We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible, horrible, horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Lucia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Lucia Suites
Ranked #184 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“horrible, horrible, horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

this place had some good reviews and looked good on their website -- the pictures are deceiving and we don't know what those good review writers were thinking. this was by far one of the worst places we have stayed at during our eight month trip in south america. the staff are friendly for the first two minutes upon arrival. thereafter, you are only met with sour faces and blank stares. the staff themselves take over the common room (with their friends over) as well as the kitchen and meet you with disapproval should you try to share the oven or counter space. the breakfast is not worth waking up for. the rooms are awful, sterile, the cheap white walls have plaster so sharp it grazes your skin and tears your bags if they lean up against it. the sheets feel unwashed and should you pay more for a private bathroom, the tiny step-in-sideways box is never cleaned anyway so you have to either put up with the stench of a toilet-paper filled waste basket for however long you are staying or throw it out yourself. surprising, as the online site promises bathrooms that are cleaned five times a day and even once during the night. not so! the only saving grace is the rooftop, but even up there, the promised grill is not working and pushed off to the corner. there's one good thing about this hostel and that is the location. so you'd be better off looking for a place around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aaaaahh_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
21
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

After booking through hostel bookers and reading about this hostel in the lonely planet we were looking forward to staying here, however we were very disappointed!
Our expensive private room had the dirtiest bathroom- the bath plug was so full of hair the water would not even drain! No natural light in the room and very basic- just a bed. The hostal is in a great location, but the staff are no help with advice of were to go out around the hostel, we worked it out on our own! Strange vibe in the hostel, only stayed one night- there are much better places to stay in Santiago!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecIAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Fantastic people, staff just outstanding, location couln'd be better, between La moneda and augustinas street, literally across the road you are in cerro Santa Lucia, the base line of Santiago! the bulding is old, and rooms are simple, but the staff makes the difference, Catalina were just fantastic, thats why i keep saying that a company is made of people!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

We arrived at Santa Lucia Hostal directly after our flight from New Zealand. It is the perfect place to relax and recover from the jetleg. Especially the matrasses in the rooms are wonderful. You normally do not expect this kind of quallity in an hostel. The staff and the owner are very friendly and helpfull. Lots of good suggestions for travelling in Chile and sightseeing in Santiago. We definedly will return here after our trip to Easter Island!

Kind regards,
Rindert & Nella from the Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Home_sweet_Home3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Hostal Santa Lucia, a few blocks from the very center of the city, represents a good, friendly and cheap accomodation, above all for travellers on a budget like me! It is clean, the shared bathroom facilities too, the common areas (kitchen and living) are comfy and welcoming. The hostel is not very wide, but it has a nice terrace on the roof looking, on one side, to the beautiful Cerro Santa Lucia, while on the other side office workers frkom the tall buildings of the city center can stare at you in envy while you are enjoying a nice relaxing afternoon, some beers, a BBQ maybe, etc!!!
Brekkie is included in the price and free internet available.
The staff is definitely very helpful and friendly (mi casa es tu casa style!), English spoken too and plenty of info about the capital.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

This hostel was centrally located! Close to a buatiful park, bars, and downtown. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean, a there was a delious breakfest for my favorite price; Free! The prices were very reasonable for the area. I would defiently go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rankj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#115 of 197 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Santa Lucia
Foresta
Foresta
#116 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 470 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Apart Hotel Agustinas Plaza
Apart Hotel Agustinas Plaza
#41 of 153 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
SR Propiedades
#194 of 470 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Lucia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Lucia Suites

Property: Hostel Lucia Suites
Address: Santa Lucia 168, Santiago 8320222, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santa Lucia, offers the best location at downtown Santiago, in front of Santa Lucia´s Hill and 1 block from metro station Santa Lucia. We are known for having the best mattresses of the city in a cozy ambiance. Our bilingual workers helps everyone making their trips. Also we have roof top terrace with wonderful view & BBQ, breakfast is included, free internet, Wifi and the most helpful workers. Try it - you won't regret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostel Lucia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing