We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Ranked #12 of 159 Santiago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hostel I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I have traveled throughout the world on numerous occasions and CasAltura is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. It markets itself as a Boutique hostel and it is. This was not a party hostel yet you could meet other interesting travelers that stay in hostels. The service (Italo, Evelyn, Eduardo & Mabel) was outstanding and the staff was always available to help. Being a runner I found the location in front of the park beneficial. Also, the location was in the center of all Barrios with easy access to the metro. The roof top lounging area really provided a good place to hang out and cool down when the heat become too much. The constant chatter around the hostel was "This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in". I look forward to my next trip to Chile and will stay at CasAltura.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetreker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    103
    50
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
76
93
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

One if the nicest places we have stayed - character, space, lots of spacious shared areas, and fantastic terrace. Loved it- perfect in every way.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Good rate for a single room. Very close to the fish market and an easy walk to the centre of town. Tiny room. Creaky floorboards. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsidejoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

As far as hostels go, and we have stayed in a few ... this is the best we have ever stayed in. Perfect location, great staff and an amazing rooftop balcony. What more could you want?!? How this isn't a hotel it is beyond me - we have paid a lot more in Europe for dingy hotel rooms that couldn't compare to the luxury of this hostel. We booked a matrimonial suite and even though we weren't on our honeymoon it sure felt special. Great rooms, beds and linen! Fantastic kitchen amenities and common rooms too! Thanks for the best stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia_Cohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is a really nice and comfy Hostel, conveniently located near supermarkets, Mercardo Central (known for it's fish market and seafood restaurants) and the Metro Station. Our stay in the Private Ensuite was comfortable, clean and has good showers. Even the common bathrooms were clean and tidy.

The reception is attended to 24/7 and you will always need to press the bell in order for the personnel to let you in. This is all for security reasons. The area is safe as you see a lot of police and security people standing around.

The staff looking after the hostel is a nice bunch of people. Very friendly and ready to assist. You can also access to Internet on their 2 computers located in the common area. Breakfast is continental. There is also a common kitchen and fridge where guests can also use if they wish to dine in. Also, not forgetting that they have a big open area on the rooftop to chill out or just to get some sun.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupitermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed here after a long flight from Australia & used my 2 nights/1 day in Santiago to get over jet lag & a brief stopover before continuing on my way to the Galapagos Islands. Note that Australians has to pay US$61 entry fee to Chile (even my travel agent didn’t know about this!?) This place was amazing: A huge overbearing corner three storey building (pretty much in the city & on a very busy intersection at all times of the day & night) with a terrace (complete with lounge chairs & BBQ) on top (with a stunning view of the Andes). There is an intercom to get in at street level, which is reassuring. The first floor has offices (that do not access the tightly wound wooden stairwell – a hell for travellers with lots of &/or awkward sized luggage - thankfully the staff helped!). Reception is on the second floor, as too are a myriad of common rooms, the kitchen, TV room, dining room, a couple of bed rooms & bathroom. The third floor has the remaining rooms & bathrooms (including one bathroom with dual showers). Note: the rooms (which there are 15 of) are not numbered & the place is like a rabbit warren – so be prepared to get lost!

My room had a large single bed (with crisp linen & large shower towel), small bed side table, chair & many power points (I simply used one conversion plug & used an Australian-style power board for all my devices: makes life so much easier!). Although there is a heater in the room, there is no real means of ventilation, which made the room uncomfortable/unbearable at times – I simply went into the larger roomier communal areas (bummer if you wanted to sleep comfortably). If you open the small windows, it gets minimal air & too much noise (which is semi bearable at night as I use ear plugs). The bathrooms were modern after recently being renovated however are frustrating (once, I only luke-warm water when you turn the hot water on only – no cold – plus it only runs for about a minute before going stone-cold; then another time I had no hot water whatsoever & another time, it worked fine). Room draw back: no where to hang towels (no hooks or racks).
This place is over 100 years old & true to word, has been extensively recently renovated. The staff were very helpful & friendly – eager to assist & show places of interest on the provided street map. At night, given my jet lag, I went to the communal areas to use the internet & 2 staff woke up to ensure everything was ok. Their website is true: this place is definitely a safe & upmarket hostel/backpackers!

Laundry (wash & dry) is 4000CLP (AU$8.50). A continental breakfast is included daily in the tariff: toast, tea/coffee & cereals. It is ok to drink the tap water. Free WIFI is offered & reception is only possible on the second floor & terrace. If you don’t have you own laptop, there are 2 computers for free use in the main lounge area. Reception staff will give you the access key if you ask. I had full phone reception. There is a luggage storage room on the third floor – which was great for me, as I kept the scuba diving gear in here & off the floor in my small room. Room rate is US$30/15,000CLP/AU$32 per night for the single room I had. Airport transfers are 16,900CLP/AU$36 as arranged by the hostel with Delfos Transfers – safer than taxis & easier than buses.

I ate dinner at the small corner diner (Niza) across the road from casAlturA – a soft drink & pizza was less than AU$5. The large supermarket (with ATMs) is along the main street which the hostel backs onto, a short 2 min walk away. I took the Turistik double decker bus from the central market (mercado central) & completed the day trip (open top hop on/hop off tour for CLP18,000/AU$38), stopping at the Parque Arauco shopping centre – the company provide an informative guide complete with maps to keep & commentary throughout the ride. I would highly recommend this company (www.turistik.cl) as they offer a variety of tours of Santiago & its surroundings. Due to my short time in town, I would have liked to have done the Andes half day tour for CLP22,000/AU$48: going up a mountain road to 2,500m above sea level to enjoy some stunning scenery – oh well, there is always next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed here one night and found it to be a great hostel. We paid 57 dollars for a twin room with shared bathroom which was right outside our door and very clean with plentiful hot water. Staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is great by the mercado central and bella artes museum. Breakfast was basic but fine. There is also a nice roof terrace with good views. Only complaint is that the very busy main road outside is very noisy and interrupted our sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#98 of 196 in Santiago
600 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 159 in Santiago
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#5 of 484 in Santiago
229 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 484 in Santiago
805 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 484 in Santiago
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casaltura The Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casaltura The Boutique Hostel

Property: Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Address: San Antonio 811, Centro Historico | (Plaza de Armas Subway Station), Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casaltura The Boutique Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and spacious, or house is decorated stylishly and warmly; the wood takes centerplace, fusing both classical and modern. Illuminated and ample, our hostel is a unique place in the city. We have 2 buildings, located next to each other. The main building is large and divided in two levels, 15 rooms with wooden floors and beautiful details. In addition, it has a terrace on the top. The second building has 4 superior rooms, and with a different entrance which gives a more calmens to our passengers. Our location is privileged, San Antonio with Ismael Valdes Street, next to the forest park; very near to the historic neighborhood of Santiago. Allowing that the tourist can easily accessible places typical of the city, such as: market Central, Plaza de Armas, Cerro San Cristobal, pre-Columbian Museum, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellavista (Patio), Bellavista La Chascona (Pablo Neruda), La piojera, Centro Mall, Board of Trustees, flag, La Moneda, Santiago Cathedral, Paseo Ahumada, Estacion Mapocho, supermarkets, banks, among others. Also we are happy to invite all our passengers to visit our new restaurant called Adobe Restaurant. Located just next to the Hostel, Adobe Restaurant is the perfect choice for having lunch or dinner in an typical Chilean cuisine of excelent quality, that offers fresh products combined in traditional recipes that will make your visit a culinary experience! If you are staying in CasAltura Hostel don't forget to ask for your free welcome drink and appetizer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casaltura The Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing