We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not so good third time round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Ranked #9 of 168 Santiago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here last year and loved it so naturally we stayed again this year. It’s a very good location with parks and museums nearby - the best parts and the worst parts are on the doorstep. Last year we seemed to wander around the more upmarket parts, this year we seemed to have discovered the unsavoury parts.

It’s certainly a lovely building but having stayed in a room with own bathroom last year, this year we decided to go for a shared bathroom. The shared bathroom was left in a wet mess by another guest. It’s not really the hotels fault if some of the guests use the bathroom like a wet room, but it means you are very much tiptoeing round wondering where it’s dry enough to leave your clothes. A couple of nights we stayed at the front of the building next to the reception, it was so noisy we didn’t get much sleep due to the noise of the traffic and doorbell. Would certainly suggest you go for one of the rooms at the back.

The price is excellent but we did meet a couple who said they had managed to get a good deal at a 5 star hotel - a weekend deal apparently - which was the same price.......! So it’s always worth looking to see what deals are out there.

Great having computers to use though they do have Wi-Fi. Breakfast was adequate, though the “fresh “coffee isn’t that drinkable.

Some staff friendlier than others, though the person who we assumed looks after the breakfast seemed to spend most of her time sitting down eating it whilst watching the television and then rushing out when she realised there was nothing left to eat. Breakfast dishes were not cleared either and often we had to go into the kitchen to find a clean cup. Maybe she is the owner as seemed very much at home.

Other pluses, kitchen, roof terrace and book exchange.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 266 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

old fashion in beautiful style with special home-made atmosphere place created by young , but extraordinary helpful and professional staff. Close to the most important points of the Old Town, metro, busses. Roof terrace with amazing view and possibilities for even work (wi-fi) ! Clean rooms of similary standard,(take more care about bathrooms, please) , very well equipped kitchen with nice dining room, lovely living room/ library, with unique view over the city life day & night. very nice long stay in Santiago, because of U, Casaltura!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia-Behr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hostel is very closed to the centre and the "Mercado Central"! It has a very nice terrace on the top.
Rooms are very little and there's no place at all for the luggage!
Bathrooms are very dirty and busy. Sometimes, for Unknown reasons, are locked!
Breakfast is very poor.. Please don't go in Kitchen, you may find secular dirt on the shelves!
On the other hand is very cheap and it could be a very good alternaty to the park bench!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laseba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina L, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016
Google Translation

Casaltura Hostel Boutique cambió su administración a fines del año 2014 tomándola a cargo Valentina Larraín, Socia directora, tataranieta de la familia original, dueña de la propiedad, quien le ha dado un gran impulso y renovación, trabajando desde esa fecha en forma intensa para mejorar la atención y satisfacción de nuestros pasajeros.
Los adelantos más destacados de este período son:
-Instalación de ventanas dobles con termo panel acústico en las 15 principales habitaciones, en proceso de instalar en solo cuatro habitaciones faltantes.
-Reforzamiento del personal de aseo permanente, manteniendo la sanitización y limpieza permanente de habitaciones, espacios comunes y baños.
-Recepcionistas bilingües capacitados en la atención al huésped.
.-Muebles originales de la casa, restaurados, en recepción y habitaciones. Ambientación de la terraza del Hostal con mobiliario nuevo y plantas.
-Pintura general de la casa.
-Servicio de lavandería propio.
Mes a mes vamos incorporando nuevos adelantos y superando nuestro servicio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable but management is very poor. We stayed four nights and had to pack up and move rooms four times. Each time the room became worse standard with the last room being another flight of stairs up.
This hotel is not suitable for those who have some difficulty with stairs but staff have tried to be helpful though incompetent it seems. With such poor mangement I would be concerned about making a booking here in case the room was double booked.
The central location makes this an ideal place to visit the sights of Santiago and some cafe´s at the fish market a stroll away are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from reception area as they are very noisy as these were the first two rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casAlturAManager, Gerente at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Hi,

We have always been grateful for those who write us and give suggestions. It is a good way to get information and improve our service quality daily.

Now, the administration of the hostel, is not totally agree with what the customer wrote here:

- After their first reservation (by a Tour Operator), they did not have any problem with us. Then they went to Valparaiso and because they liked so much casAlturA, they decided to go back to the hostel and make a new reservation directly with us. I wonder: if everything was so bad, why they returned?..ok

- Next to the clients return, they were not sure of the number of nights that would to reserve, so they were each day adding one night more, reason that explains why we could not be able to located them in the same room every day.

Anyway, we will take into account that perhaps something we could have done better

Best Regards
Nicolas Diez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is a pleasant hostel but charges like a hotel. There are 3 flights of narrow stairs to climb (tough with a backpack) and basic amenities so they should not be charging $57US for a room with no bathroom. No major complaints but I think there must be better deals to be found in Santiago.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here as we transited Santiago to and from Easter Island and then to leave for the Lakes area. CasAltura is centrally located and easy to get from everywhere in the city. There are good choices for food, museums and clubbing nearby. Our rooms were spartan, but confortable.The price was right. Depending on the location, it could be quite dark with limited natual light and/ or with street noise. A travel light and earplugs can easily olve the problem. Everything was very clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is clear why Casaltura calls itself a boutique hostel. It oozes old world charm, provides all the usual hostel services & has a central, if somewhat gritty location. The public area were spacious & inviting with ornately decorated high ceilings & comfy furniture. We had double room with private bath & while it was small, it was sunny, cheerful, immaculate & had a view of the local square. (we didn't notice street noise but we are from a city & areaccustomed to the sound of traffic.) The bathroom was also small but had a great mirror, a great view & a good shower. We liked the urban location but if you are looking for a tree lined sleepy street this isn't the place for you. The staff was welcoming & helpful getting us oriented in the city but not very interested in helping us extend our stay when our plans changed. There was.Wifi in the central areas but not the rooms &one of their two guest computers didn't work. Breakfast was fine. Note that you have to climb 3 flights of pretty, if stinky stairs to get to the hostel. it was a but expensive for what it offered but ultimately we liked it, recommend it & would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texxtiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#11 of 202 in Santiago
362 reviews
Hostal Rio Amazonas
#1 of 168 in Santiago
545 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#6 of 511 in Santiago
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 168 in Santiago
215 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 511 in Santiago
770 reviews
Parron de Colores
#28 of 168 in Santiago
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casaltura The Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casaltura The Boutique Hostel

Address: San Antonio 811, Centro Historico | (Plaza de Armas Subway Station), Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: $20 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casaltura The Boutique Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and spacious, or house is decorated stylishly and warmly; the wood takes centerplace, fusing both classical and modern. Illuminated and ample, our hostel is a unique place in the city. We have 2 buildings, located next to each other. The main building is large and divided in two levels, 15 rooms with wooden floors and beautiful details. In addition, it has a terrace on the top. The second building has 4 superior rooms, and with a different entrance which gives a more calmens to our passengers. Our location is privileged, San Antonio with Ismael Valdes Street, next to the forest park; very near to the historic neighborhood of Santiago. Allowing that the tourist can easily accessible places typical of the city, such as: market Central, Plaza de Armas, Cerro San Cristobal, pre-Columbian Museum, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellavista (Patio), Bellavista La Chascona (Pablo Neruda), La piojera, Centro Mall, Board of Trustees, flag, La Moneda, Santiago Cathedral, Paseo Ahumada, Estacion Mapocho, supermarkets, banks, among others. Also we are happy to invite all our passengers to visit our new restaurant called Adobe Restaurant. Located just next to the Hostel, Adobe Restaurant is the perfect choice for having lunch or dinner in an typical Chilean cuisine of excelent quality, that offers fresh products combined in traditional recipes that will make your visit a culinary experience! If you are staying in CasAltura Hostel don't forget to ask for your free welcome drink and appetizer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casaltura The Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing