable and always glad to help. Easy metro access. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in Providencia (5-10 minute walk to Manuel Montt metro station - Santiago's metro is excellent and will take you to most places of interest around town). Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are somewhat small (even though we booked one of the largest rooms). Breakfast is served until 10am which was a little bit early for us but it is sufficient and varied. Rooms and common areas are kept in immaculate condition. Excellent value in Santiago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_R554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms are very small, but they warn you about this. Still, my room was very clean and had everything I needed. Staff were very friendly and helpful - willing to make dinner reservations and provided great advice. The continental breakfast was very good (try their crepes!) and it is a great location. Wifi is a bit spotty, but free, and you only need to move into a common area if it doesn't work in your room. Nice patio with shade for hot days. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Orly
#26 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#14 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 196 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#4 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel

Property: Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel
Address: Santa Beatriz 256, Santiago 10000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel, is a city hotel, with "chilean identity" that has a friendly, peaceful and non invasive atmosphere.The best location in Santiago's heart, near to the main city attractions and steps from renowned restaurants, pubs, ice cream stores, shopping stores, etc. Located in the Providencia neighborhood, 10 minutes from downtown Santiago and the bohemian Bellavista neighborhood.Friendly staff, always willing to guide our guests in their tourist matters.It is always a pleasure to welcome the guests and make your stay a pleasant experience in our hotel and city.The hotel has 9 rooms:•Six double rooms and two singles. They are not very spacious but have all the facilities needed to give you a pleasant stay.•A spacious room, bright and family, located at the top of the hotel, for up to four people.•All rooms with private bathroom, heating, air conditioning, safety deposit box (notebook size), satellital TV and landphone. Hotel with Wi-Fi signal.•The rate includes a delicious, healthy and abundant breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Meridiano Sur, Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing