We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Santiago”
Review of Casa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Provence
Ranked #36 of 160 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We are a couple from NZ doing a round the world trip. This b&b is one of the nicest on our trip so far (4 months). It's more like staying at a friend's house. Made very special by the friendly staff, especially Maria Teresa who made us home made empanadas to share Chilean food with us! She spoke excellent English and was very kind and helpful.

Set in a renovated villa, the rooms are large, kitted with a basin and tv and wifi throughout. We had 5 nights here at the upstairs double room with a balcony for 32000 pesos/night with breakfast inclusive. Breakfast is very good with bread, jam, ham, cheese, fruit and eggs.

The bathrooms are shared but they are modern and cleaned daily. One bathroom between every two rooms so wasn't a problem at all.

The place is secure, and the nearest metro is 15min walk away (Salvador) and services town centre, single fare 700 pesos so very convenient. There is a supermarket and laundromat three blocks away. There is a well kept garden with gazebo to sit under as well as a space to hang washing.

Overall, an excellent place to stay in Santiago, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Casa Provence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

I spent about a week at this great bed and breakfast (I would not consider it a hostel because the feeling was much more that of a home and there was a lot of privacy and comfort). Maria Teresa was the caretaker at night and in the early mornings and she made my stay incredibly comfortable. There were a few issues with the electricity and the room when I arrived (it was winter and I wanted to make sure the heat would work!) and she was attentive and quick to resolve the problem. She was consistently kind and generous and even gave me detailed directions (after spending quite some time doing online research) to a local market where I could find rare ingredients for making a specific meal for my grandmother who was sick. The place was clean, comfortable and conveniently located close to my family's residence in Santiago. I recommend this place completely. And I thank Maria Teresa immensely for her special way of making sure guests were happy here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hostal is in a converted house, but it is quite cold and noise travels, so the 24 hour reception can be quite disturbing at night. There are some nice members of staff, who are helpful. There was a member of staff, possibly the owner, who was not particularly friendly, very clinical and cold. The hostal is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, quite far from the centre of the city.
I probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

we spent 4 nights here and it wasn´t long enough! the hostal is set in a beautiful converted house and provided the perfect base for our stay in santiago. the owners were super helpful - the chattiest, loveliest people you could hope to meet. they organised a great all-inclusive skiing day trip (which we highly recommend), ordered numerous taxis for us, and generally helped us with our every need. breakfast was plentiful and the communal dining area was great for meeting fellow travelers. the area of providencia is a great neighbourhood with restaurants and cafes not far from romandia. it was a great choice for us!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank daveandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very helpful people, comfortable beds, enjoyed the breakfast... felt like going to a friend's home!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandpitrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Im staying in Hostal Romandia for 3 month now. It is a beautiful hostal, great location, nice area here in providencia and the owners of the hostal are very very friendly and helpful people.
Last weekend the earthquake in santiago was a big shock for me because I never experienced something like that before.
But I was surprised when I left the house two days later to go downtown. I havent seen any destroyed or damaged buldings and the city just didnt looked like an earthquake had taken place.
Eventhough many tourists cancel their trip to Chile, friends from Germany will come to visit me. The highways to the coast arent damaged, nor any streets in the city and even the airport works normal again so that we have the possibility to travel.
I also saw many tourists in the center of the city behaving as if nothing happened and enjoying their vacations in Santiago.
So if you planned a trip to Chile and Santiago dont be afraid of the bad news and horrible pictures you see in tv. Its something horrible that happened last week, but people try to go back to normal life.
So enjoy Santiago, because its worth visiting =)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenitaFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My two friends and I stayed at this hostel for a few days in July. It was the nicest hostel we stayed in during our travels. Very clean, good breakfast with a nice variety, accomodating staff. It's on a safe, quiet street near the Italian Embassy. The bus picks up a few blocks away with easy access to the Metro. I'd happily recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
#31 of 160 in Santiago
46 reviews
Providencia
Alma Bed&Breakfast
Alma Bed&Breakfast
#27 of 160 in Santiago
36 reviews
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Providencia Bed & Breakfast
Providencia Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 160 in Santiago
113 reviews
Parron de Colores
#22 of 160 in Santiago
81 reviews
Providencia
B&B Conchita Flores
B&B Conchita Flores
#23 of 160 in Santiago
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Provence

Address: Roman Diaz 1403, Santiago 7501203, Chile (Formerly Hostal Romandia)
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: $42 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Provence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has bright and warm environments making it very welcoming for guests. We have a team of collaborators committed to customer service. The neighborhood is characterized by an atmosphere of tranquility, close to touristic and typical areas, gastronomic sectors, green areas, museums, art and decoration galleries, garages, Hospitals and other commercial activity. The "Providencia" district has good access to the hystorical center of Santiago, Metro stations (Underground), Costanera Center Mall, National Stadium, and is the main area for Offices and Bussines in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing