We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Top Service”
Review of W Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Santiago
Ranked #41 of 200 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Top Service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Reading the other Tripadvisor posts about the W Santiago, I was curious how the service would be. However, after 5 nights at the hotel, I have nothing but great things to say from the service I received.

I booked a standard room using SPG Cash & Points. I'm not sure if we were upgraded to an enhanced room, but it had massive ceilings and we faced the Andes mountains on the 10th floor. We had no complaint with our room.

We used the concierge and room service quite a bit as well. In every instance, they were professional, spoke fluent English (without accents) and treated us like VIPs. We had the concierge book us a rental car for 1 day to drive out to Isla Negra/Vina and they took care of it, including having the rental car be delivered and picked up at the W Hotel. When I returned the car, I didn't have to wait for the rental company, I just gave my keys to the W concierge and they took care of it.

We didn't dine in any of the restaurants so I cannot comment on the wait staff, but our room service was always on time, service with a smile. Additionally, our housekeeping was excellent each of the 5 days. We tipped 1000 Chilean pesos ($2 USD) each day, so perhaps it made a difference o rmaybe not.

Check in and check out were very professionally handled. I was welcomed as a SPG Gold and offered my amenities (free wifi and late checkout) without having to remind/ask them. At checkout, they explained that paying with my credit card in full avoided the VAT tax that Chilean residents have to pay. Saved me quite a bit for my 5 night stay.

The one negative with the W was the quality of the lunch/dinner food. The pool menu was the same as the room service menu, so one day at the pool, we ordered a hamburger and a dozen oysters for lunch. The burger was quite horrible and the oysters were clearly the frozen kind.

The breakfasts were great though. We ordered the omlette and the french toast a few times.

When we come back to Santiago, we'll be sure to stay at the W again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at W Santiago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Songer5,

Thank you so much for your comments, we will look into the situation concerning the point you mentioned of the pool. We are happy to know you had a wonderful time with us.

We hope to see you soon for another W Santiago experience.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    469
    191
    75
    57
See reviews for
176
679
84
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

None of the texture of the city but the Metro is only 5 minute walk away and it gets you everywhere. Rooms with balconies are great and worth the extra $. Standard rooms...only work if you plan to live on the pool deck (only open 11am-7pm during our visit) or in the lobby as the standard room is dark and unremarkable. After an air conditioning problem in our standard room, we were upgraded the following day to a truly marvelous room. Staff was great on every contact. Cocktails in the lobby were priced at what you expect in such a place but not unreasonable.
The pool was nice...all depends on what the crowd you are sharing it with are like. We were surprised by the large number of loud children up there.
But get out of this neighborhood and see the real Santiago...it's amazing. This is our second visit to Santiago in 4 years because we enjoy it so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The restaurant W Lounge is excellent. A wine choice with so many wines that you get an iPad where you can inform yourself and choose. I can recommend the "Casa Silva Los Lingues Carmenere", an excellent wine made from an old grape-vine which is no longer existing in Europe and the US, the seafood starters and the tuna steak.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at W Santiago, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Yoyannik,

Gracias por compartir tu excelente experiencia en el W Lounge. Estamos felices que hayas disfrutado tanto con nosotros.
Esperamos que vuelvas pronto a pasar otra experiencia wow en W Santiago.

Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went with my husband for drinks at the lobby bar and luckily we were in a good mood so we laughed at the lousy service. The waitresses do not cater to their customers. We had to call them several times for everything that we wanted to order. For a glass of water we had to call the waitress three times. When they brought you drinks or food they almost threw them on the table and left very rapidly without asking if you needed anything else. The drinks and the food were very good and the place is very nice but these employees have to be trained on cuatomer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzierosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at W Santiago, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Lizzie Rosso,

Thank you for sharing your commnets with us. We will note these and take them as an opportunity to imrpove.
We hope that you will return and give us the oportunity wow you!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guarulhos, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been at the W Santiago for first time and my expectations were by far exceeded. Very well located, comfortable room, an outstanding gym (O2 Club), great public areas decoration, very well served by all staff. I do really recommend to stay there on your next business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandreFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSantiago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at W Santiago, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Alexandre Franco!


Thanks so much for sharing your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A typical "W" Hotel. Nice sense of style - but not seeming to embrace much of local culture. The service on the other hand - not up to standard. They fell short on a few occassions, and never felt a welcoming sense at all - even though I am a Starwood Platinum member. Would try other hotels before returning to this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at a few W hotels and they have all been good, but W Santiago was by far the best! Rooms and amenities are standard W. Very cool, very dark, and very comfortable. Location was excellent - quiet part of town that felt very very safe (important for first time travelers), and close enough to the subway that every other part of the city was easily accessible. What made the stay, was the friendliness of the staff and the amazing service provided by the concierge desk - from booking last minute day tours, to dinner reservations (on new year's eve!), they came through each and every time. Because of them we were able to make the most of our short stay in Santiago. Thank you!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#17 of 200 in Santiago
1,358 reviews
Hotel Santiago
#44 of 200 in Santiago
2,038 reviews
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#8 of 200 in Santiago
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
Noi Vitacura
#30 of 200 in Santiago
779 reviews
San Cristobal Tower
#60 of 200 in Santiago
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Santiago

Property: W Santiago
Address: Isidora Goyenechea 3000, Santiago 8420505, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Las Condes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#22 Business Hotel in Santiago
#29 Family Hotel in Santiago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Santiago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Santiago reinvents the style and sophistication, becoming an icon for fashion and tendency in the city. Enjoy the WET(R) (swimming pool) with panoramic view of Santiago. Embrace yourself with the exuberating unique colors and flavors that our restaurants and bars offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Santiago Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing