We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable but didn't blow our minds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astrid & Gaston - CLOSED

Astrid & Gaston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but didn't blow our minds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Service was excellent and set the tone for formal dining. Although our server's English was minimal and our Spanish non-existent, we managed to communicate just fine. We had a great table with a view of the kitchen. I enjoyed my shrimp appetizer more than my duck breast, which although flavourful wasn't as tender as I expected. My husband's scallops were delicious.

As stated in my title, we enjoyed it very much, but it didn't blow our minds. Somehow, after reading previous reviews, I was expecting just a bigger Wow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onehundredcountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,384
    522
    238
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fine cuisine and thoughtful wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is highly recommended. Service is courteous and efficient. The wine list is locally representative and features some wonderful Reservas wines. The food was beautifully prepared

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodCriticGuardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but not life changing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had organised dinner at Astrid y Gaston prior to our trip to Chile as a belated wedding anniversary night out. I was really excited about the evening especially after some of the other foods we had already tried in Santiago.
The entrees were both delicious and HUGE! We were pleasantly surprised by our choice of the tasting plate and the scallops and couldn't wait for our mains.

Unfortunately, while the mains were very beautifully presented, we found that they weren't the standard we were expecting. My husband had the lamb which was delicious but didn't come with any real sides other than some small fried croquets. We would have much preferred some simple vegetables. As for my fish, it was interesting but slightly dry and the "mixed seafood" it was supposed to come with was actually just a tiny piece of octopus tentacle and a mussel.

The night itself was still very pleasant and the staff are very professional however overall, I didn't feel that it lived up to my expectations. The price was reasonable by western standards but definitely expensive for Chile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice food not impressive place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved the food and we had the tasting menu, staff was great also but we were not pleased by decoration

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wladfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAO PAULO
Level Contributor
233 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“best lamb ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

ordered patagonia lamb. Best lamb of my life so far. The wine list is fantastic and the sommelier will help you pair the wine and food. Don't miss the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing