We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Don Santiago Hostel
Ranked #11 of 475 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great little hostel. Staff really friendly and helpful, making it more like visiting friends. Clean rooms and a great breakfast. Can be noisy but that's hostels for you. Well priced and in a convenient location. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    59
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
89
120
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent 2 nights in Don Santiago Hostel. The hostel is close to metro stops for the green and red line which makes it very well located. The hostel has comfortable beds, great breakfast and an extraordinary warm and friendly staff! I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maynkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights total and loved this hostel.

Rooms are just the basics but nicely decorated, breakfast was one of the best (fruit salad in the morning always a winner), gets pretty tiring waiting for one of only two showers in the hostel and its super noisy at night, you can hear every creak of the floor board.

BUT the thing that really makes the place is the people, Rodrigo worked the week day night shifts while we were there. He make us traditional Chilean drinks a few nights we were there, getting the ingredients out of his own pocket. He was also there to help us in the morning with suggestions on what to do, etc. Things, or should I say people like this really make the stay memorable and make you experiences in the city that much better!!

Thanks guys - great crew, keep it up!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tym0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hostel. The staff are very friendly and will assist you as much as possible. The hostel has a friendly vibe and the private room is nicely decorated. The only downside to this hostel is the shared bathroom, it can get a bit grubby but it's a nice hot powerful shower!! Fine for a night or two but could be cleaner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is AMAZING. For starters, let's note how they let me book via email (instead of on a hostel booking site) and when I told them I was planning to go to Valparaiso one night but couldn't tell them which, there was no problem. They didn't mind at all that my plans weren't set until the day before i left.

The boys who work here are wonderful, they were super responsive to emails and are truly concerned about how their guests are doing. They will also happily hang out, share a beer and go to a bar with you when their shifts are done.

The vibe here is also great, super friendly guests and big common spaces to hang out.

The breakfast is awesome, one of my best in south america- eggs, coffee/tea, bread with jam/butter/manjar, fresh fruit salad, etc.

One thing to note is if you're a light sleeper and really can't stand the noise of other guests, the boys give you earplugs when you check in. It can be a little noisy here, not so much from parties but from street noise, old stairs, the bell, etc. I personally am a light sleeper and still loved being here, but keep that in mind!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank labewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Myself & a friend booked into Don Santiago for 5 nights, however due to a last minute bus change we changed it to 4 nights. I emailed them & received a warm reply back with no problems in changing our booking.
The hostel itself is cute and quirky, with a keyboard, bongos & guitar in the front room. The details make the place feel really homely like flower lights & throws, it feels like you're staying at a friends house.
Pato, Rodrigo & the rest of the hostel staff gave us a warm welcome & were definitely some of the friendliest people we met on our 5 week trip in South America. the first night we ended up sharing a bottle of Chilean wine with the staff which was a great welcome!
They really do go above & beyond to make you feel at home. My friend had lost her purse & Pato turned the entire living room upside down, managing to find it under a sofa. There's no set entertainment, but we were treated to a night of terramotos - be warned they make these strong! :)
one thing I will say is that we had booked transport to the airport for 10am & were unaware the clocks had changed forward & so we ran a bit late. this isn't a reflection on the hostel itself but it did just mean we had to rush a bit!
the breakfast is yummy, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs & bread! the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are decorated wonderfully as well having no problem with hot water.
ultimately, the hostel and staff were wonderful & if I ever return to Chilé won't hesitate to return :)
Cat and Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is located in the Barrio Brasil, one of the culturally most interesting areas of Santiago. Many bars, restaurants, but also parks and museums are around. It's near to bus and two metro stations, also to station Las Hereos, where the bus from the airport drops you usually.

The Don Santiago Hostel is run by Pato and his staff. It's a rather small place, more like a house for a familiy (which it was a couple of years ago), than a place just to stay for sleeping.

The Staff is very friendly, helpful and trys to make your stay as comfortable as posible. It's a pretty chilled atmosphere, it feels more like being in a friends house, than being in a hostel.

In contrary to many other hostels and places in Santiago, this house is heated well (nights get veeeery cold during winter). In the common areas you'll find nice sofas, television, music instruments, stereo, books ....)

Also included:

- Breakfast (Coffee, Ingwer-Lemonjuice, Bake Rolls, crumbled eggs, fruits ...)
- Free Wifi
- BBQ every friday
- Other special events
- Buena Onda :)

Of course the building and the facilities are not the newest, but it's always very clean and tidy.

This is total recommendation, if you are looking for a rather small and family-like place and not a backpacker party hostel. Book long enough in advance, cos this place is very popular. If it's your first hostel after leaving home, you'll probably be asked to bring something typical from your country, e.g. Nutella, Cachasa ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas_Paraiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 198 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#4 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#10 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Santiago Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Santiago Hostel

Property: Don Santiago Hostel
Address: Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 475 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Santiago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey fellow travellers!Why staying with us?If you check the reviews, most of them point out our staff as the best. Do you know why? Because they love working at Don Santiago, and that happens when the staff feel secure about what they are 'selling' a We know that staying a hostel is sucha a life experience, we know we have hotel style matresses in dorms and double beds. We do provide the best breakfast in Santiago as follows:Brewed coffee, tea, ginger lemonade.Scrambled eggs varieties: oregano, merken (spice smoked chilli with coriander); and ciboulette.Fresh fruit salad with honey. We are a million miles away from the business-like check-'em-in check-'em-out hostels Staff is fantastically friendly and the house feels like staying in a home with friends where you can relax and play music with the guys there, or just listen to them play.Toilets are cleaned everyday, maybe you will have to wait a bit when the house is full, but usually when people is having breakfast, the rest of people is showering, so it works wellWe don`t push people to buy tours, seriously, Santiago is such a safe city, where you can go anywhere (wineries, beach, Valparaiso) by yourself, and we can get you instructions in order to make it cheaper. However, there are tours available, just ask. =)The house is from 1910, wood floors are creaky, and if you are a light sleeper, we do provide earplugs on request. We are not a party hostel though, please know that. Quiet time starts at 01:00There are no rules in Don Santiago, once again, We do appeal to 'travelers common sense'Welcome to Don Santiago!!!!! , Certificate of Excellence TRIPADVISOR 2012'and remember, what happens in Don Santiago, stays at Don Santiago ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Don Santiago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing