We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay: very spacious room, quiet rooftop pool area, friendly staff, good location”
Review of W Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Santiago
Ranked #38 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Memorable stay: very spacious room, quiet rooftop pool area, friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Had four fun-filled nights in the lovely W Hotel in Santiago. Being Santiago's newest luxury hotel, the hotel is very modern, stylish and rather like walking into an art museum. The lobby and reception area is not located on the ground floor as you walk into the main hotel entrance, you have to access it by a lift. It is in the upscale Las Condes are of Santiago, which is a safe, quiet neighbourhood and there are restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk away, but El Golf metro station (red line on metro map) is just a few minutes walk away. Takes a while to get used to the different lifts, as there is one set that goes to all the guest rooms (which you need a key-card for to operate the lift) and another to go down to the ground floor and spa, and yet another separate lift for the swimming pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I arrived in the morning, way before official check-in time of 3pm, but although a room was offered, I wanted to wait until a higher floor room was ready, so I relaxed by the pool until the room of my choice was ready. Wi-Fi is free around the lobby areas, just not in the rooms. There are also free computers for guests to use by reception if you don't have your own laptop.
Me and some friends had travelled from all different countries to attend a rock concert, so we all stayed in the same hotel. We all enjoyed it a lot, but everybody thought that the rooms were very expensive, although I really liked my room which was very spacious and my bed was very comfortable indeed. There was no complimentary teas and coffees in the rooms, which was a shame. The toiletries are very good, though. I pre-booked via Expedia and was lucky to get a better deal than what most of my friends paid and got breakfast all included every morning. The breakfast was excellent. Compared to anywhere similar in London, the cocktails and drinks at the bars in the W were cheaper, although expensive by Chile standards. The main bar on the reception floor serves great cocktails until around 2am. Wasn't that impressed by Whiskey Blue, which is the hotel's own nightclub, it was just full of locals and the music wasn't that good. Food in the hotel is very overpriced, so I ate at local places for dinner. There is a Starbucks just across the road around the block and a few reasonably priced reataurants. Down the road there is a convenience store/supermarket for food and drinks that is much cheaper than buying anything essential at the hotel and it is open until very late (I think it's 24 hours, not sure).
One of the best things about this hotel is the swimming pool up on the 21st floor rooftop. Fabulous views of the Andes and Las Condes area, on a clear day you can see an amazing view of the city. I spent most of the daytimes by the pool and made the most of the lovely weather (as it was freezing in England and this was a short holiday!) as it is Summer in Chile from November - February and the best time of year to go to Chile if you want the sunshine and warm climate. I would definitely stay in this hotel again when next in Santiago.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    460
    186
    72
    52
See reviews for
173
664
84
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Nice hotel but for this price you would expect the internet to be included. It's strange these 5 star hotels still charge this separately. They also don't charge extra for bathroom use do they?
We could hear the houseboats from the Whiskeybar loud and clear in our room the 8th floor. A design flaw they're going to correct next year.
It's a nice hotel still suffering from start-up issues. I'd wait a while before going there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamSteveHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights before Christmas and it had all the things you expect from the W brand: funky, large lobby areas where you can lounge, people watch and surf the internet, a selection of restaurants (which we did not try but heard they were good), modern room designs and of couse...lots of dark lighting in the hallways! i am a Starwood Platinum member so we got upgraded to a WOWsuite which had 2 bathrooms....something that is very rare in most hotels, even in suites, and definitely a plus. the bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet and they brought up us mini wagon wheels type goodies everynight at check in. The pool at the top of the hotel is very cool - the view is awesome...it doens't have the biggest lounge area and a limited number of cabanas and deck lounges, but it was never very busy so there was always space. The neighbourhood has lots of cool architecture and sculpture, and it is definitely a corporate area/upscale area; if you are looking for texture, more of the european influence and a more middle class experience, this area isn't for you, but everything like that is a short cab ride/metro stop away. There is a great Juan Valdez coffee shop in the lobby of the hotel so you can grab lattes and cappucinos and salads etc. In the lower lobby there is also a neat gourmet grocery store selling wines, meats, cheeses, spices etc. Definitely on the upper end price wise but fun to look around and buy the odd thing. the concierge was great - helpful for everything and got prices and quotes to us for various things in quick turnaround. we never ordered room service so can't say anything about that. The fitness and spa area is incredible and is the best gym i have ever seen at a hotel...top notch equipment, lots of space, lots of classes, plus a huge shower/change area with steam, sauna and loungers. A-list. The hotel is new and clean and definitely a recommend for this great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This hotel is relatively new and the rooms are furnished nicely. The pool has a nice deck and the lobby has a quiet coffee-house like feel. Great fitness center. Where the W experience ends is service. As part of a busy work trip I have had the displeasure of having room service five times with quality varying from OK to pretty bad--overcooked and tastes like it has been sitting out a while. Items are often left off the order. "Whatever/Whenever" is a joke; they can't even arrange room service of food from the hotel's own Asian restaurant. For the first week I was here there were no Bliss products in the room but after asking they appeared. The worst part is the "old" room service menu was left in the book with the new one, showing recently food cost almost 1/3 less. Inflation is not high in Chile, but seems to be at the W.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankees20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here for one night after staying at San Cristobal Tower.

After staying there, my expectations were raised so when I arrived at this hotel, I had higher expectation than if I didn't stay at the previous hotel.

Check-in was smooth and check-in agent very friendly. The staff overally were nice but not as polished at San Cristobal.

The room was fine and had 2 double beds. The bathroom had one massive shower (which looked really funky however there was leakage of water as the seal on the class wasn't totally sealed). It had a separate toilet room within the bathroom. It had a dimmer switch instead of a normal light switch.

The hotel is located in the upmarket district of Las Condes. The metro station is not too far away. There was also free internet in the lobby. You also need to take two lifts to get to your room. One from the main street where you to go level 4 which is the lobby and another short walk to the hotel lift to take to your room.

This hotel is about the 'cool' factor so things may have more style than substance but stil a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

W Hotel is a well known brand, but chileans have made it the best of the best. Here you find kindness, great follow up for anything, amazing interior design, excellent breakfast, and the most important is the cordillera view from the room balcony !! However, the W hotel space distribution is complicated....... the hotel entrance is in one floor, but the front desk reception is in another floor. The W Hotel has a top floor with a beatiful vew of Santiago, where you can have a drink and some chilean fish tapas. The W hotel location is the best in town with excellent restaurants and very clean streets. I recommend it to every one for the balance between the nice hotel design, the food quality, great location, and wonderful service

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dremotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a night after a week in San Pedro de Atacama. This hotel is amazing... I wish I could have stayed longer. Totally modern and hip design - both in the room and the lobby area. In the room there are fantastic Bliss bath & body products. This is a super nice new high-end hotel - top of the line.

What I didn't like:
- The reception staff not too knowledgeable...they sent me off in one of the hotel taxis across town to a Fonda (Chilean Bicentennial celebration) that didn't exist...that was a little stressful and cost me $50 extra for the taxi
- The hotel taxis in general are expensive, and during the holiday they were the only ones available
- The busboy taking my bags to my room dropped my bag with my laptop, and the same thing happened when I checked out (had moved the computer to a different bag)!

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Chiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#18 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Grand Hyatt Santiago
#43 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#7 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#32 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
San Cristobal Tower
#57 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Santiago

Property: W Santiago
Address: Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 8420505, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#22 Business Hotel in Santiago
#29 Family Hotel in Santiago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Santiago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Santiago reinvents the style and sophistication, becoming an icon for fashion and tendency in the city. Enjoy the WET(R) (swimming pool) with panoramic view of Santiago. Embrace yourself with the exuberating unique colors and flavors that our restaurants and bars offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Santiago Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing