We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Building / Bring Ear Plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aubrey Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Aubrey for three nights after arriving into Santiago at about midday. Luckily our room was ready on arrival, and we were able to freshen up and head out to explore.

Our room was a cosy size, clean, and simply furnished. The bed was a little on the short side however this seems typical in Chile and Peru. The bathroom was spacious but a little worn (not sure about the light shelf dangling above the basin or the rusty soap dispenser in the shower when you consider the price point).  Hot water and shower pressure were all good and present. There were timber floors throughout, so it was warm padding about the room after the temperature outside dropped.

The hotel is located at the top of the entertainment district of Bellavista, and our room faced out towards the street. Even with the two sets of glass doors between us and the road, there was a lot of noise into the wee hours from the various bars and restaurants nearby ... and shortly after the morning trash collection lorries.  To be fair, it comes with the territory, so ear plugs are the way to go.

Service at the Aubrey is friendly and helpful, but not necessarily polished or professional. In the nicest possible way; this is a B&B outfit in a Boutique building. There were some events held in the hotel courtyard that ought to have been mentioned to us at the beginning of the day, just so that we would know not to expect to be able to have an evening drink in the hotel's outdoor area.

Breakfast was simple selection but enjoyable, and very entertaining due to Rachel's efforts. Wifi was free and available throughout the hotel. And there is a small pool and sun deck to take advantage of. The common areas of the hotel are all well designed and seem to retain some of the eccentric character and charm of the original buildings.

Would consider staying again, but would have loved to have liked our stay more.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 767 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Since our last visit to The Aubrey, nothing has changed. The rooms are still comfortable, the dining room romantic and well serviced, and the location ideal for our needs. The last and only glitch we had was an overcharge by the Hotel, and as the manager has explained, this was graciously and quickly corrected. We plan on staying at The Aubrey again every time we go to Santiago.

Room Tip: Ask questions as rooms vary in size, number of steps, and location within the boutique hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLover2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Rooms and hotel is very cute but expensive. I was sick during my stay (got sick in Peru with a flue). Hotel breakfast was lovely and welcoming like we were the only guest there.

A little bit frustrating being sick and no lunch or room service available.

Room Tip: No room service/lunch chef
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdawson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAubreySantiago, Owner at The Aubrey Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that you were ill during your visit to Santiago, I trust you have by now made a full recovery. Concerning, room service, we offer, pool service, and room service during restaurant operating hours, Monday to Saturday from 6.30pm and breakfast room service should our guests require, 7 days a week. Our frontdesk staff are more than happy to order lunch deliveries from the many restaurants in the vicinity. I can only assume, there was a misunderstanding to which I apologise.
With best regards
Mark Cigana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Aubrey 5 months ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Passing through Santiago again in April we decided to stay again.
We were delighted to find the same level of experience and comfort. We arrived early and not only did we enjoy an upgrade of our room but we were able to access our room early which we really appreciated. Our room was in the loft so it was up a couple of floors but was not a problem at all (for the average 50 year old!!).
Although we did not eat at the restaurant this time for dinner, breakfast served by the ever-joyous Rachel starts each day to a bright and delicious start. The weather is starting to get a little cooler now in Santiago so we were resigned that this time we might not benefit from the pool, but being HEATED meant that we made time to endulge.
Great bed, super hot shower, bottled water provided, returning at night to the bar for a last tipple is another plus.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location next to heaps of bars and restaurants. Even though it gets loud outside, inside is a quiet sanctuary. My partner and I had a beautiful time for one night before heading home. Very clean, spacious rooms. The pool was awesome and refreshing. The building is a grand old home, with lots of character and modern touches. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfy with thick white sheets. Awesome welcome drink and afternoon tea for free, made it extra special.

Room Tip: The big room with a courtyard :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Aubrey is the place for you if you desire a fun lively area with bars, restaurants and attractions like San Cristobal and Pablo Neruda's house 'La Chascona' which is just mere steps away.
The Aubrey located in Bellavista has everything, beautiful pool, lovely outdoor areas and elegant lounges but retains a delightful intimacy.
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to La Chascona, as we wanted to be able to just wander to Neruda's house and to stroll the neighbourhood.
We booked a loft room that came with front views of the street which was a good vantage point for people watching. The room was clean and modern with fresh white calla lilies and a bottle of champagne. The champagne was an i-escape booing incentive and The Aubrey had it chilled and ready for us.
The staff were all very warm and professional from the very first email of confirmation, the airport transfer arrangements, reception to final departure.
Special mention to Rachel who makes breakfast a delight. You will not go wrong with the eggs benedict for breakfast or tapas and pisco sours at the piano bar.
We loved the Aubrey and highly recommend it for your visit to Santiago, Chile.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sans-S0uci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We really enjoy boutique hotels with character vs chains and high rises. The Aubrey is the first exception.
The hotel has it's pluses - outdoor courtyard, friendly staff, comfortable beds,and is clean.


The BIG negatives are STEPS and NOISE.

Steps
Lots of steps no matter where your room is located.
Especially the loft (really an attic that you have to be careful not to bang head) offering a challenge of over 60 steps each way from lobby to/from room. During our 12 hour stay over 360 steps to climb up and down just to check in ,go shopping ,and to dinner!

Very disappointed that after our International flight arrived at hotel at 9:30 AM we couldn't check in until 3 PM even if were willing to pay extra. Didn't even have a refresh room available for short time to change like other boutique hotels like LaStarria Had to tour and roam streets until 3PM before could check in. We checked out 6-7Am each of the 3 separate stays for flights within Chile. Hard to believe that on the day of our arrival no one had checked out early!

Noise
Had 3 different rooms on 3 different evenings and could hear people talking, shouting, yelling until after 3PM. Worse was a Saturday night that sounded like a riot outside with drums beating, shouting voices and car alarms. If you are a deep sleeper and night life until wee hours of morning perhaps you can survive. Otherwise bring earplugs or better yet select quieter location or hotel.
The last night they had a big private party with band in courtyard until after 11AM. Our wake up call was @5:15.

Don't think about sleeping until after 3PM

Would never recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Santiago
676 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
399 reviews
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#7 of 202 in Santiago
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aubrey Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aubrey Boutique Hotel

Address: Constitucion 317 | Bellavista, Santiago 7530137, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $225 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aubrey Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aubrey an Australian/English owned and operated small friendly boutique hotel which opened in 2010, is situated in bohemian, artsy Bellavista neighbourhood, Providencia. Situated next to the Park Metropolitan and is the first true boutique hotel in Santiago, The hotel comprises of 2 lovingly restored old mansions which have been completely modernized while retaining many original features, and furnished with a fusion of contemporary and antique styles. The hotel has a new contempory built pavilion wing, an outdoor heated jacuzzi swimming pool with sundeck, a relaxing piano lounge with indoor/outdoor terrace seating , serving cocktails, wines and food to share, Monday to Saturdays with live pianist every Thursday and Fridays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Aubrey Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing