We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Providencia”
Review of Hostal Providencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Providencia
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Hostal Providencia”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hostal Providencia is a very nice place to stay while visiting Santiago. The staff is very nice, kind and helpful. The rooms are very clean and organized. There's a very good breakfast with bread, juice, coffee, milk and cereal. The localization is awesome. It's in Providencia, 5 min walking from the metro station Baquedano.
I'd strongly recommend this hostel for those who want a confortable, nice and cheap place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyStrassacapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    333
    112
    34
    31
See reviews for
65
207
294
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hostal Providencia is ideal for those who want a well-located and whorthy hostel! If you want nice tips from Santiago, just ask the staff, they're really friendly and easygoing. Cleaned rooms and bathroom, well equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreFreire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

we only stayed one night here when our other hostel was full. They encouraged us to book our room online (despite being there at the premises) but when we arrived the next morning they didnt have our booking (despite me having email confirmations from them) so they had to give us a better room (they seemed to want congratulations for this). The front desk staff are really hit and miss with one girl not even interested in looking up. After being given our "upgrade" the manager then wanted to sell us tours and it felt like we were supposed to take one of these to make up for the "upgrade". The room we were given was a double with ensuite and tv and was nice but had no windows so was very dark (and the normal price was 10,000p more than our other hostel). Breakfast was included but most things had run out when we got there and very little of it was replenished. The hostel has computers and nice common areas and seemed to cater well for a young crowd. When we went to leave there was a student protest outside and the hostel encouraged everyone to stay indoors and supplied lemon for the tear gas so appreciate their safety consciousness. As mentioned only stayed one night but the hostel was well located and did seem to provide a lot of activities and areas to meet other travellers

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentarnos, esperamos regresen pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 weeks in Santiago, and most of that time we spent at Hostal Providencia.

We spent the first night in another Hosatal (in Bellavista) and the price was almost double what we paid at Providencia.
We particularly like the relaxed atmospher, really helpful staff and the mix of people we met there.
Since we spent almost 3 weeks there and because we liked it I took the time to write a more complete review, so here it is:

We had a double room with a 2 person bed with a shared bathroom.

- very good breakfast: bread + 2 sorts of jam + real botter + milk, coffee, tea + cereals + fruits
- living room with large LCD TV
- 2 kitchen for us to cook + 2 eating rooms
- free wifi (works fast)
- occasional BBQ and sushi parties for very good price
- idealy located (close to Baquedano metro and Parque Bustamente metro)
- staff young and eager to help with useful information about the city
- we received towels
- they have 2 computers for you tu use for free

And we met tons of other travelers, some of whome became friends.
Really this is a great introduction to Chile.

-Ronny-

Room Tip: We liked the newest part of the Hostel, in the back. Rooms 201 to 206. They have LCD's and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnyhermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Google Translation
Sabemos que ha pasado algún tiempo desde que te quedaste con nosotros,
Muchas gracias por haberte tomado el tiempo de escribirnos,
hoy en día hemos mejorado muchos aspectos y esperamos que en tu próxima visita a Santiago puedas quedarte con nosotros para que lo vivas!

Saludos y estaremos en contacto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I needed somewhere cheap and easy to stay overnight in Santiago last year and we selected this place on the back of the tripadvisor reviews.

To put it plainly, we're not sure on what basis the positive reviews were given for this place. In order of the things that went wrong:

1. They were meant to organise a taxi pickup for us after our long journey to Santiago. They didn’t. Instead, we got a local cab and, surprise surprise, were overcharged. When I questioned the hostel on this, I got the highly professional shoulder-shrug. There was no apology.
2. Our room was big but horrible. Dirty, extremely old, and backing onto a court yard which gave us the wonderful experience of being kept awake all night, especially when people came back at 3 in the morning, and then woken up first thing in the morning as soon as anyone else arose.
3. When we woke up, we were delighted to find that there was no running water. At all. Having done a 20 hour+ plane ride the day before, this was unpleasant to say the very least. No running water not only meant no shower but also meant no toilet. The only reason we could brush our teeth is because we had bottled water. When I asked them about the water situation, apparently, they had known for days and there was nothing they could do about it. That’s fair enough but if you know for days there’s no water, TELL YOUR GUESTS!

We honestly could not wait to get out of this place. My wife and I may be “over” hostels, being in our 30s now, but I remember hostels in Central America in my early 20s and they were waaaaaaay nicer than this hole. On this trip we stayed in a variety of places, from the very cheap to the expensive and this hostel stands out as being way below par. It’s only “redeeming” feature was the lounge area which I assume gets a lot of positive comments as it encourages socialising. However, the rest of the place was horrible.

Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylordavidandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Propietario at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Hi Ddt225

First of all, im sorry for your bad experience. From the airport we recommend transfers that cost 7.000 clp per person, regular Taxis there cost 19.000 clp. At the moment we don't organize taxis ourselves however the stands for transfers are always there.

The Room you stayed in is now completely renovated and I'd like to invite you to see the other improvements we recently made. Furtermore, we work with a policy that does not allow noise after midnight.

The water issue was really bad luck as it was in fact a natural desaster that affected many parts of Santiago. A river in Cajón del Maipo basically colapsed and it lasted 48 hours. The reception should have informed You about this but I'm sorry if they didnt.

Please note that we are always working on improving the facilities and service of the hostel and your feedback was well received. We hope to see you again soon!

Saludos

Mario Hermosilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Hostal Providencia for a few weeks during my first trip outside of my country. To begin with, the staff was absolutely fantastic and helped in every way they could. They definitely helped me in finding local attractions and each seemed to have their own unique set of things to do in Santiago. They have awesome paintings throughout the hostal and the decor makes you feel like you're right at home. There is an ample selection of room types to fit all kinds of travelers and students alike, ranging from dormitory-style sleeping to Hotel quality suites dependent on the needs of each guest. The subtle nuances and general ambiance were great as well (like the hand painted key chains with the room numbers on them). The internet worked great and all other accommodations I needed during my stay were readily available at all hours.

What really seems to make this place stand out from the rest is the warmth and character of the hostal itself, as well as the outstanding lineup of employees (such as Mario, Giovana, Reynessa, Connie, Matias, and Fernanda just to name a few). What seems to also work really well for this hostal is the location. Right at the heart of Santiago, the hostal was within great walking distance of some really cool attractions, restaurants, clubs, grocery stores, bars, etc. (and Bellavista!!!) I never had to stray more than two miles from the hostal to reach everything I needed to make a great 3 week vacation in Santiago. In addition, the guests that stay at this particular hostal are all so diverse and unique that I would spend a large portion of my time talking with all the interesting travelers and locals who frequented the hostal.

Overall, Hostal Providencia was the perfect place for me to stay during my travels, and I will definitely be returning. I HIGHLY recommend this hostal to anyone and everyone who wants a great getaway, some nice relaxation, or just the opportunity to meet some fascinating people (guests and reception). I work at an expensive hotel in the United States and I would stay at this hostal any day over a stay at my hotel. There's no better place for the price and the quality of service. Thanks for everything during my visit to Santiago, guys!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentarnos, esperamos regresen pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just stayed one night in a double twin room. We were surprised to see that the room actually has just 2 bunk beds on top of each other, and was very small (we barely had space to put our bags). Walls are thin too, so you have to hope you won't get loud neighbours. The hostel is located relatively close to the subway station and about 20 minutes walking from the center of Santiago. The staff is helpful and friendly, but the Internet connection did not work when we were there. Nothing really great, nothing really bad - good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentarnos, esperamos regresen pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 484 in Santiago
233 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 484 in Santiago
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#60 of 484 in Santiago
190 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#28 of 484 in Santiago
281 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 484 in Santiago
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Providencia

Property: Hostal Providencia
Address: Vicuna Mackenna 92 | Región Metropolitana, Santiago, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Providencia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Providencia: a home away from home for travelers and backpackers in Santiago de Chile! With the perfect location, varied breakfast, comfy beds, spacious and decorated common areas, a cozy bar and an efficient staff, Hostal Providencia guarantees you a pleasant and fun experience with the best price-quality of the city. We are located in the heart of Santiago, just 5 minute-walk from Plaza Italia, Baquedano metro station and the neighborhood of Bellavista, where you will find the best nightlife with many pubs, bars and restaurants. Hostal Providencia stands out for its capacity and big variety of rooms. We have shared dorms (new ones have USB and own light points) and privates single, double, triple and family (4, 5 and 6 people), all with private or shared bathroom option. You can also choose the standard economic type -a large heritage house- or superior - more like a hotel with 32 "plasma TV and central heating. Another great attraction is our unforgettable activities: nights of "terremotos" (typical Chilean drink), pisco sour, pasta and wine, hamburgers, fajitas, choripan, hot dogs, risotto, wine tasting and much more! Other services: Safe 24h reception (entrance with swivel) Breakfast (buffet) WIFI throughout the hostel Multilingual Staff Bed linen and towel Daily cleaning Two full eqquiped kitchens Free national and international calls (landlines) Info & Tours Bar Laundry (additional cost) Kitchenette Free tea all day Computers Printing service Vendomatica (snacks and drinks) Fussball Two patios (smoking areas) Book Exchange Wii Do not think twice: We don’t only provide you a nice stay, we give you an experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hostal Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing