We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad and the Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aubrey Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have mixed feelings about the Aubrey. We booked this hotel based upon the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and Travel magazines. We arrived from our 12 hour flight from Sydney prior to the scheduled check-in time. We had organised a city tour for that afternoon and asked if we could use another room for a shower and change of clothing. Paulo was very accommodating and arranged this for us. I'm not sure what room type we used but it was very small and had a very musky smell about it.

Front desk staff were hit and miss when it comes to quality of service. Paulo was consistently good. We asked one Receptionist (can't recall his name, but he was tall and dark) to order a taxi for us to travel to a restaurant for dinner. He said he would call our room when it arrived. After waiting in our room for 15 minutes after the requested time, we went down to the front desk to enquire as to the whereabouts of the taxi. He replied he gave it to another guest and would we like him to order another one!!!! Unbelievable.

We organised transfers between the hotel and airport through the hotel. Big mistake. On the eve of our departure we confirmed with front desk our departure time. We were advised the car would be here by 6.30 am. We waited and waited and with no car arriving by 7.00 am, we became very nervous that we would miss out flight to Lima. The Receptionist was calling the company and advised each time that the driver was only five minutes away. By 7.10 am with no sign of our requested car, the hotel's security officer got into his car together with our bags and us and raced to the airport. We made the flight with minutes to spare. The security officer, come Driver, was excellent in getting us to the airport in the nick of time. Again, can't say that we were happy with the Hotel in arranging our transport.

I'm not sure it speaks well of a Hotel when Breakfast is the highlight. Rachel is exceptional as many reviewers note. Whatever she is on, we want some of that! She was always so bright and friendly every morning.

The Hotel is situated at the end of a number of streets filled with Clubs and Bars populated by Uni students - the hotel is located in a University area. Some nights the music and noise played well into the early hours of the morning. That noise coupled with the dump trucks collecting rubbish in the early hours can make for a sleepless night. It is also next to the ground of the Zoo and there is a constant stench which comes through the grounds of the hotel from the animals' waste.

My wife liked the hotel more than what I did. It is very eclectic and has been restored well, although the bathroom is extremely small, so small you couldn't 'swing a cat' in it.

If I was to visit Santiago again, would I stay here? No, I would look elsewhere for a hotel offering better service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not get the late night noise from the nearby clubs and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 774 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This small, individual hotel is excellent in all respects. Warm welcome, lovely rooms and wonderful communal facilities. The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble. Special mention for Rachel and Luis who were outstanding. The outside sitting areas, beautiful garden and patios, attentive service, and attention to detail make this an exceptional place to stay. My husband enjoyed the pool. In the evening we could hear soft piano playing which was the icing on the cake. In fact, cake is served with tea in the afternoons. Congratulations to Mark for his foresight and planning. Let us know where in the world you intend to open your next hotel and we'll be there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I ended a month long tour of Argentina & Chile with a 2 day stay here. Looks just like the website - great outdoor space in a city with 7 million & chaos. Serene green areas by pool, beautiful artwork exquisitely placed & the best service sunrise to after sunset. Staff was exceptional - Luis & Rachel are happy & helpful. Others staff was friendly too - just didn't get their names. Eggs & superb coffee for breakfast was a change over the other accommodations we found the past 4 weeks. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LanieSoldotna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the Aubrey. It is in the Bellavista neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants. Arrived in the evening and had dinner the first night at the hotel in the bar area which served tapas. They have piano music several nights per week but not the night we eat there. Instead another guest played the piano and he was very good. It is that kind of place where you find the other guests talented. The staff was the best part of the hotel. They made airport transfers and dinner reservations during our stay. But the staff was incredibly helpful after we left. My friend left her passport on the flight from Santiago to Calama and we had to return early to Santiago the day we were leaving Chile to go the US Embassy and obtain a replacement passport. The staff was amazing, They emailed information about where to obtain the passport photos. Arranged for one of their guides to meet us at the airport and take us around Santiago. It turned getting the passport into a nice experience. We got everything done quickly and had time for a nice lunch in Lastaria and a visit to Parque por la Villa de Grimaldi before the guide returned us to the airport for our evening flight home. Thanks Luis, Lorena, Rachael, Vivian and Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerfl0rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Aubrey. The neighborhood is full of lively bars and restaurants and close to many of Santiago's sights. The room we had (#4) was at the top of the house. The hotel is set back from the bustle of the street, although you can certainly still hear festive neighborhood music through the windows. The interior of the hotel is very quiet and serene. The lovely breakfast room has the most cheerful staff, however the Christian rock music was cranked a bit too loud for my morning grumpiness. Reception staff is extremely helpful and we got excellent help from the concierge services.

Room Tip: Use the excellent concierge services for restaurant reservations and car services to and from the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is our fourth trip to Santiago, and The Aubrey was our favorite hotel in our favorite neighborhood (Bellavista) to date. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the place exudes charm.
Paolo, Diego and Rachel were outstanding at the front desk. The small number of rooms translates into exceptional service. The nearby dining recommendations were also spot on.
My only quibble is that the rooms are small, but you spend very little time in the room so it’s not a big deal. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Mixed feelings about the Aubrey. Neighborhood is interesting. Property is beautiful. Room was good and bad. Bed was comfortable. Room was large. But...toilet and shower were literally glass walls away from the bed and bath. Service was hit and miss. Particularly at the bar/restaurant. Did enjoy evenings on the patio and did not find noise to be an issue. Loved Chile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
413 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Santiago
689 reviews
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#9 of 202 in Santiago
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aubrey Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aubrey Boutique Hotel

Address: Constitucion 317 | Bellavista, Santiago 7530137, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $201 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aubrey Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aubrey an Australian/English owned and operated small friendly boutique hotel which opened in 2010, is situated in bohemian, artsy Bellavista neighbourhood, Providencia. Situated next to the Park Metropolitan and is the first true boutique hotel in Santiago, The hotel comprises of 2 lovingly restored old mansions which have been completely modernized while retaining many original features, and furnished with a fusion of contemporary and antique styles. The hotel has a new contempory built pavilion wing, an outdoor heated jacuzzi swimming pool with sundeck, a relaxing piano lounge with indoor/outdoor terrace seating , serving cocktails, wines and food to share, Monday to Saturdays with live pianist every Thursday and Fridays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Aubrey Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing