We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Providencia
Nearby Hotels
$205
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$131
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Plaza San Francisco(Santiago)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Reve Hotel Boutique(Santiago)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$136
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
575
370
124
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
370
124
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig hostelrecommend hostalcommon areasbaquedano metro stationbig lockersboiled eggstour deskshared kitchenprivate roomchillicleaned every dayclean roomsgood vibesnoisy at nightsingle roomplace to staysouth america
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed at Hostal Providencia for two weeks while searching for a job in Santiago. After the first few days I felt like i was at home. The staff is unbelievably nice and helpful they all tired to help we with my broken Spanish and were very quick to recommend restaurants and things to do during the day. I stayed in the dorm style rooms. For the price, only six and a half lucas, they are big and so are the lockers for your stuff. Perfect if you are traveling with a backpack you can throw the whole thing right in. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Peckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, receptionista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Hey John,
Thank you for your commentary. We hope you another time, you´re welcome
See you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed for three days and took a single room they call: "Japanese room" because of its size. Its a very small room but for the price (8.000) its good.
The hostel is divided into an area where the rooms are and an area with the check-in, kitchen, dinner-room and an open air area where they have organised BBQ's on wednesdays. When going from the room-area to the area with the check-in you have to ring a bell which wasn't working when I was there so I had to wait and make noice so they could let me out. However, after informing the recepcionist she arranged as soon as possible a replacement for the bell. So, for the rest I have nothing to complain about.
Its a cosy hostel and i would recommend it for the low-budget backpackers and travelers that whant to meet people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolkeBindels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Receptionista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your commentary, we resolved the problems that you talked
We hope to see you anither time
See you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed there on 2 occasions in late 2009 and early 2010.

Good things about this place:

-They're not really strict about check-in and check-out times. I arrived at 9am after more than 24 hours of air travel, completely exhausted...and even though check-in is in the afternoon, they let me in early to sleep.

-They also let me stay far past what I imagine check-out time was on my last day...though they never even mentioned to me what time that was.

-The bathrooms are basic but decent. The hot water never runs out, you can shower any time of day or night, you can put toilet paper in the toilet, and you don't need to light a caliphont with a match for hot water. (If you don't appreciate that these are luxuries, you haven't spent much time in Chile! ;-)

-They have wireless internet. But it only works in the lobby, and at the top of the stairs in the hostel part.

-The beds were decent, and fairly comfortable.

-Just a few blocks from Baquedano (a central Metro station) and Bellavista (a great neighborhood for nightlife, especially young, hipster, & gay bars).

-You can come and go any hour of day or night; they will hold your key for you at the reception.


Not-so-good things:

-My single room without bathroom was VERY small. I didn't have a huge bag, but I barely had space for it in the narrow aisle between the twin bed and the wall. It felt more like a cupboard than a room.

-The first room they put me in, #21, didn't stay closed unless I barricaded it with my bag...forget a lock or any security! The window was shared with the room on the other side of the thin wall, so if they slide the glass over to your side to open their window, yours is closed. I complained about the door and they transferred me to single room #27 -- the best I found there, with a little closet space, bookshelf, and window.

-The second time, they put me in room #22; the door wouldn't OPEN while I was inside, so I had to break out using my pocket knife! Apparently someone had stolen the door handle. They didn't seem to think it was a problem, but when I insisted, they moved me to room #29, which was better.

-The hall of the hostel-part smelled like cat pee, though my room didn't.

-Not the cleanest place.

I stayed in single rooms (pieza simple sin baño), so I can't comment on the quality of the dorms.

Bottom line: Not terrible, but there are better quality places for the same or better price in Santiago.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AidanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Owner at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Aidan,

We renewed all that sector of the hostel 2 years ago. I had allot of fun reading your comment. Thanks!
Also at the begining of 2013 we changed all the WIF and added 2 brand NEW computers. We have dedicated internet with 25 mega download and it arrives to all the hostel and rooms. We understand the importance of wifi now a days.
We have a new building and another patrimonial house...ask for Deluxe rooms when you come back....and enjoy!
Saludos,

Mario Hermosilla C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Centrally located a short walk from Bellavista, Central and Providencia, this Hostal provides an excellent base camp for Santiago wandering. Frankly, the rooms and beds aren't fantastic right now (Room 6 is very nice though) and don't expect the best showers, but you don't travel to Chile to sit in your room do you? The staff are fantastic, and go out of their way to help book transfers, other hostels and the rest. They make the place, and most have excellent English.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Receptionnista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Hello Dave,
Thank you for your commentary.
We hope to see you another day in the hostal
See you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalsSantiago, Tours Providencia at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews