We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option in Santiago”
Review of W Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Santiago
Ranked #41 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Aventura, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Santiago”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Location: Las Condes is a very nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants, shops and public transportation.
Room: I got an upgrade to a large room with a nice balcony.
Food: Excellent breakfast.
Lounge: excellent drinks. Try the Pisco sauer, Chilean version. I loved the mini empanadas.
One minor problem: the reception does not lend you an adaptor for the power outlet. They sell it! Never saw that a nice hotel.
One major problem:
On my departure day I asked two regular cab drivers how much it would cost to go to the airport. Both quoted $20,000. H pesos. However, the the hotel porter got me a street cab, the rate was 30,000. I refused to pay that amount and told them to get my bags out of the car. The cab and hotel attendant whispered about the situation and the driver agreed to take me for $20,000. On the way to the airport, he told me that the hotel attendants only allow cabs by the hotel if they charge $30,000 and attendants pocket $10,000 pesos.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello lgoncalves,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in W Santiago. It is a great pleasure to know that your overall perception was good.

I would like to apologize for the situation with the cab driver, we have no knowledge of the mentioned matter. I have sent you an inbox message for further details on this case.

We thank you for acknowledging the location, breakfast, drinks and mini empanadas.

We wish you a great day and invite you to return.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    469
    191
    75
    57
See reviews for
176
680
84
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The W strives to be hip and cool with its catchy W themed signs and phrases around the hotel. The upper floors have great balconies, but I was not so lucky to be installed on one of those floors. The lighting is extremely dim in the rooms making it tough for a 40 something woman to see well enough to put on make up. Also, I found that the maid staff was reluctant to replace all the sundry items. For example, I used a shower cap one morning, they took it and didn't replace it for the rest of the week!

Also, because of the poor lighting, i couldn't see to set the temperature appropriately in the room. The thermostat was not an intuitive, simple model and was set on some weird setting that the maintenance staff couldn't even figure out. So I was cold most of the time there.

Breakfast was very nice with a very complete buffet.

Room Tip: Try to get on a balcony floor for the access to outdoors and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello CanadianRosemary ,

Thank you for taking the time to write about W Santiago.

On behalf of all the staff, I would like to apologize for the situations you have mentioned (Thermostat, dim light in room, and reluctance from the Style Department ( Housekeeping))

I would like to inform you that we are currently changing all the lighting system in rooms in order to improve in this particular aspect. We have informed the Style Manager in respect with the reluctance in the room, in order to promote training in this area. We are very sorry our staff was not able to solve the situation with the A/C, we will look more into detail on this matter,

We thank you for your feedback, it will surely help us improve as a hotel.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our only issue was the odd floor to ceiling window in the shower room which gave us a bit more exposure to Santiago than we had in mind. We switch rooms to a different configuration so as not to feel uncomfortable...but otherwise the staff was super friendly and the breakfast was excellent. It is definitely a "W" - a bit on the dark side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Traveling_a_lot4fun,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in W Santiago.

We are grateful for the feedback you have provided us and we thank you for the acknowledgement of the friendly staff and upscale breakfast.

We invite you to come back soon.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This, the only W in Chile is beautiful and very modern and well decorated. Surrounded by great restaurants in an upscale safe and friendly neighborhood...yet with the best restaurants on the premises.Make reservations early as they fill up fast. I was amazed by the contrast to the best that buenos Aries has to offer which is no contest .stayed in both cities pre and post cruise. My advise is to stay away from Buenos Aries...no matter which hotel...all areas are unsafe and are third world compared to Santiago and the W in particular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello DrZFortLauderdale ,

Greetings from Chile!

Thank you for taking your time to acknowledge the services, restaurants, location and modern decoration and ambience.

It is a delight to know that you enjoyed W Santiago.

Thank you for choosing us and sharing your comments in Tripadvisor.

We wish you a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I are both SPG Platinum so we get to enjoy a lot of W, Westin's and Sheratons in any given year.
You know what you are going to get with the W brand, and the Santiago location doesn't disappoint. A great location, trendy, boutique type feel and great service.
I was really impressed with the Concierge who helped us tremendously in working with the rental car company to arrange all the details involved in driving the car to Argentina.
We will both be back, beautiful city and lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello David,

What a great joy to know that a Starwood Preferred Platinum Guest takes his time to write a comment on Tripadvisor of W Santiago.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time in our hotel considering it to have a great location, trendy, boutique type feel and great service.

Thank you for acknowledging our great Concierge Team.

We invite you to come back soon for another W Santiago experience.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved this hotel, we stayed for 4 days and 3 nights, and enjoyed the hotel amenities. We hung out on the rooftop pool, which over looks the Andes mountains, and the hotel is in a great location walking distance from many restaurants. We also had dinner at Osaka which is located in the hotel, and offered delicious sushi and cocktails.

Room Tip: Corner room offers great views of the city and Andes mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairecass012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Clairecass012 ,

I would like to star by thanking you for taking your time to write a review of your stay in W Santiago.

It's delightful to know that your overall experience in our hotel was a 5 of 5 in Tripadvisor. We thank you very much for acknowledging our services ( Osaka, hotel amenities, Roof Top Pool) and location.

We invite you to come back for another W Santiago experience.

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Best W experience thus far. From the minute we arrived, throughout our stay (six days) and departure, we always felt welcome, we'll attended too and somewhat spoiled. Our room was a corner one with breathtaking views of the snow topped Andes, spacious, well appointed and the shower thrusted a powerful flow of water through its rain shower head; felt like a mini waterfall. We got the best sleep on a firm king bed with plush pillows and sheets. The food, specially breakfast, and drinks worthy of a five star will not disappoint you. Centrally located, safe, walked everywhere to near by restaurants and even to the Mercado through Santiago's vast, interconnected parks all the way there. Thank you Juan for all hour help at checking in and adjusting our final bill without incident at checkout. We look forward to staying here again when we return next year for our Patagonia tour.

Room Tip: Corner room facing The Andes Mountains is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepecrusader70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Guest Relations Manager at W Santiago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Pepecrusader70 ,

Greetings from W Santiago!

We are thrilled to know you had such a wonderful experience in our hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the warm welcome, the food, location, services as well as the room description of its view and bed comfort.

We are very happy to know that Juan Contreras was acknowledge by you because of his service oriented attitude at Check-Out.

See you on your next Patagonia Tour for another W Santiago experience!

Warmest Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#17 of 200 in Santiago
1,358 reviews
Hotel Santiago
#44 of 200 in Santiago
2,038 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 200 in Santiago
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#30 of 200 in Santiago
779 reviews
San Cristobal Tower
#60 of 200 in Santiago
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Santiago

Property: W Santiago
Address: Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 8420505, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#22 Business Hotel in Santiago
#29 Family Hotel in Santiago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Santiago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Santiago reinvents the style and sophistication, becoming an icon for fashion and tendency in the city. Enjoy the WET(R) (swimming pool) with panoramic view of Santiago. Embrace yourself with the exuberating unique colors and flavors that our restaurants and bars offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Santiago Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing