We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a nice place to stay”
Review of Ventana Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ventana Sur Hostel
Ranked #36 of 511 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. The owner Ivan welcomed us very warmingly at our arrival despite the time (we arrived quite late in the night because of flight delay) and give us sime very useful tips on the city, what to do and what to see.
We had a nice and clean room next to the pool with a bathroom ensuite. The breakfast is available till late. It is definitely a good place to stay!

Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The place offers spacious and clean rooms at fair rates. Staff is friendly and helpful and the hostel lies within walking distance to Bellavista and close to a metro station. WiFi is not available everywhere and during our stay there was a lack of atmosphere due to the fact that the other guests seemed to be mainly interested in hanging around and surfing the net all day long.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfiend and I stayed here in mid-March 2013 and had a very pleasant time. The neighbourhood is lovely and reminded me a little bit of home (Melbourne, Australia): tree-lined streets, restaurants, bars and hipsters. It’s about a 7 minute walk to a couple of metro stations which is the best way to get around the city. We were greeted by Jason who sat us down straight away and gave us a rundown of all the things to do in the local area as well as the greater city. We were in Santiago for five nights and had done no research so his advice was very welcome and accurate. We stayed in the private room upstairs for 4 of the nights but due to our own mis-planning had to stay one night the mixed dorms (8-bed) which was totally fine. The private room is a good size with a wardrobe and shelves and is far enough away from the communal area to not be disturbed by the other guests if you want an early night. The ensuite is small but the shower is fantastic. There is also a fig tree outside the window with pretty tasty figs. The breakfasts are not amazing and are the same every morning, but the bread is freshly baked and occasionally they put on croissants and Danish. We did not use the pool but it looked ok but a little dirty with leaves. For a place to sleep in a great area and very helpful staff who all speak perfect English (Jason is in fact English), you can go past this place. BTW one thing I would highly suggest doing in Santiago is the Free Walking Tour. It is run by a very knowledgeable young guy called Franco and goes for about 4 hours. You pay want you think it is worth at the end so it can be free if you want.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for 4 days and did not want to leave! Stayed in the garden suite and it was lovely. Staff were excellent! One to recommend! Breakfasts were nice and we loved the garden and pool! Really handy for the subway station and its in a lovely quiet and safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetripadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are staying here at the moment. Ivan is an amazing host.... Jason is very welcoming.... Would highly recommend this hostel. We are staying in the pool view bungalow - very clean. Lots of restaurants close by and easy to get around on the metro from here. The BBQ nights weekly are great fun and highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank jds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

my boyfriend and i stayed in this hostel for my 30th birthday. we rented one of the garden cabanas and it was a lovely private room overlooking the garden and pool. my other half had been in touch with the hostel staff before we arrived to organise wine and flowers to be left i our room for me! Everyone was so lovely when we arrived and a special thanks to Jason who had the pleasure of finding somewhere to buy flowers on a Sunday! couldnt have been a better birthday, would definately go back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: we had the double garden suite, big comfy bed and very cosy duvet, tv and air con. it also had a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa1982mendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

For the true backpackers this is a gem of a hostel! A kitchen to cook your meals, a lounge to relax in, even a guitar to strum if you can hold a tune and small pool if the weather is good!
The owner Ivan is very helpful and speaks fluent english! This is a very friendly welcoming place.. But be warned...they like a drop or two and they may be up singing till all hours! Beds are fine with private doubles with bathroom for the shy and dorms for the budget conscious! A cheap n cheerful hostel close to subway and a lovely area of Santiago to visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juls H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Don Santiago Hostel
#9 of 511 in Santiago
343 reviews
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#40 of 511 in Santiago
232 reviews
Providencia
Casa Roble Hostel Boutique
Casa Roble Hostel Boutique
#63 of 511 in Santiago
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bellavista Hostel
#31 of 511 in Santiago
392 reviews
Providencia
Hostal Chile Pepper
Hostal Chile Pepper
#41 of 511 in Santiago
67 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
#28 of 511 in Santiago
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Sur Hostel

Address: Claudio Arrau 340 | Providencia, Santiago 7501288, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 511 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $19 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventana Sur Hostel is backpacker´s oasis in the heart of the safest sector of Santiago, Providencia. You will be welcomed as a friend, and if you feel like it, Ivan and his staff will show you the hidden sides of Santiago. If you just want to relax, no problem: There´s a relaxed patio with swimming pool, terraces in the shadow of a orange tree, a large book-exchange and games.We are looking forward to welcome you in our characteristic old house that was modernized completely just last year. Enjoy our free breakfast with bread and cereals, take one of the free bikes. Also included: Linen, Towel, Lockers, kitchen facilities... Make us your base to get to know this American Metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ventana Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing