We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Providencia
Nearby Hotels
$309
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
W Santiago(Santiago)
$334
$280
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza San Francisco(Santiago)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$136
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Reve Hotel Boutique(Santiago)
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
575
370
124
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
370
124
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig hostelrecommend hostalcommon areasbaquedano metro stationbig lockersboiled eggstour deskshared kitchenprivate roomchillicleaned every dayclean roomsgood vibesnoisy at nightsingle roomplace to staysouth america
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I needed somewhere cheap and easy to stay overnight in Santiago last year and we selected this place on the back of the tripadvisor reviews.

To put it plainly, we're not sure on what basis the positive reviews were given for this place. In order of the things that went wrong:

1. They were meant to organise a taxi pickup for us after our long journey to Santiago. They didn’t. Instead, we got a local cab and, surprise surprise, were overcharged. When I questioned the hostel on this, I got the highly professional shoulder-shrug. There was no apology.
2. Our room was big but horrible. Dirty, extremely old, and backing onto a court yard which gave us the wonderful experience of being kept awake all night, especially when people came back at 3 in the morning, and then woken up first thing in the morning as soon as anyone else arose.
3. When we woke up, we were delighted to find that there was no running water. At all. Having done a 20 hour+ plane ride the day before, this was unpleasant to say the very least. No running water not only meant no shower but also meant no toilet. The only reason we could brush our teeth is because we had bottled water. When I asked them about the water situation, apparently, they had known for days and there was nothing they could do about it. That’s fair enough but if you know for days there’s no water, TELL YOUR GUESTS!

We honestly could not wait to get out of this place. My wife and I may be “over” hostels, being in our 30s now, but I remember hostels in Central America in my early 20s and they were waaaaaaay nicer than this hole. On this trip we stayed in a variety of places, from the very cheap to the expensive and this hostel stands out as being way below par. It’s only “redeeming” feature was the lounge area which I assume gets a lot of positive comments as it encourages socialising. However, the rest of the place was horrible.

Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taylordavidandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Propietario at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hi Ddt225

First of all, im sorry for your bad experience. From the airport we recommend transfers that cost 7.000 clp per person, regular Taxis there cost 19.000 clp. At the moment we don't organize taxis ourselves however the stands for transfers are always there.

The Room you stayed in is now completely renovated and I'd like to invite you to see the other improvements we recently made. Furtermore, we work with a policy that does not allow noise after midnight.

The water issue was really bad luck as it was in fact a natural desaster that affected many parts of Santiago. A river in Cajón del Maipo basically colapsed and it lasted 48 hours. The reception should have informed You about this but I'm sorry if they didnt.

Please note that we are always working on improving the facilities and service of the hostel and your feedback was well received. We hope to see you again soon!

Saludos

Mario Hermosilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Hostal Providencia for a few weeks during my first trip outside of my country. To begin with, the staff was absolutely fantastic and helped in every way they could. They definitely helped me in finding local attractions and each seemed to have their own unique set of things to do in Santiago. They have awesome paintings throughout the hostal and the decor makes you feel like you're right at home. There is an ample selection of room types to fit all kinds of travelers and students alike, ranging from dormitory-style sleeping to Hotel quality suites dependent on the needs of each guest. The subtle nuances and general ambiance were great as well (like the hand painted key chains with the room numbers on them). The internet worked great and all other accommodations I needed during my stay were readily available at all hours.

What really seems to make this place stand out from the rest is the warmth and character of the hostal itself, as well as the outstanding lineup of employees (such as Mario, Giovana, Reynessa, Connie, Matias, and Fernanda just to name a few). What seems to also work really well for this hostal is the location. Right at the heart of Santiago, the hostal was within great walking distance of some really cool attractions, restaurants, clubs, grocery stores, bars, etc. (and Bellavista!!!) I never had to stray more than two miles from the hostal to reach everything I needed to make a great 3 week vacation in Santiago. In addition, the guests that stay at this particular hostal are all so diverse and unique that I would spend a large portion of my time talking with all the interesting travelers and locals who frequented the hostal.

Overall, Hostal Providencia was the perfect place for me to stay during my travels, and I will definitely be returning. I HIGHLY recommend this hostal to anyone and everyone who wants a great getaway, some nice relaxation, or just the opportunity to meet some fascinating people (guests and reception). I work at an expensive hotel in the United States and I would stay at this hostal any day over a stay at my hotel. There's no better place for the price and the quality of service. Thanks for everything during my visit to Santiago, guys!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por comentarnos, esperamos regresen pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just stayed one night in a double twin room. We were surprised to see that the room actually has just 2 bunk beds on top of each other, and was very small (we barely had space to put our bags). Walls are thin too, so you have to hope you won't get loud neighbours. The hostel is located relatively close to the subway station and about 20 minutes walking from the center of Santiago. The staff is helpful and friendly, but the Internet connection did not work when we were there. Nothing really great, nothing really bad - good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por comentarnos, esperamos regresen pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights. Here is my honest and unbiased opinion about the hostal:

The staff, they are nice and friendly. Some of them can speak English, but that was not a problem for me as I was practicing my Spanish. The rooms are just that, rooms. They are nothing special, but do have Satellite TV and great reception for wifi. The rooms in general were clean, but the 2 rooms I stayed in had private baths and were not well maintained and clean. For example, I found hairs and dead flies in the bathrooms, not what you really want to find when paying extra for private bathrooms, The rooms were in need of some general maintenance also. The common areas: cocina, living area, dining room, terrace, and reception area were in general nice.
Breakfast was included in the price, but was, again, nothing special....bread, jam, butter, cereal, juices, and cheap instant coffee.
For a little bit more in price you can find better hostals. As the saying goes, "you get what you pay for". If you are looking just for a place to stay at a half decent price with a breakfast...this is it.

Room Tip: Don't get room 3...too much outside noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, receptionista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you for your comment and your advices, we try every to make better our services and the environment of the hostel
We hope to see you another time in Santiago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I'm teaching English here in Chile and had to stay at a hostel for a couple of weeks while I searched for an apartment. I'm very glad I chose Hostel Providencia. The staff here is very friendly and go out of their way to help you. The sleeping accomodations were great, the location is in the center of the city by several metro stations, and it was a good hub to meet other travelers as well. I highly recommend this hostel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenBalsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalProvidencia, receptionista at Hostal Providencia, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you so muche for your commentary
we hope to see you here in Santiago another time
See you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews