We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made everything easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santiago Hillside Hotel
Ranked #159 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Jorge has built a very nice B&B, it's a remodeled home that has all the requirements a modern traveler needs, wifi, laundry, cable tv with loads of channels. Andi is an amazing cook, she turned a simple breakfast into a delight, we stayed there 10 days and they took care of us by arranging transportation to Valle Nevado (best ski resort BTW). Jorge also has a B&B run by his charming son Phillip in Valparaíso, when we arrived a wine rep was there and we got a free one hour wine tasting. If I could make one recommendation, when you rent a car get one with a GPS as getting back to Santiago is more difficult than you might think.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brycesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Santiago Hillside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

we had some customers comming to chile for a business meeting, we wanted to greet them with a nice dinner. since they wanted the dinner to be KOSHER, we founded out that the hillside hotel offered this kind of services. we had a deliciuos meal. the service was provided by a famous kosher catering company in town. we hade a great time and our customers were amazed and thankfull for the beautiful place and delicious meal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The "Hotel" is more like a large family home in spanish style facing east with uninterrupted views to the Andes . Pool area and pool was great after a hot day.-cooling down looking at the snow capped mountains . Rooms very comfortable and breakfast consistantly good . Owners and staff were very obliging and courteous

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel/B&B can only be described as a "hidden gem". Nestled at the foot of the Andes on the east side of Santiago in Las Condes, this facility boasts 7 rooms, some with patios and a small pool. The rooms were spacious, spotless and the service provided by Andrea and her cook was impeccable.
Although the hotel is probably most used during ski season it should not be overlooked during the Chilean summer. Our host Jorge went out his way to make us welcome during our five days stay and the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic.
My wife and I would recommend this exquisite property unreservedly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

It does have the feel of a Tanzanian colonial mansion, lots of stylish furniture, high ceilings, a magnificent view in what looks like a posh district. The whole place has been very carefully laid out, elegantly built and furnished and staffed with caring personel to make for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David0ff_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I stayed at the Santiago Hillside hotel in between business trips to relax and get out of the city for which it was perfect. It's about 20-30 minutes taxi drive to buzzy Santiago centre. The owners are very friendly and care for their guests, they even personally picked me up and brought me to the hotel without charging me anything.
Would definitively recommend the hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Unfortunately there was a mix up with our booking which was very frustrating at 4am - basically they didn't have it, and then started quibbling about the rate I'd previously agreed with the owner. This resulted in us trying and failing to stay somewhere else. So we ended up back there, which in the end all worked out ok and our agreed rate was sorted. The housekkeeper keeps the place spotless and is VERY hardworking! lovely pool, views, decor and breakfast. Only downside is it is rather far out from Santaigo Centre but good location for ski ing in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantiagoHillside, Owner at Santiago Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

First, let me thank you for the wonderful comments of our beautiful Inn and simply go on to try to advise our clients of the importance to communicate a late or extremely late check in as it was this case, 0400am. Mrs. Veronica a wonderful lady staff was on duty that night and while she was expecting the passengers’ up till midnight, she thought it was a no show. Unfortunately because of her limited English speaking skills she was unable to relate to the one guest commenting on rates and room type at that time of night, whom had a different last name than the booked passenger. She simply gave him the rack rate as she thought it was a walk in and not the expected guests and since no document or email was provided that could have voided all misunderstandings. Not to mention the departure because of rate issue and then the return at 0500am yet for another round with sleepy Mrs. Veronica , that at this point could not figure out what was going on. Nevertheless and in a show of great hospitality she proceeded to give the guests their rooms and sort things out in the early morning, as the reviewer pointed out. At 0800am when I was advised of the issue things where quickly resolved to our guests entire satisfaction.
Regarding our location, we feel we have the best ´possible location of any hotel in Santiago. We are located in the town of Las Condes at the foothills of the Andes within 2 miles from 2 mayor malls, Mall Sport, Observatories, downtown picturesque Lo Barnechea, dining, art galleries, even a Starbucks, 15 minutes by car to downtown Santiago, 25 minutes from the SCL Airport. However we are just above the smog of Santiago in a nature conservancy zone full of quails, birds, owls, rabbits in our own 7 acre gated paradise which occasionally but very rarely we get the visit of a magnificent Condor. Unfortunately like any exclusive residential suburb it is easier to get around in a vehicle.
Finally, we thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago
10.4 mi away
Chalet Valluga
Chalet Valluga
#1 of 4 in Farellones
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Acacias De Vitacura
Hotel Acacias De Vitacura
#114 of 202 in Santiago
60 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Posada de Farellones
Hotel Posada de Farellones
#2 of 4 in Farellones
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Santiago La Dehesa
5.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza El Bosque Nueva Las Condes
13.9 mi away
Hotel Tres Puntas
Hotel Tres Puntas
#3 of 3 in Valle Nevado
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Hillside Hotel

Address: Camino a Farellones 15201, Santiago 7591511, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santiago Hillside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous boutique hotel and abode, partly built by Chilean national sculptor/artist "Francisco Gazitua," located on 7 green, wildlife filled, walled guard gated acres of Andes Mountains Hillside, on one of the most prestigious and exclusive neighborhoods of Santiago. Fantastic views of the Andes, Mapocho River, Cerro Pochoco Observatory and the entire Valley of Santiago. Up nearly 1500 feet of elevation near San Enrique Square in Lo Barnechea and Las Condes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santiago Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing