We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Providencia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nippon Hotel(Santiago)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baleares(Santiago)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luciano K Hotel(Santiago)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 198(Santiago)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveler rating
559
368
124
38
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
368
124
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig hostelrecommend hostalcommon areasbaquedano metro stationbig lockersboiled eggstour deskshared kitchenprivate roomchillicleaned every dayclean roomsgood vibesnoisy at nightsingle roomplace to staysouth america
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hostel is in a great location, only a few blocks from the metro station. We were greeted by a very professional front desk staff at check in. There are always two people working the front desk, so there was never a time when it is unattended. This hasn't been the case at most hostels, so I was impressed by this. The room was clean and the bathrooms were o.k., maybe a little dirty. The bed was very hard, but the pillows were good. I liked that the hostel had something planned for each night of the week. We attended a wine tasting event in the hostel and had a great time. Breakfast could be improved, as the water for coffee/tea was not hot and the bread was not super fresh. They did have fresh fruit though. Great option for exploring Santiago as you are super close to some major attractions and the metro.

Room Tip: They are adding on to the hostel right now, so once construction is completed ask to stay in the new wing. It will be beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozoangel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014

Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

the location of the hostel is perfect, it's just two block away of the metro station and very closed to all the attractions in Santiago for a really good price. The stuff is also friendly and they always organise something to do at night, so that all the guests can meet each other. However the furniture of the hostel was really old, not just the things in the living, but also the heater (which is really important in winter) and beds, which might be 20 years old.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerrParrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014

Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Average hostel, with a reasonable price. We had a very small room. It was like 3x2 with a bunk bed in it, and a TV. I think it's better to have some space instead of a TV but that might be a personal matter. The hostel is quiet noisy, the bathrooms were not very clean, in the morning I had a cold shower (not half warm, really cold), there are to less bathrooms anyway.

Staff was friendly, breakfast was above average. Al, this for a good price, so you shouldn't have too much expectations.

We paid a bit less than 17.000 pesos for a twin room, breakfast included, pre booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Manager at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Jelmer:

Thank you very much for your comments, we will review it, clean the bathrooms every hour, we will intensify even more the issue.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Because my lease for my first apartment in Santiago started later than I'd have liked, I actually lived in this place for an entire month. The staff are fantastic people and super helpful, but anyone would be over living here (or any hostel) for more than a week! I will say that it has an excellent location and good vibes.

Room Tip: Don't live in room #5! Its a cave with no windows! :) The other rooms are nice, though.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014

Thanks for helping us to grow, we will wait for your in your next visit to Santiago Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Staff were friendly when we arrived and allowed us to store our bags as we were early, they showed us on a big map on the wall where everything was which was helpful. The room we stayed in was a double ‘deluxe’ but still not too special, the room itself wasn’t too bad but it was quite noisy at night with people coming up the timber stairs and vehicles outside. The bathrooms were pretty bad and should be cleaned a lot more – it was never in a clean state and we had friends staying at the other end of the hostel and said their bathroom was the same, no toilet paper for more than a day. Also the rooms can be quite cold at the front of the hostel. Location was really good, not bad priced but I would pay the extra couple of dollars and stay up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Manager at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

First of all, we want to thank the gesture to send us your discomfort during your stay in our hostel, please accept our sincere apologies.

I wanted to inform you that we make many efforts to keep the hostel clean,we have toilet facilities everyday, besides this, we have an afternoon receptionist who will check the bathrooms every hour but sometimes it's impossible to do it because the bathrooms are busy almost all times and does not give us the enough time to enter and clean it.

The rules say that in the hostel after 23:30 you can not make noise but when we have a large group is difficult, for all that, the next week we will enable 10 new rooms for large groups to avoid noise hostel.

Your comments are very important to us so I reiterate once again our apologies

We remain attentive to any questions or doubts.

Emmanuel Louis
Hostel Manager
Hostal Providencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews