We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hostel with great vibe and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Santiago Hostel
Ranked #10 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the best hostel that we have stayed in on our trip of Sth America so far.
The hostel is small and cosy with a really nice lounge area. It was pretty cold when we stayed, but our room had a heater so we were cosy. The staff were even so kind as to help me watch an international rugby game on their TV at 4 in the morning!

Pros:
- Friendly and very helpful staff
- Great breakfast including eggs
- Fast wifi internet
- Pisco Sours!!
- Socialble crowd
- Good location - close to Metro, Supermarket, ATM
- Quiet

Cons
- Shower was warm not hot

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higgiewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spend 8 days in the hostel and it was just great. The place is very agreeable, the rooms are confortable and everything is perfect clean.

There is also the staff, they all are very nice, sociable and helpfull, you can ask everything in many idioms (spanish, english and also a little bit of portuguease), and they will help you to make your trip awesome to santiago, as was mine!

The hostel is also well located, there is markets, restaurants and metro to green and red line around. Anyways, i recommend Don Santiago to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupiloslash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hostel is definitely one to stay at if staying in Santiago and looking for a home away from home. The minimal rooms allow for a great family vibe, with Pato, Rodrigo and the boys being excellent hosts, well educated on the city and things to do and always fun and willing to help or just hang. Clean, comfortable, and included breakfast is amazing! They go above and beyond to ensure that your stay in Chile is the best possible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evcesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I really can't thank Rodrigo, Pablo and Andreas enough!! Basically if it wasn't for these guys we would have been completly homeless.
My friends and I had travelled from Pucon, Chile by bus which was a long tiresome journey. We arrived very early in the freezing cold morning and made no hostel booking due to the fact we made a last minute decision to leave Pucon and head to Santiago for the Lollapalooza festival, so we had no time. We had no internet and we were cold and miserable. We had done no research on Santiago so literally lost in the city. We had huge bags to carry with us and decided to just jump in a taxi and have the driver pitstop at different hostels. We were doomed! All the hostels were fully booked even the hotels. We didn't know what to do we couldn't believe it. One of the hotels did recommend this place but we already knew it would be booked, we tried it anyway. SO our friend jumped out the taxi (which cost us alot of money as it was) and he rushed back and said they have no space but we can come in and sort something out. We were forever thankful!! We passed out on the sofa, beanbags and floor. We were even given blankets and breakfast!
The first thing i noticed about the hostel was its homely atmosphere. It was warm, cosy and so friendly! I remember seeing Rodrigo on the sofa and gave the sofa up to us. We were looked after so well!!!

After my friends left i ended up staying longer! I'm so glad i did because we had parties (Pablo birthday and others), BBQ and was shown around the city. Rodrigo even made Pisco sour and Terremoto (earthquake) which i never got the experiance trying outside in the bars.
Everyone was so accommodating and just so friendly. A couple of nights the beds were fully booked but they allowed me to sleep downstairs until the next bed was free the next day. I really have not had service like that ever! They are so cool and lovely to chat to. Also very easy to make friends as everybody just hangs out downstairs.

The hostel is very clean, great location! Very close to supermarket (10 min walk), restaurants (3 min walk), shops (2 min walk), subway (10 min walk) and they have the BEST HOMEMADE EMPANADA small little restaurant only about few minutes walk from the hostel. They are HUGE and CHEAP!

No problems or issues with Don Santiago!!! 5* HOSTEL!!

MISS YOU ALL XXXXXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirinaWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Santiago can be somewhat boring in comparison to the rest of Chile. I had to come back to Santiago to rest for a week before my flight to Peru. And I wondered how in the world I was gonna live through being in a a tiny city with nothing to do for a week. But choosing the Don Santiago made that week fly by. With great breakfasts, lively conversations from the guests and staff, this lively hostel livened up a mundane city. In addition to that, the staff are locals so I got the inside scoop on where to shop, where to eat, and I got greater understanding to modern day Chilean life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is definetly the best hostel we stayed in Santiago (and we tried several). The hostel is small (no more than 15 people) and has a very friendly atmosphere. The common areas are really comfy. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff are super nice (especially Rodrigo, who organised a bbq when we were there which was a great way to meet the fellow travellers staying in the hostel). If you look for a hostel where you'll feel at home, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This place has everything that you might need as a traveller. Genuinely kind, helpful, warm-hearted owners and a housekeeper, a reasonable price(if you consider the price in Santiago), nice and clean rooms & bathrooms. And first of all, the best breakfast that I've ever had around South America!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUNNNPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 499 in Santiago
751 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 499 in Santiago
1,038 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 499 in Santiago
550 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 499 in Santiago
253 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 499 in Santiago
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Santiago Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Santiago Hostel

Address: Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago 52252, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $13 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Don Santiago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey fellow travellers!Why staying with us?If you check the reviews, most of them point out our staff as the best. Do you know why? Because they love working at Don Santiago, and that happens when the staff feel secure about what they are 'selling' a We know that staying a hostel is sucha a life experience, we know we have hotel style matresses in dorms and double beds. We do provide the best breakfast in Santiago as follows:Brewed coffee, tea, ginger lemonade.Scrambled eggs varieties: oregano, merken (spice smoked chilli with coriander); and ciboulette.Fresh fruit salad with honey. We are a million miles away from the business-like check-'em-in check-'em-out hostels Staff is fantastically friendly and the house feels like staying in a home with friends where you can relax and play music with the guys there, or just listen to them play.Toilets are cleaned everyday, maybe you will have to wait a bit when the house is full, but usually when people is having breakfast, the rest of people is showering, so it works wellWe don`t push people to buy tours, seriously, Santiago is such a safe city, where you can go anywhere (wineries, beach, Valparaiso) by yourself, and we can get you instructions in order to make it cheaper. However, there are tours available, just ask. =)The house is from 1910, wood floors are creaky, and if you are a light sleeper, we do provide earplugs on request. We are not a party hostel though, please know that. Quiet time starts at 01:00There are no rules in Don Santiago, once again, We do appeal to 'travelers common sense'Welcome to Don Santiago!!!!! , Certificate of Excellence TRIPADVISOR 2012'and remember, what happens in Don Santiago, stays at Don Santiago ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Santiago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing